2013年9月Trend Briefing:
DEMANDING BRANDS
忘掉“顾客永远是对的”,这些具有牺牲精神的“demanding brands(苛刻的品牌)”正重新占据主导地位。
DEMANDING BRANDS

我们认为品牌存在的第一大理由是致力于创造一个更加可持续和更道德的社会,而忽略这一点的品牌终将后悔。如果您不相信这一论断,那么本篇简报或许并不适合您。

对于那些相信这一点的读者,本月的完整版Trend Briefing将向您展示那些野心勃勃的、负责任的品牌如何推动品牌与客户关系的大胆改变。准备好迎接DEMANDING BRANDS(苛刻的品牌):

定义:

这些引领潮流的品牌致力于创造更加可持续和更具有社会责任的未来生活,他们也要求顾客做出自己的贡献。即便这对于顾客而言意味着在经济或其他方面作出一些牺牲。

从牺牲到尊重

当品牌真正要求消费者就有意义的目的付出时间、精力和金钱,消费者会感到吃惊,在切实需要付出的时候消费者当然也会感到肉痛。但最终消费者会深切的尊重真正的DEMANDING BRAND,因为这些品牌督促他们采取痛苦但却是正确的行动。

成为DEMANDING BRAND的确可能是品牌赢得消费者尊重的现存唯一方法。

如何向消费者提出有意义的要求呢?以下提供了几个可行的方向:

  • 保护地球:要求消费者作出对于环境即刻或是长期有帮助的行为。想想如何减少浪费、重复利用、循环利用。下文中的例子介绍了洛杉矶和菲律宾的政府如何要求公众采取环保行为。


  • 社会效益:要求消费者采取有益于他人的行为。从朋友和家人扩大到更广泛的社区。


  • 生活方式:创造要求消费者健康生活或是表现良好的产品或服务。下文中的例子Kitchen Safe可以给你一些灵感。


  • 非营利:代表某个成熟的非盈利组织向消费者提出要求,坚持要求让消费者对其有所贡献。

真正的苛求

真正的DEMANDING BRANDS理解以下几个要素:

不是为每个人

DEMANDING BRANDS几乎注定是将要被一些消费者所疏远的。然而那些一遇到阻力就选择退缩的品牌将被认为是三心二意、差劲且无法实现承诺的。即使是那些最大的、最成功的品牌也无法满足所有人的需求,因此您最好还是开始并坚持做正确的事情,并且在形势所迫之前就开始着手改变。

诚信就是一切

除非消费者相信品牌的愿景和行动都是为了创造一个“更好的世界”,否则他们不会追随品牌的意愿作出让自己肉痛的事情。因此苛刻的品牌最好首先做到100%的透明并以身作则采取真实的、有意义的、痛苦但却积极的行动。如果难以做到的话, 那么品牌最好还是将自己定位成为SERVILE BRAND ;-)。

苛求不是奖励

这意味着没有现金折扣、没有额外价值、没有有奖游戏。DEMANDING BRANDS并不奖励那些采取积极行动的消费者。他们将消费者的付出看作是与品牌建立关系的先决条件。一些品牌可能还不愿意尽最大的努力要求消费者作出贡献,而正如下文中介绍的例子,世界各地的品牌已经开始行动起来,特别是在环境保护的领域。品牌如果希望被认为是具有前瞻性的也许可以参考这些例子。

品牌行为不应该是一次性的

品牌临时性的的苛求行为更多的像是吸引消费者注意的噱头,比如下文中Casa do Zezinho的例子。而针对消费者持续的、有意义的苛求又是另外一回事。



准备好了吗?让我们从下面的例子中寻找灵感。

无包装的百货商店:从伦敦到德克萨斯

真正希望能够减少自身对于环境影响的品牌可以从包装入手要求消费者作出贡献。比如2012年12月在伦敦开设了新店的百货商店Unpackaged和2012年在德州奥斯丁开业的in.gredients。消费者自带容器购买任意数量的食品,减少了食物的浪费和所需的包装。

全球91%的消费者认为企业必须负责任的经营并满足法律规定的最低标准。

- Cone Communications/ Echo,
2013年5月

实施塑料袋禁令:从洛杉矶到马尼拉

继2007年旧金山实施塑料袋禁令以来,世界各地的一些其他城市也采取了类似的措施。2013年6月,洛杉矶成为了美国范围内禁止提供免费塑料袋的最大城市。由于塑料废物使洪水灾害更为严重,同一个月,马卡蒂成为了菲律宾马尼拉第九个对塑料袋、发泡容器和塑料杯实施禁令的市区,其目的是为了减少经常侵扰该城市的洪水所带来的影响。

美国小镇禁止销售小容量瓶装水

2013年1月,美国马萨诸塞州的小镇康科德开始禁止出售容量小于1升的瓶装水。碳酸饮料和其他有味道的饮料不在禁令限制范围之内,其目的是鼓励居民饮用自来水而不是瓶装水。

全球87%的消费者认为企业应该将社会利益与商业利益放在同等重要的地位上,自2008年以来,以企业目标触发的购买增加了26%。

- Edelman,2012年4月

Hachikyo:海鲜餐馆对没有吃完食物的顾客进行罚款

2013年2月,日本的海鲜餐馆Hachikyo规定那些没有吃完三文鱼卵寿司的顾客必须支付相应的“罚款”,而这笔钱将被捐赠给帮助本地渔民的基金会。菜单上注明了这一举措是想让人们认识到获取鱼卵的渔民需要在危险的工作环境下工作才能获得这些食材。

南非器官捐赠基金会:要求消费者注册成为器官捐赠者的流动商店

2013年5月,南非器官捐献基金会组织了名为The Exchange的流动商店以鼓励人们进行器官捐赠登记。这个商店陈列着由设计师捐赠的衣物和饰品,但这些商品并不进行销售,只有在消费者与该基金会签订了器官捐赠协议的情况下才可以从商店中带走一件喜欢的单品。

Kitchen Safe:带时间锁的保鲜盒帮助克服诱惑

2013年7月,苛求型产品Kitchen Safe在Kickstarter上成功完成了筹资。该产品是一种带时间锁盖的保鲜盒,盒子只能在未来某个选定的时间到来时才可以打开,帮助使用者储存那些引诱人的物品。建议用途包括零食、智能手机、信用卡和香烟等。Kitchen Safe的预购价格为39.95美元。

Vitoria:通过改变球队制服的颜色呼吁球迷献血

为了推广慈善献血活动,巴西的足球俱乐部Vitoria 于2012年7月发布了新的球员制服。与以往红色和黑色的组合所不同,新款的球员制服采用了白色和黑色的条纹(这在为足球疯狂的巴西算的上一件大事)。活动鼓励巴西球迷通过献血使球队的制服恢复到原来的颜色。在赛季的10场比赛中,当献血量增加,球队的制服颜色逐渐恢复到了红色。在该活动成功之后,Bahia血液基金会于2013年5月创立了“Hemoba Solidarity Cup”,邀请两个竞争球队(Bahia和Vitoria)的球迷献血并通过Facebook应用进行“竞争”,看哪个球队的球迷献血更多。

Casa do Zezinho:买一得半

2011年,巴西的非营利组织Casa do Zezinho推出了名为“Half for Happiness”的活动以唤起公众对于贫困儿童营养不良的重视。在圣保罗的百货店里,几种出售的食物如牛排和莴苣都被切成一半销售,在食物缺失一半的空白处用文字解释了另一半食物的销售所得将被用于捐赠给Casa do Zezinho以帮助减轻儿童营养不良的影响。



最终,我们的社会正在走向一个更可持续的、更宽容的、更进步的未来。不相信吗?回顾一下过去20年或30年里社会和环境所发生的彻底的改变,看看政府目前正在做的事,以及政府如何越来越多地迫使企业和消费者采取正确的行为。

然而, 试着列举5个能真正做到DEMANDING的品牌,或者是1个?1个都没有吗?在这种情况下,您将有机会成为首个应用这一持久且具有深刻影响力的消费趋势的品牌。

别为了赢得消费者尊重或是公关而这样做,人们能轻易看穿您的意图而您将会什么也得不到。

当您和您的顾客都了解采取对环境和他人有益的行为是正确的做法时再这样做。同时请记住品牌的恶有恶报比以往任何时候都来的更快。trendwatching.com logo

September 2013 Trend Briefing:
DEMANDING BRANDS
Screw 'the customer is always right': these 'demanding brands' are taking the (painful) lead again.
DEMANDING BRANDS

If you don’t believe that the number one raison d’être for brands is to (profitably) help create a more sustainable, more ethical society – and that brands that ignore this imperative will regret it one day – then don’t read on.

For the rest of us: this month we bring you a full Trend Briefing on how ambitious, responsible brands are instigating daring changes in the relationships they have with their customers. Make way for DEMANDING BRANDS.

Definition:

Switched-on brands that are embarking on the journey towards a more sustainable and socially-responsible future will demand that consumers also contribute. Even if that means some pain – financial or otherwise – for their customers.

From Pain to Respect

Yes, consumers will be surprised to find a brand making real, meaningful demands on their time, energy or wallet. Yes, they’ll feel the pain when it comes time to make their contribution. But ultimately, consumers will have deep respect for a truly DEMANDING BRAND: one that pushes them towards taking action that – while painful – they know to be right.

Indeed, being a DEMANDING BRAND might well be the only way there is left to earn the respect of consumers.

What makes for a meaningful DEMAND? Here are a few places to start:

  • The planet: DEMAND action that is good for the environment: right now, or in the long-term. Think reduce, re-use, recycle. Start by looking at the examples below of governments from LA to Manila DEMANDING environmental actions.


  • Society: DEMAND action that is good for other people. From friends and family to the broader community.

  • Lifestyles: Create products or services that DEMAND customers live healthy, or behave well. Check out the Kitchen Safe example below for inspiration.


  • Nonprofits: Make DEMANDS on behalf of an established nonprofit, and insist that customers do something to support them.



Truly DEMANDING

Truly DEMANDING BRANDS understand a few essentials:

NOT FOR EVERYONE

DEMANDING BRANDS, almost by definition, will alienate some people. But brands that back down at the first sign of resistance will simply come across as half-hearted, weak and uncommitted. And, given that even the biggest, most successful brands can’t satisfy everyone, best to just get on and do the right thing, before being made to.

SINCERITY IS EVERYTHING

Consumers aren’t going to take painful action at the behest of brands unless they believe in that brand’s vision of - and activities for - a ‘better world’. So any brand being DEMANDING had better be 100% transparent and be taking real, meaningful, painful positive action itself first. If that's too much, then stick to being a SERVILE BRAND ;-).

DEMANDS ARE NOT REWARDS

That means no money off, no added extras, no fun games with prizes. DEMANDING BRANDS don’t reward consumers for taking positive action. They DEMAND it as a condition of engagement. And while some brands might be unwilling to go all out and DEMAND action from consumers, many governments around the world are already moving ahead, especially in the environmental arena, as shown by the examples below. Something for brands that want to be seen as forward-thinking to consider.

ACTIVITIES SHOULDN’T BE ONE-OFFS

It’s one thing being temporarily demanding as a stunt to grab consumers’ attention, like the Casa do Zezinho example below, but quite another to make meaningful demands on an ongoing basis.



Ready? Then dive into the examples below for inspiration.

Packaging-free grocery stores: from London to Texas

Packaging is one obvious area where brands that are serious about reducing their environmental impact can DEMAND their customers contribute. Check out grocery stores Unpackaged, which in December 2012 opened a new store in London, or in.gredients which opened in 2012 in Austin, Texas. Shoppers bring their own containers and can buy as much or as little food as they need, reducing wastage as well as the amount of packaging required.

“91% of global consumers believe that companies must go beyond the minimum standards required by law to operate responsibly.”

- Cone Communications/ Echo, May 2013

If you like our Trend Briefings, you’ll love our 2014 Premium Service

Your complete trend and innovation solution.

Plastic Bag Bans: from LA to Manila

Following San Francisco’s 2007 ban on plastic bags, a number of other cities around the world have also taken similar measures. In June 2013, Los Angeles became the largest city in the US to ban free plastic bags in grocery stores. In the same month, Makati City became the 9th district of metro Manila in the Philippines to ban plastic bags, Styrofoam containers and plastic cups in an attempt to reduce the plastic waste that increases the severity of the floods that frequently affect the city.

US town bans sale of small water bottles

January 2013 saw the US town of Concord, Massachusetts ban the sale of bottled water in bottles less than one liter. Carbonated and flavored drinks are excluded from the ban, which is designed to encourage residents to drink tap water instead of bottled water.

“87% of global consumers believe business should place at least equal emphasis on social interests as business interests, and ‘purpose’ has increased as a purchase trigger by 26% since 2008.”

- Edelman, April 2012

Hachikyo: Seafood restaurant fines diners for not finishing their meal

February 2013 saw the Hachikyo seafood restaurant in Japan introduce a scheme where diners not finishing their tsukko meshi (rice and salmon roe) dish, must pay a ‘fine’ and donate to a fund for local fishermen. The menu explains that the donation is designed to highlight the dangerous working conditions for the fishermen who harvest the roe.

Organ Donor Foundation of South Africa: Pop-up shop requires customers to register as organ donors

During May 2013, the Organ Donor Foundation of South Africa hosted The Exchange, a pop-up shop to encourage donor registration. The shop was stocked with designer-donated clothing and accessories, but items could not be purchased with cash or credit cards. Instead, only once consumers had signed up to the Foundation’s organ donor program, were they allowed to choose one item from the shop.

Kitchen Safe: Time-locked Tupperware container helps overcome temptation

July 2013 saw DEMANDING PRODUCT the Kitchen Safe reach its funding goal on Kickstarter. The product is a Tupperware box with a time-lock lid, helping customers store oh-so-tempting yet guilty treats or items securely until a future time of their choosing. Suggested uses include anything from snacks to smartphones, credit cards to cigarettes. The Kitchen Safe is available for pre-order for USD 39.95.

Vitoria: Soccer team changed uniform color until fans donated blood

To promote its charitable blood donation campaign, Brazilian soccer club Vitoria unveiled new player uniforms in July 2012. Although the team usually played in red and black, the team’s uniform was changed to white and black (a big deal in soccer-mad Brazil), and fans were told that to restore the shirts back to their regular colors, they would have to donate blood. Over 10 matches, the red stripes returned as blood donations increased. Following the success of the initial campaign, the Fundação de Hematologia da Bahia (Hematology Foundation from Bahia) created the "Hemoba Solidarity Cup" in May 2013, inviting football fans from two rival soccer teams - Bahia and Vitoria - to donate blood, with the fans ‘competing’ via a Facebook app as to which fans could donate the most blood.

Casa do Zezinho: Buy one, get half

In 2011, Brazilian nonprofit Casa do Zezinho launched its Half for Happiness campaign, which aimed to boost awareness about malnutrition. Several products, including a steak and a head of lettuce, were sold in São Paulo grocery stores, having been chopped in half. In the space where the missing portion was an explanation that the additional proceeds from the items’ sale would be donated to Casa do Zezinho to help alleviate malnutrition.



Ultimately, society is heading towards a more sustainable, tolerant, progressive future. Don’t believe us? Just look back 20 or 30 years and see the sweeping social and environmental changes that have taken place during that time. Now look at what governments are currently doing, and increasingly forcing corporations and consumers to do too.

But then here’s a challenge: name five big brands that are truly DEMANDING. How about just one? Nothing? In which case, when was the last time you had the opportunity to be first to a deep, lasting consumer trend?

Don’t do it for the consumer respect, or the great PR: people will see straight through you, and you’ll get neither.

Do it because you – and your customers – know that taking positive action for the planet and other people is the right thing to do. And in the knowledge that today, brand Karma comes around faster than ever.


Do make sure you’re subscribed to our free monthly Trend Briefings, and good luck! trendwatching.com logo



Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU