2013年11月Trend Briefing:
GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION
为什么无愧疚感对于消费者而言是一种新的奢侈,对于企业而言则是制胜的法宝。
GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION

本月Trend Briefing强调的是消费主义的未来,或者说是大多数商业的未来(人性化的未来将在下个月的简报中介绍;)。

基于我们最近发布的趋势简报如 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS(拥有清白历史的品牌)DEMANDING BRANDS(苛刻的品牌)以及众多HUMAN BRANDS(人性化品牌)的例子和BETTER BUSINESS(更好的企业)的大趋势,GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION (GFC)(无愧疚感消费)是对目前寻求更有意识的、更道德的、更可持续的消费主义强有力的回应。

定义:

在普遍意识到消费主义冲动与道德层面的良好愿望两者之间相互矛盾的情况下,有经验的消费者越来越心怀愧疚。其结果是消费者越来越期望一种新型消费方式:在继续放纵消费的同时不用担心或者至少是较少担心消费所带来的负面效应。

备注:这篇Trend Briefing的灵感来自Jumeirah酒店总裁Gerald Lawless最近的评论,他说“无愧疚感”将会是奢侈品的未来。


1. 分裂的自我

Divided-self

正面的自我评价是人类最基本的需求之一。能够依从于最根深蒂固的价值观和愿望而生活使人们自我感觉良好。

然而成熟的消费者越来越多的意识到他们所经历的欲望和冲动、基于这些欲望和冲动所作出的行为以及在消费领域寻求得到满足常常与这些价值观和期望背道而驰。

透明大胜利

消费者每天都获得越来越多的信息,比如有缺陷的企业流程和道德规范、发展中国家劳工的呼声、各种热销的加工零食或饮料会给健康带来负面影响的科学知识等。

因此在完全成熟或是接近成熟的消费社会,任何个体都无法以不知情为借口而忽略由个人消费所带来的破坏。

清白对比

在此基础上,一系列采取道德和负责任行为的CLEAN SLATE BRANDS使许多现有产品和品牌漏洞百出的本质突显出来。以安全套为例,在Sustain Condoms强调了乳胶生产过程中环境和社会层面的弊端之前,有多少消费者从道德的角度审视过安全套这个产品呢?

当某些品牌特别强调自己在孟加拉国雇佣9岁的童工、强制喂养家禽、产品生产依靠煤焦油发动机,消费者对于那些不表明立场的品牌自然产生质疑。

无法停止,不会停止

好吃的巨无霸汉堡包、easyJet/AirAsia/JetBlue等廉价航空带来的浪漫的短期旅游优惠、便宜又有型的H&M服装、闪光的平板手机,所有的一切创造了一种由社会地位、放纵、条件作用、上瘾以及真正的快乐混合而成的人性需求,这使得消费者明知这样的消费需求和方式是破坏性的却也很难从本质上改变。

 


2. 下一步:愧疚感的漩涡

一面是自己坚守的价值观,另一面是普遍意识到自己的行动与自身价值观相悖,这一矛盾所带来的强有力的、挥之不去的愧疚感困扰着许多的消费者。

一些数据:

在“我为自己对环境所带来的影响感到愧疚”这一陈述面前,28%的全球消费者*选择了4分或5分(5分为程度最高,表示“强烈认同”)。

(National Geographic Greendex,2012年7月)

*有些讽刺的是,一些新兴经济体中消费者的愧疚感程度更深:45%的印度消费者、42%的中国消费者以及40%的巴西消费者在自我评分时选择了4或5,而与之相比仅有23%的英国消费者、21%的美国消费者和19%的澳洲消费者选择了4或5 。

2013年, 27% 的美国消费者表示相较于2012年,自己“更加关心”食物浪费问题,仅有5%的消费者表示“更少关心”。

(BAV & Sustainable America,2013年3月)

当被问及自身的饮食和运动状况,并被要求在“A”到“F”的区间内进行选择为自己打分,美国消费者为自己的运动水平所给出的平均分数为of ‘C+’而个人饮食的平均得分为‘B-’。仅有12% 的被访者给自己打出了“A”或是“A-”的分数。

(国际食品信息基金理事会,2013年5月)

一方面想要追求放纵消费所带来的满足感和愉悦,令一方面又想要摆脱越来越强烈的愧疚感,消费者被自相矛盾的需求所困扰。这使得消费者目前渴望一种新型的消费方式,使他们在继续放纵消费的同时不必或至少是较少担心消费所带来的负面影响。



要成为一个GFC品牌,企业首先需要了解困扰着“有觉知的”消费者的各种愧疚感。以下是三类*消费者愧疚感:

  • 自身:为对自身造成的影响感到愧疚。
  • 社会:为对他人或是其他生物所带来的直接或间接的影响感到愧疚。
  • 地球:为个人对地球环境所带来的影响感到愧疚。

现在,GUILT-FREE并意味着零影响、完美道德、健康最优型消费或者甚至是根本不消费**。

大多数消费者并不认为对于地球、社会或自身而言,即使最细微的负面影响也是不可接受的。他们只是希望这些影响在实际情况下能够尽可能小。

事实上,至少在目前而言,最有力的GFC创新将瞄准消费者价值观与消费冲动间最大的矛盾,帮助消费者免除最令人困扰的愧疚感。


*文中所列当然不是仅有的几类消费者愧疚感。崛起的新兴市场城市消费者常常被“文化”愧疚感所困扰。他们在希望进入全球消费领域的同时担心自己正在“舍弃”个人身份和文化遗产(我们之前发布的趋势CELEBRATION NATION(国家颂歌)则可以减轻这种愧疚感 ;)

**只有真正的减少消费才能完全消除消费者的愧疚感,但估计99%的消费者都没有准备好这样做,大多数的品牌也没有考虑这一可能性。

 


GFC和自身:

品牌应该认识到当涉及到身体和心理健康,造成最多愧疚感的消费选择包括糖、脂肪、酒精、不运动等等,在此基础上则可以采取行动解除这些愧疚感。

2013年9月,快餐业巨头麦当劳汉堡王在商业对抗中都采取了GFC的举措。汉堡王推出了Satisfries,这种薯条与麦当劳的同类产品相比少40%的脂肪和30%的卡路里。而麦当劳宣布与Alliance for a Healthier Generation合作,为创造健康的一代作出努力,比如在配餐中提供沙拉、水果或蔬菜以代替薯条。

或者是学习更幽默的例子:2013年4月在洛杉矶开业的冰淇淋店Peddler’s Creamery要求顾客通过踩踏店内的自行车而使搅拌机工作。这使顾客可以尽情吃甜食而毫无愧疚感!





GFC 和社会:

品牌应该认识到当涉及到他人时,给消费者造成最多愧疚感的消费选择包括工人的工作环境、工资微薄、雇主剥削等。来消除这些愧疚感吧!

来自荷兰的智能手机Fairphone目前已经投入生产,该产品于2013年6月轻松突破了5,000部的预售目标。该手机的制造过程不使用冲突地区的矿产并关注工人福利。

2013年7月在新加坡成立的网络零售商Shop For Social专门销售来自当地的社会企业和非营利组织的产品,包括由残疾人或是弱势群体制作的手工艺产品等。





GFC 和地球:

当涉及到地球环境,矿物燃料、二氧化碳排放量、过渡包装、非生物降解材料、雨林破坏等,消费者总有强烈的愧疚感。

一些供借鉴的例子:

关于消除因驾驶而广泛存在的愧疚感,Tesla Model S车型已经是一个标志性的例子。Quartz最近报道称Tesla在今年六月在加州的销量超过了别克,凯迪拉克,克莱斯勒,菲亚特,捷豹,林肯,路虎,三菱,保时捷和沃尔沃。

众所周知,寿司消费常在环保方面受到质疑。美国康涅狄格州的Miya’s Sushi的菜单中不包括濒临灭绝的鱼类比如黄尾金枪鱼,除此之外该餐馆还供应由破坏当地生物环境的外来入侵物种所制作而成的寿司。消费者在享受美味的同时还能帮忙解决环境问题。这样的无愧疚感不是很棒吗?!

应用程序Wish Lit成为了新加坡节能主题黑客马拉松的赢家。用户可以输入想要物品的价格从而计算自己需要节省多少能源才可以购买这个产品。

还有许多其他大品牌的例子。我们最近收集到的包括:Patagonia的“负责任的经济”研究、Chipotle的“稻草人”动画、耐克的应用程序Making戴尔零浪费活动联合利华购买藻类衍生油……

因此品牌需要做的不仅仅是关注环境,更要迎接再生资源、循环经济、协作消费等概念,变成完全的环境中立者甚至是对环境有益的(使用既有的资源允许体验的“放纵”,Airbnb就是一个关于协作消费的很好的例子)。




完全的GFC

品牌如果能同时在以上三个类别中帮助消费者消除愧疚感当然再好不过。

如果品牌可以认识并帮助消费者消除在自我、社会和地球环境三个领域中的行为所产生的愧疚感。那么消费者几乎就可以达到完全的GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION。

而终极的目标在哪里呢?超越无愧疚感的消费,使消费在每个领域中都能产生积极正面的影响从而达到消费的涅槃。这可能被实现吗?正如没人知道宇宙有多大,我们还无法解答!至少现在还不行;)

消除消费者愧疚感的市场机会是巨大的。当然,现在几乎每个品牌都声称自己是绿色的、有责任感的、人性化的、可持续的、诚实的、透明的。比起崇高的社会或是环境目标,朝着为消费者提供GFC的方向努力或许能给品牌和内部团队更清晰的方向,因为GFC所关注的是影响商业成功的终端消费者实际而深入的需求。

基于这个概念,我们期待看到您的创新,期望看到这些创新被骄傲的打上“GFC”的标签。


想要应用GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION这一趋势吗?为什么不试试用我们的免费工具消费趋势图表组织一场头脑风暴呢?放弃这样的机会您或许会感到愧疚呢;)

我们的下一份Trend Briefing,年终重磅内容2014年7大消费趋势”将于2013年12月送达至您的邮箱,因此请确保您已经 订阅。在此之前,祝您好运!trendwatching.com logo

November 2013 Trend Briefing:
GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION
Why guilt-free is the new luxury for consumers, and the Holy Grail for businesses.
GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION

This month’s Trend Briefing highlights nothing less than the future of consumerism, if not that of business at large (yes, the future of humanity will follow next month ;).

Building on our recent Trend Briefings on CLEAN SLATE BRANDS and DEMANDING BRANDS, and bringing together various strands of the HUMAN BRANDS and BETTER BUSINESS mega-trends, GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION (GFC) is a compelling answer to the current, epic quest for more aware, more ethical, more sustainable consumerism.

Definition:

Fueled by a pervasive awareness of the conflicts between their consumerist impulses and their aspirations to be 'good', experienced consumers are increasingly wracked with guilt. The result? A growing hunger for a new kind of consumption: one free from worry (or at least with less worry) about its negative impact, yet that allows continued indulgence.

Note: This Trend Briefing was inspired by a recent comment from Gerald Lawless, CEO of Jumeirah Hotels, on how the future of luxury would be ‘guilt-free’.


1. DIVIDED SELF

Divided-self

One of the Big Human Needs is to consider oneself ‘good’. And human beings feel good about themselves when they live according to their most deeply-held values and aspirations.

Yet mature consumers are ever more aware that the desires and impulses they experience – and worse, that they constantly act upon and satisfy inside the consumer arena – often run counter to these values and aspirations.

Transparency Triumph

Every day, consumers are served more information on dysfunctional business processes and ethics, hear the strained voices of workers from developing countries, or receive scientific insights on the health drawbacks of many a favorite (and processed) snack or beverage.

It has thus become completely impossible for any individual in near- and fully mature consumer societies to claim ignorance over the havoc his or her consumption is and has been wreaking.

Clean Contrast

While on top of this, the flaunting of ethical and responsible behavior by a whole host of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS only highlights the deeply flawed nature of many established products and brands. Take condoms, for example. How many consumers considered the ethical dimensions of condoms before Sustain Condoms highlighted the environmental and social abuses often found in the production of latex?

With every brand that shouts about not employing 9 year old child workers in Bangladesh, about not force-feeding poultry, whose products do not depend on tarry oil-fueled engines, consumer doubt towards those that keep quiet grows.

Can't Stop, Won't Stop

However, a very human mix of status, indulgence, conditioning, addiction and genuine pleasure (derived from everything from tasty Whoppers, to romantic easyJet/AirAsia/JetBlue city breaks, to dirt-cheap-yet-coolish H&M outfits, to shiny phablets), stops consumers from substantially changing their knowingly damaging consumption needs and patterns.

 


2. NEXT: THE GUILT-SPIRAL

It’s this tension – between the values that consumers hold, and the pervasive awareness that the actions they take run counter to those values – that manifests itself as the potent, nagging guilt trip that haunts many consumers today.

Some Stats:

When presented with the statement ‘I feel guilty about the impact I have on the environment’, 28% of global consumers* scored themselves 4 or 5 (out of 5, with 5 being ‘strongly agree’).

(National Geographic Greendex, July 2012)

* Somewhat ironically, some emerging economies had a higher guilt level: 45% of Indians, 42% Chinese and 40% of Brazilians rated themselves 4 or 5. Contrast this with only 23% of British, 21% of Americans and 19% of Australians.

In 2013, 27% of US consumers were ‘more concerned’ about food waste than in 2012, with only 5% ‘less concerned’.

(BAV & Sustainable America, March 2013)

When asked about their own diet and levels of physical activity, and to assign themselves a grade from ‘A’ to ‘F’, US consumers gave themselves an average grade of ‘C+’ for their level of physical activity, and their personal diets an average grade of ‘B-’. Only 12% gave themselves an ‘A’ or ‘A-’.

(International Food Information Council Foundation, May 2013)

The good news: beset by these contradictory needs – to seek pleasure in the satisfaction of impulses, and to shake off a rising feeling of guilt – consumers are now hungry for a new kind of consumption, one that will allow them to continue to enjoy consumption, yet not worry (or at least worry less) about its negative impact.

Indeed, a recent global study identified 2.5 billion of these 'aspirational consumers' (representing one third of the global consumer class). These consumers are defined by their love of shopping ( 78% ), desire for responsible consumption ( 92% ) and their trust in brands to act in the best interest of society ( 58% ).

(BBMG, GlobeScan and SustainAbility, October 2013)




To become a GFC brand, brands need to first understand the various kinds of guilt currently tormenting ‘aware’ consumers. Three* types of consumer guilt:

  • SELF: Guilt about what one brings on oneself.
  • SOCIETY: Guilt about what one causes, directly and indirectly, to other people (and other living creatures).
  • PLANET: Guilt about one’s impact on the environment at large.

Now, GUILT-FREE doesn’t have to mean either zero-impact, ethically perfect, health-optimum consumption, or even no consumption at all**.

Most consumers do not hold values that mean that even the slightest negative impact on the planet, on society or on themselves is unacceptable to them. They just want to know that this impact is as little as practically possible.

Indeed, for now at least, the most potent GFC innovations will target those areas where there is greatest tension between consumer values and impulses, and help absolve the most tormenting guilt.


* When it comes to guilt, these aren’t the only dimensions of course. Just as an example, witness how some newly-minted urban consumers often experience ‘cultural’ guilt: split between their desire to dive into the global consumer arena and the thought that they are ‘abandoning’ their identity and heritage (to assuage that guilt, turn to our CELEBRATION NATION trend ;)

** Only truly reducing one’s consumption, i.e. consuming less, offers the ultimate redemption. But that’s something 99% of consumers seem not ready for yet. And neither are most brands.

 


GFC & SELF:

As a brand, identify the consumption choices that cause most guilt when it comes to physical and mental wellbeing: sugar, fat, alcohol, inactivity, and more. Then take steps to absolve that guilt.

September 2013 saw fast food giants McDonald's and Burger King sparring with GFC initiatives. Burger King launched Satisfries - French fries with 40% less fat and 30% fewer calories than the McDonald's equivalent. While McDonald’s announced a global partnership with the Alliance for a Healthier Generation to make specific commitments, including always offering a choice of a side-salad, fruit or vegetables as a substitute for fries in a value meal.

Or learn from a more light-hearted example: the Peddler’s Creamery ice-cream shop in Los Angeles opened its doors in April 2013, and powers its churner by asking customers to peddle an in-store bicycle. GUILT-FREE indulgence indeed!





GFC & SOCIETY:

As a brand, identify the consumption choices that cause most guilt when it comes to other people: poor working conditions, sub-poverty wages, exploitation, and more. Go ahead: absolve the guilt!

Check out Fairphone, the smartphone from the Netherlands now in production after easily breaking its pre-order target of 5,000 sales in June 2013. It's manufactured without using conflict minerals and with a focus on worker welfare.

Or how about online retailer Shop For Social, launched in Singapore in July 2013. The site partners with and curates products exclusively from local social enterprises and nonprofits, and includes handicrafts made by disabled or disadvantaged individuals.





GFC & PLANET:

Fossil fuels and CO2 emissions, wasteful packaging, non-biodegradable materials, rainforest destruction: there is no shortage of potent guilt when it comes to the planet.

A few recent examples to learn from:

The already-iconic Tesla Model S aims to absolve the vast guilt that exists around driving. Quartz recently reported Tesla was outselling Buick, Cadillac, Chrysler, Fiat, Jaguar, Land Rover, Lincoln, Mitsubishi, Porsche and Volvo in California this June.

Eating sushi is notoriously environmentally suspect. Miya’s Sushi in Connecticut, US, goes beyond simply not including endangered fish such as yellow tail tuna on its menu: it offers dishes made with non-native, invasive species that are damaging the local habitat, and thus eating (and enjoying) them makes customers part of the solution. How’s that for GUILT-FREE?!

An energy efficiency hackathon in Singapore was recently won by the Wish Lit app. It allows the user to enter the cost of a desired object and then calculates how much energy they need to save in order to purchase it.

And there are endless other big brand examples too. Just recently: Patagonia’s ‘Responsible Economy’ research effort, Chipotle’s ‘The Scarecrow’ animation, Nike’s Making app, Dell’s zero waste initiative, and Unilever’s purchase of algae-derived oil…   

So be more than just eco-conscious, and embrace everything from cradle-to-cradle, the circular economy, collaborative consumption (Airbnb is a great example of experience indulgence 'allowed' because it's using existing assets) and more in your quest to become totally eco-neutral if not eco-positive.



TOTAL GFC

The sweet spot for any GUILT-FREE brand is, of course, to deliver in all three categories simultaneously.

If your brand can identify the guilt attached to what you do across the SELF, SOCIETY and PLANET domains, and then absolve it, you’re nearing TOTAL GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION.

The ultimate? Consumption that goes beyond GUILT-FREE, and becomes actively positive in its impact across every domain. That is, true consumption nirvana. Is it possible? How big is the universe? We don’t know! Yet ;)

The opportunity to absolve consumers is an enormous one. Sure, virtually every brand now claims to be a green brand, a responsible brand, a human brand, a sustainable brand, an honest brand, or a transparent brand. But striving towards offering GFC might encourage more purpose and direction – internally too – than lofty social or environmental goals, especially since GFC is focused on what counts most in business: actual end users’ (deep) needs.

With that in mind, we look forward to your innovations, and are expecting them to come with a proud (recycled) ‘GFC’ sticker to boot.


Want to get going with GUILT-FREE CONSUMPTION? Then why not use our free CONSUMER TREND CANVAS tool to structure a brainstorming session? You may feel guilty if you don't ;)

Our next free Trend Briefing – our big, year-end '7 Big Consumer Trends for 2014' – will hit your inbox on 5 December 2013, so make sure you’re subscribed. Until then, good luck! trendwatching.com logo



Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2015 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU