2012年10月Trend Briefing:
SERVILE BRANDS
为什么对于品牌而言,服务、协助以及使体验更加顺畅成为了新的卖点。
SERVILE BRANDS

定义:

现在的消费者更为苛刻,他们不愿浪费任何时间、有着很强的获取信息的能力和极大的选择权(相信您已经知道这一点)。为了使品牌茁壮成长,解决办法是简单的:变得更为SERVILE(谦卑),而这不仅仅只是提供更好的客户服务*,SERVILE意味着将您的品牌转变成专注于满足客户需求、欲望和冲动并为他们创造理想生活方式的仆人,无论这些客户何时需要或是身在何处。

* 日常的优质“客户服务”当然仍然是至关重要的:美国运通在2011年的调查中发现,70%的美国消费者愿意为提供更好服务的品牌花更多的钱,而高达60%的消费者认为品牌并没有就客户的服务体验考虑周全。

驱动因素:

三个针对消费者的关键性变化将促使您的品牌或企业需要做到真正的SERVILE:

1. 需求

我们一再强调CITYSUMERS(城市消费者)的数量正在飞速增长。CITYSUMERS渴望现代超级都市所提供的无尽的、令人兴奋的新体验。这就是为什么他们会寻找、甚至是索取SERVILE BRANDS——那些可以帮助他们获得自由度和灵活性、充分享受城市生活的品牌。

这些消费者完全和网络连接,他们也希望 网络世界的优势比如实时获取信息和即时满足)能够融合到现实世界中来。这就是为什么SERVILE BRANDS需要弯下腰来,聆听消费者所需要的并切实执行 ;-)

 

2. 浓缩的时间

现代消费经济体中越来越富足的物质生活和无尽的物质丰富程度使消费者感到时间匮乏(即使对于面临经济困难的消费者也是如此)。

研究公司Datamonitor一项针对来自14个不同国家的消费者所进行的调查发现,44%的消费者认为自己难以在管理日常事务的同时获得放松时间。

难怪消费者希望有工具和服务来帮助他们最大限度的利用当下的时间,不论这段时间是多么的短暂。NOWISM的世界意味着品牌不得不满足消费者对于即时满足和超级便捷的需求,而SERVILE BRANDS开门见山,以任何可能的方式帮助消费者节省时间。

 

3. 平等

新的事实是:消费者将永远不会再像以前一样崇拜品牌:

  • 在来自世界各地的被访消费者中,只有47%的人表示他们信任付费媒体(比如电视、杂志和报纸广告),这一数据与2009年相比下降了20%以上。
  • 全球92%的被访消费者表示相比于所有其他形式的广告,他们相信免费媒体(口碑传播和来自朋友和家人的建议),这一数据自2007年以来增加了18%以上。
  • 网上的消费者评论获得了全球70%被访消费者的信任,在最值得信赖的广告形式中排名第二,该数据在四年内增加了15%。

(资料来源:尼尔森,2012年4月)

  • 在巴西、中国和印度只有29%的消费者认为忠诚于偏好的品牌能够获得回报

(资料来源:COLLOQUY和Epsilon跨文化忠诚度研究,2011年)

随着消费者越来越多地转向(和信任)其他消费者,品牌不再能够或粉饰或控制自己的形象。这也是另一个做到SERVILE,把客户的需求放在首位的原因。

 

例子

我们已经谈论了足够多的理论,以下是一些世界各地关于SERVILE的例子,其中包括一些9月的Trend Briefing 微趋势中所涉及的例子。毕竟SERVILE BRANDS是一个典型的“伞型趋势”,它与我们在过去12个月内已经讨论过的许多大大小小的趋势有着相同的脉络。



SERVILE就是:
让消费者先试用

Hyundai(现代)家庭购物

Hyundai(现代)家庭购物在2012年5月推出了新的移动应用程序H-Codi,这是一个利用增强现实技术(Augmented Reality)实现虚拟时尚产品搭配效果的程序。通过此项应用程序,客户几乎可以试穿或试用现代家庭购物的大部分产品。例如,程序可通过智能手机上的摄像头获取顾客的脸部或全身图像,显示与耳环、领带、手袋等时尚产品搭配的效果图片。这项服务也可以被使用于室内装饰品,共计约有70,000个产品可被用于这项程序。效果图片可以被保存或是通过Cacao Talk(韩国WhatsApp)或Facebook与朋友分享。

Orca Chevrolet的救援试驾

为了促进Chevrolet(雪佛兰)Cobalt车型的销售,巴西的汽车经销商Orca Chevrolet在2012年初实施了一项名为 Rescue Drive 的推广活动。活动针对那些遇到汽车抛锚的消费者,在这些消费者正对自己的汽车感到沮丧的时候,一辆新的雪佛兰Cobalt与拖车一起出现在他们面前,并提供试驾服务。

Marks & Spencer的虚拟指甲油

英国零售商Marks&Spencer的虚拟指甲油 是一个免费的在线店内服务,使用者可以通过这项服务在自己的手指上测试指甲油效果。用户上传自己的手部图片,然后点击一款指甲油的颜色就可以在购买前看到使用的效果。



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者监控所有的事务

中国大众的Think Blue

早在2012年6月,大众汽车 推出了该品牌在中国的第一个促进驾驶者环保意识的移动应用程序“Blue Mobility”。这个车载移动应用程序可以实时跟踪和分析用户的驾驶行为,然后就如何减少汽油使用量提供一些提示和建议。

百保力的Play & Connect

著名运动品牌Babolat(百保力)将在2013年推出的Play & Connect是一款能够通过集成传感器在比赛中向使用者提供实时信息的网球拍。该设备可以检测发球速度、每一击的力量和球的旋转并针对使用者的表现给予评价。位于手柄的传感器同时可以监控击球类型和球在拍上的位置从而做出技术和比赛统计分析。数据以无线方式传送到电脑或智能手机,使用户可以查看数据和设定训练目标。

中国求生手册

中国求生手则是一个免费的iPhone应用程序,这个程序追踪在中国发生的食品安全丑闻,用户因此不需要花费时间持续关注所有相关的报道和新闻。这个程序在发布的一周内被下载了20万次。

“在巴西、中国和印度平均只有29%的消费者认为忠诚于偏好的品牌能够获得回报。”



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者实时的找到任何东西

Westfield:购物中心搜索程序

作为世界上最大的购物中心运营商,Westfield在他的商场内移动应用程序中添加了谷歌商务搜索功能以帮助消费者节省购物时间。购物者可以在当地的 Westfield 商场内使用该功能,搜索和比较各个不同零售商的价格或是通用快捷键联络零售商了解库存情况。

SK Telecom的智能购物车

去年10月,SK Telecom在首尔的一个商店中率先测试了Smart Cart,该设备为消费者提供准确的店内信息。消费者可以在智能手机上搜索产品以及优惠券并创建购物清单,这些信息可以在用户到店时授权同步到具有增强现实技术的购物车设备上。Smart Cart 利用NFC技术实时更新产品供应情况、显示会员积分并可以完成结帐程序。SK Telecom计划于2013年底在韩国和中国正式启用Smart Cart。



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者实时的了解所有事物

史基浦机场的中文翻译应用程序

2012年1月,阿姆斯特丹的史基浦机场发布了简体中文版的史基浦机场应用程序,向用户提供机票、公共交通和产品优惠等信息,程序同时附带候机楼的地图。使用者还可以通过智能手机的摄像头和程序的识别系统翻译所有的机场指示。

哈罗德百货的中文翻译应用程序

伦敦的 哈罗德百货也推出了免费的中文版智能手机应用程序,提供交互式购物指南、餐馆菜单和商场活动的详细信息。



SERVILE就是:
在消费者尚且没有意识到的时候出现在他们真正需要你的地方

宜家

在加拿大的魁北克,物业租赁通常在7月1日到期。这使得很多居民都选择在这一天搬家,因此纸箱类的储物产品变得十分紧俏。宜家在去年的这个时期在蒙特利尔张贴了2000张纸板广告,这些纸板可以被折叠成为纸箱。纸板上印有鼓励居民将它们带回家的口号以及购买新家具的优惠券。



SERVILE就是:
在政府没有做到的地方提供帮助

OUTsurance 的交通协管员

OUTsurance是一家南非的保险公司,该公司在约翰内斯堡、开普敦和茨瓦内的街道上派驻交通协管员,以纾缓那些危险或拥挤路口的交通流量。

Dial Direct的道路坑洞养护计划

在南非,保险机构Dial Direct推出了名为 Pothole Brigade的道路养护计划,该活动在约翰内斯堡及其周围修复了超过50,000个被司机发现并报告的坑洞。可悲的是,政府的官僚习气终止了这一活动,但其它的城市可以由此开展相似的活动并从中受益。

Safaricom的1525医生

在2011年的最后一个季度,肯尼亚的电信供应商Safaricom与移动健康项目Call-a-Doc合作推出了Daktari - 1525,用户可以通过拨打价格为每分钟2美分的付费电话“1525”得到有资质的医务人员所给出的建议。该服务并不提供诊断或处方,只给出适当水平的建议和忠告,并在必要时将用户介绍到当地的医疗中心,而所有来电者的信息都是保密的。



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者节约金钱

22seven

于2012年1月在南非推出的 22seven是一个金融服务平台,该系统可以检测用户的银行对账单,以发现在哪些方面用户可节省支出。消费者可以通过这个系统看到自己的消费结构以及可能会超支的部分,而系统会针对用户的情况提供建议和计划以帮助他们减少支出。使用这项服务的会员被要求提供全部的银行账户及密码信息。

Billshrink / Orange


BillShrink是一个美国的电话账单分析服务,网站监控有超过1000万个不同的话费套餐, 用户只要向网站授权就可以获得其中最适合的个性化推荐。
英国移动运营商 Orange  向每月付费的用户提供每六个月一次的监测服务,查看用户是否在使用最划算的话费套餐(基于用户的呼叫、短信和数据流量使用记录)。

三星的升级计划

三星升级计划鼓励美国客户用旧的智能手机换购三星Galaxy系列的产品。在购买Galaxy S2、S3或Note之后,用户可以上传旧手机的相关信息到三星的Facebook页面并收到相应的报价,消费者确认报价并寄出旧手机即可收到最高额度为300美元的支票。

美国银行的BankAmeriDeals

美国银行的BankAmeriDeals项目基于消费者经常光顾的商店记录提供优惠活动。用户在通过该程序查看个人银行账户时就可以看到消费过的商店所提供的现金返还优惠,而在下一次光顾这些商店的时候用户便可以兑换这些优惠。



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者开始愉快的一天

Boondoggle 的冬日唤醒程序

Winter Wake-Up是一个具有标准闹钟功能的手机应用程序,该程序可以连接到网上天气预报系统,在夜间有突发的雪天或道路结冰的天气情况下,该程序会比平时更早唤醒用户。用户也可以选择在发生极端天气导致无法出行的情况下不被唤醒。

优衣库的唤醒程序

相似的,名为 Uniqlo Wake Up的免费应用程序能够基于当天的天气状况自动创建闹钟铃声,一个音调优美的声音在闹铃声结束后响起,向使用者报告时间、天气状况以及日期。



SERVILE就是:
帮助消费者做到最好

autoTRADER 的 autoLYZER

加拿大汽车分类广告网站autoTRADER创建了autoLYZER 的 Facebook 应用程序。通过调取用户的Facebook信息(包括近期照片、社交活动、评论和兴趣),该程序可以选择出三款可供购买且符合消费者生活方式和个性的车型。

DuniaFitnes

印尼的健身及健康门户网站 DuniaFitnes发布了一款智能手机应用程序,向使用者提供量身定制的健身计划以及与健康有关的信息,包括营养表和健身视频等。这个免费的应用程序还有一个在线商店可供用户购买健身和保健产品。

Emporio Armani的EA7

Emporio Armani针对其运动服装系列EA7创建了一个移动应用程序,该程序向消费者提供有关生活方式和健身的小贴士。这个免费的应用程序同时还提供一系列的互动式体验、游戏和与EA7服装系列相关的内容。

“44%的消费者认为自己难以在管理日常事务的同时获得放松时间。”



SERVILE就是:
为消费者提供合理的建议

Ticketmaster

美国的Ticketmaster于2012年1月推出的Facebook票务应用程序使用户能够浏览音乐活动信息、了解朋友们将要参加的演出活动、阅读相关评论、制作希望参加的音乐会清单以及购买门票。该程序的“推荐活动”功能与Spotify整合,可以根据用户日常发布和分享的音乐提供推荐的演唱会列表。

Hellmann’s 和 St. Marche

2012年5月,Hellmann’s 推出了根据消费者所购买食品定制的食谱。这种定制软件被安装在巴西连锁超市St. Marche的收银机系统中,当消费者购买了Hellmann’s蛋黄酱,收银机在扫描到有这款产品时便会基于蛋黄酱和消费者所购买的其他食品自动生成一个食谱并打印在收据上。



SERVILE就是:
为消费者创造无缝整合体验

福特的KeyFree

为了推广Ford’s KeyFree的技术(该技术使驾驶者使用NFC钥匙开启和关闭车门),福特创建了一个应用程序使用户无需输入密码即可登录到数字账户。用户需要预先在这个免费应用程序输入自己的用户名和密码,而当电脑检测到有蓝牙功能开启的移动设备接近时便会自动登录到预先登记好的账户。

沃达丰和Richard Nicoll

英国沃达丰公司和时装设计师Richard Nicoll合作创造了一个可以在移动情况下给手机供电的手袋。这个手袋有一个粘贴在外部的磁力充电线,在连接到电源插座进行充电后,手袋中储存的额外电量最长可供手机使用两天。

丰田和任天堂

Toyota推出的一个设备使日本的驾照者可以通过任天堂DS和蓝牙功能控制GPS车载智能导航系统。使用者花费92美元即可购买到“Kuruma de DS” 程序卡,将这个程序卡插入任天堂游戏机便可以将预先储存的路线同步到车载导航系统并进行导航。

维珍美国和 Rock the Vote

Virgin America 和非营利性组织Rock the Vote合作推出的一项服务使乘客可以使用机上娱乐系统为2012年的总统大选进行登记投票。

Health Street的DNA测试

纽约的医疗检测公司Health Street在一辆巡游于纽约街头的面包车上推出了移动亲子鉴定服务,面包车身上的标语写着“谁是你的爸爸?”。路人只要支付299美元就可以在车内用棉签提取面部组织并进行基因分析,而结果将在一两天递送到用户手中。

法国依云的Smart Drop

Evian Chez Vous 的网站面向巴黎的居民销售瓶装水并提供送货上门的服务。用户也可以订购法国达能集团的其它产品,比如Badoit或Volvic品牌的矿泉水。2013年,该服务还将配置一台名为Smart Drop的设备,这个设备类似于一个冰箱磁铁,具有wifi功能,使用户可以进行一键式自助订水。

Red Tomato Pizza的冰箱磁贴

迪拜的 Red Tomato Pizza(红番茄披萨)开发了一个类似于冰箱磁贴的设备,使用户可以一键订购喜爱的披萨。该品牌的忠实会员将获得免费发放的设备,该设备使用智能手机的蓝牙功能连接到互联网。客户只需要点击磁铁上的按键,订购的披萨就会被送到预先登记的地址。

Turkcell的Mobile Order

Turkcell公司计划推出一款非接触式的家庭电子商务方案。使用者将带NFC功能的Turkcell MaxiPlus5设备对准配套的冰箱磁铁就可以启动网上购物程序Mobile Order。汉堡王(Burger King)、Migros和能源供应商Avgaz这几个大品牌已经开始与Mobile Order合作,现有的签约客户以每月TRY5(约合2.75美元)的价格便可以免费升级设备。

Ushuaïa Ibiza Beach Hotel和PayTouch

Ushuaïa Ibiza Beach Hotel与巴塞罗那生物识别支付技术的服务提供商 PayTouch 合作开发了供酒店使用的指纹识别支付设备,登记入住的客人因此可以使用指纹进行支付。酒店内所有地方的设施都安装了这种指纹识别设备,客人从而不再需要随身携带钱包或是卡片。

GS25的便利商店

我的冰箱”是一项来自韩国连锁便利店GS25的服务,这项服务为那些热衷于附赠品(如买一送一或是促销包)但却感到携带不便的消费者提供了便利。通过该服务,消费者可以选择将获得的赠品保存到自己的虚拟冰箱而不是即刻带走,而之后他们可以在有效期内于任意一家GS25便利店提取这些赠品或是将这些产品作为礼物赠送给朋友。

Tesco的虚拟杂货店

英国超市Tesco在英国盖特威克机场推出了一种交互式虚拟杂货店。离港度假的旅客可以使用智能手机以及电子显示屏订购食品并在返回家中时收到所订购的产品。




下一步

首先,并不是所有的品牌都必须做到100%的卑躬屈膝:某些奢侈品牌或是如苹果一样的品牌仍然可以作为DOMINANT BRANDS(主导品牌)存在。

但如果您不是Gucci或苹果,又该如何开始使用这一趋势呢?首先,您要明白谦卑的品牌总是把自己放在第二位,这对于大多数品牌和企业而言意味着根本上的心态转变。

请记住品牌受到敬仰的日子已经一去不复返。您要做的不是告诉客户您有多重要,如果他们肯付钱的话便能得到一点好处。相反的,您应该告诉顾客“无论您需要或想要什么,我们都愿意提供帮助”。当然更好的说法是“我们知道您想要什么知道我们知道您想要什么,在这里,我们已经为您准备好了”。

如果能够做到极致,那么真正的SERVILE BRANDS将拥有巨大的 机会能够超越他们现有的产品和服务,为客户提供完整的生活方式解决方案。

对于营销人员而言,SERVILE BRANDS 意味着思考如何创造不是营销的营销。如果消费者没有在寻找、采用、安装、或分享你所做的努力(如任何形式的产品、服务、应用、内容等),那么请现在回到绘图板前重新来过   ;-)

请您运用以上的例子并再次阅读我们之前发布的Trend Briefing(趋势简报) BRAND BUTLERS,全力以赴创造谦卑的新概念、服务和产品。

同时,我们将竭尽所能的为您服务并使您感到愉悦和满意,在十一月初我们将为您送上新的免费版Trend Briefing。请确保您已订阅trendwatching.com logo

Next is that you run with these mini trends

October 2012 Trend Briefing:
SERVILE BRANDS
Why for brands, serving, assisting, and lubricating is the new selling.
SERVILE BRANDS

Definition:

Yes, consumers are more demanding, time-starved, informed, and choice-saturated than ever-before (we know you know). For brands to prosper, the solution is simple though: turn SERVILE. This goes far beyond offering great customer service*. SERVILE means turning your brand into a lifestyle servant focused on catering to the needs, desires and whims of your customers, wherever and whenever they are.

* Everyday great ‘customer service’ will of course forever be crucial: a 2011 American Express survey found that 70% of American consumers were willing to spend more with brands that provided a great service, and a whopping 60% thought brands weren’t thinking enough about the service experience.

Drivers:

Three key changes among consumers are driving the need for your brand or business to go truly SERVILE:

1. ON DEMAND

We've repeatedly flagged up the sky-rocketing number of CITYSUMERS (urban consumers). CITYSUMERS who crave the endless novel and exciting experiences that modern hyper-cities offer. Which is why they will seek out or even demand SERVILE BRANDS – brands that can help empower them or offer them the freedom and flexibility to make the most of urban life.

Completely connected, they also expect the best of the online world – instant information and immediate gratification – to be built-in to their offline experiences. That’s why SERVILE BRANDS bend over and do as they're told ;-)

 

2. TIME COMPRESSION

The endless abundance and increasing material affluence in modern consumer economies (yes, even amongst financially challenged consumers), has led to an increasing feeling of being time-starved.

Indeed, a survey by research company Datamonitor found that 44% of consumers across 14 countries now say that it’s difficult to manage their daily obligations and find time to relax. 

No wonder then that consumers are demanding tools and services to help them get the most from the present moment, however brief. This NOWISM world means brands have no choice but to satisfy consumer demand for instant gratification and ultra-convenience. That’s why SERVILE BRANDS cut to the chase, and save their customers time. In any possible way.

 

3. EQUALS

Here’s the new reality: consumers will never again revere brands the way they used to:

  • Only 47% of consumers around the world say they trust paid media (television, magazine and newspaper ads), a decline of over 20% since 2009.
  • 92% of global consumers say they trust earned media (word-of-mouth and recommendations from friends and family) above all other forms of advertising, an increase of 18% since 2007.
  • Online consumer reviews are the second most trusted form of advertising with 70% of global consumers trusting them, an increase of 15% in four years.

(Source: Nielsen, April 2012)

  • Only 29% of consumers in Brazil, China and India say that it pays to be loyal to favored brands.

(Source: COLLOQUY and Epsilon's Cross-Cultural Loyalty Study, 2011)

With consumers increasingly turning to (and trusting) other consumers, brands can no longer expect to be able to craft or control their image. Another reason to be SERVILE and put the needs of your customers above your own.

 

Examples

Enough of the theory. Here’s a smattering of SERVILE examples from all over the world, including for context’s sake, a few from our September Trend Briefing on MINI TRENDS. After all, SERVILE BRANDS is a classic ‘umbrella trend’; a common thread for many of the small and big trends we’ve been discussing over the past 12 months.



SERVILE is:
Letting customers try out first

Hyundai Home Shopping

In May 2012, Hyundai Home Shopping introduced its new mobile application, ‘H-Codi’. It is a ‘virtual fashion coordination’ program with Augmented Reality Technology. Via this application customers can virtually try on or test most products from Hyundai Home Shopping. For example, the camera on smart phones scans customer’s face or body, and shows pictures with co-ordinated fashion products such as earrings, neckties and handbags. This service is also available for interior accessories and more; about 70,000 products are available. Augmented Reality photos can be saved, and also shared with friends via Cacao Talk (Korean WhatsApp) and Facebook.

Orca Chevrolet's Rescue Drive

To promote the release of Chevrolet's Cobalt model, Brazil-based car dealership Orca Chevrolet launched the Rescue Drive campaign in early 2012. The promotion targeted consumers after a breakdown, when they were likely to be frustrated with their own vehicles. Stranded drivers who called participating tow trucks were surprised by an accompanying Chevrolet Cobalt, which they were given the opportunity to test drive.

Marks & Spencer's Virtual Manicure

Marks & Spencer's Virtual Manicure is a free online and in-store service which enables customers to test the UK retailer’s nail polish range on their own fingers. Shoppers upload an image of their hands and then click on a nail color to see what it would look like before they purchase it.



SERVILE is:
Helping customers monitor anything

Volkswagen China's Think Blue

In early June 2012, Volkswagen launched its first eco-awareness mobile app in China. The 'Blue Mobility' app is the first in-car mobile app which tracks and analyzes users' real-time driving behavior. It then provides tips and advice on how to curtail excessive fuel usage.

Babolat's Play & Connect

Set to launch during 2013, Play & Connect from French brand Babolat is a tennis racquet which features integrated sensors providing real-time information on gameplay. The device can detect service speed, the power of each hit and ball spin, to give players feedback on their performance. Sensors located in the handle also monitor the type of stroke and the position of the ball on the racquet, enabling analysis of both technique and game statistics. Data is sent wirelessly to a computer or smartphone, enabling users to view data and set goals.

China Survival Guide

The China Survival Guide is a free iPhone app that tracks food and health scandals across China, so users don't need to keep up with the news reports themselves. It was downloaded 200,000 times within a week of launching.

See the infographic »

A 1 minute summary of trendwatching.com's Trend Briefing on SERVILE BRANDS



SERVILE is:
Helping customers find anything real-time

Westfield: Shopping mall search

Westfield, the world’s largest shopping centre operator, added Google Commerce's search functionality to its in-mall mobile app to save shoppers’ time in their malls. Shoppers can search and compare prices across retailers in their local Westfield shopping mall, and call the local retailers to check availability with one click.

SK Telecom's Smart Cart

Last October, a SK Telecom pilot tested Smart Cart in Emart stores in Seoul, providing accurate in-store information. Shoppers search for products and discount coupons, and create a shopping list on the smartphone app; this is later user-authenticated and synced to shopping carts equipped with augmented reality tablets. Smart Cart harnesses NFC technology to update real-time information such as product availability, membership points and check-out procedures. SK Telecom plans to officially launch Smart Cart in South Korea and China by the end of 2013.



SERVILE is:
Helping customers understand everything real-time

Schiphol Airport's Chinese translation app

In January 2012, Amsterdam's Schiphol airport released a Chinese version of the Schiphol app, offering information on flights, public transport and product offers, as well as maps of the departure lounges, all in Mandarin. The app also enables translation of signs in the airport, via a recognition system using smartphone cameras.

Harrods' Chinese translation app

London department store Harrods also launched a free Chinese language smartphone app, offering shoppers functions such as an interactive guide to the store, restaurant menus, and details on events taking place.



SERVILE is:
Being there when customers truly need you, even if they didn't realize it yet

IKEA

For many residents of Quebec (Canada), property leases expire on July 1st. This makes it a popular moving day, and thus storage items such as cardboard boxes are in high demand. So last year, IKEA put up 2,000 cardboard posters around Montreal that could be assembled into moving boxes. The posters were printed with slogans that encouraged residents to take them home, and also included discounts on new furniture.



SERVILE is:
Picking up where the government isn’t

OUTsurance Pointsmen

OUTsurance is a South African insurance company that put traffic wardens on the streets of Johannesburg, Cape Town and Tshwane – to ease the traffic flow at dangerous or congested junctions.

Dial Direct's Pothole Brigade

Another South African insurance firm Dial Direct, launched the Pothole Brigade, a road maintenance initiative that repaired over 50,000 potholes in and around Johannesburg, as drivers reported them. Sadly, red tape recently killed the initiative, but there are plenty of other cities that could benefit from a similar set-up.

Safaricom's Daktari 1525

In the last quarter of 2011, Kenyan telco provider Safaricom partnered with mobile health specialist Call-a-Doc to launch Daktari - 1525. Subscribers can get medical advice from qualified personnel for around two cents per minute by dialing '1525'. The service does not offer diagnosis or prescription, only an appropriate level of counsel and (when necessary) reference to local medical centers. All calls are confidential.



SERVILE is:
Helping customers save money

22seven

Launched in South Africa in January 2012, 22seven is a financial services platform that looks at users’ bank statements to determine where they could save money. Consumers can see where they generally spend money, and where they might be overspending; they are then offered strategies and plans to help them reduce their outgoings. To use 22seven requires members to disclose full details of bank accounts and passwords.

Billshrink / Orange

BillShrink is a US based service that analyzes consumers' phone bills (once the owner grants access), before making a personalized recommendation of one of the 10 million plan combinations it monitors.
UK mobile provider Orange offers pay monthly customers a service that checks whether they are on the best available talk plan (based on their call, text and data usage history) every six months.

Samsung's Upgrade Program

The Samsung Upgrade promotion encourages US customers to trade in old smartphones in exchange for a Galaxy. After purchasing the Galaxy S2, S3 or Note, users upload information about their used smartphone to Samsung’s Facebook page and receive a quote for its value. Consumers send off their old device in return for a check of up to USD 300.

Bank of America's BankAmeriDeals

Bank of America's BankAmeriDeals program offers customers promotions based on the retailers they frequent. When users check their account online or via the app, cashback offers are listed next to the names of participating stores they have shopped at. Rewards can be redeemed at the locations on future visits.

A 1 minute summary of trendwatching.com's Trend Briefing on SERVILE BRANDS »



SERVILE is:
Helping customers start the day pleasantly

Boondoggle’s Winter Wake-Up

Winter Wake-Up is an app that functions as a standard alarm clock, but (by connecting to online weather forecasts) wakes users earlier than usual if there has been unexpected snow or icy conditions during the night. Users can choose not to be woken at all if extreme conditions make their commute hopeless. 

Uniqlo's Wake Up

In a similar vein, Uniqlo Wake Up is a free app which wakes users up with music automatically created based on the weather, with a melodic voice to announce the time, conditions and day of the week.



SERVILE is:
Helping customers to make the most of it

autoTRADER's autoLYZER

Canadian auto classifieds autoTRADER created the autoLYZER Facebook app, which uses data from users’ Facebook profiles (including recent photographs, social activities, comments and interests) to generate three vehicles available for sale which suit their lifestyle and personality.

DuniaFitnes

Indonesian fitness and health portal DuniaFitnes released a smartphone app offering tailored training regimes as well as health-related information, including nutrition tables and fitness videos. The free app also features a store where users can purchase fitness and wellbeing products.

Emporio Armani's EA7

Emporio Armani has created a mobile app for its sports apparel range EA7, providing consumers with lifestyle and fitness tips. The app is free and offers interactive experiences, games, and content that links to the clothing collection.

“44% of consumers across 14 countries now say that it’s difficult to manage their daily obligations and find time to relax.”



SERVILE is:
Bringing customers recommendations that actually make sense

Ticketmaster

US based Ticketmaster unveiled a ticketing Facebook app in January 2012, enabling users to browse music events, see which shows their friends are attending, read reviews, schedule a wishlist of upcoming concerts they hope to attend, and of course, purchase tickets. The 'Recommended Events' feature uses Spotify integration to see which acts the visitor has been posting about online, and sharing with friends, so that it can provide a list of suggested concerts.

Hellmann’s & St. Marche

In May 2012, Hellmann’s offered recipes tailored to the ingredients the shopper had just purchased. Custom software was installed in cash registers at Brazilian supermarket chain St. Marche. When a shopper bought a jar of Hellmann’s mayonnaise, the cash register recognized this and generated a custom recipe based on the mayonnaise and the other ingredients that were purchased, automatically printing this on the receipt.



SERVILE is:
Making things more seamless for customers

Ford's KeyFree

To promote Ford’s KeyFree technology (which allows drivers to unlock and lock vehicles with NFC fobs), the automaker created an app that logs into a user’s digital accounts, without them having to type in their passwords. Consumers enter their usernames and passwords into the free app, and when they approach a synced computer, it detects their (Bluetooth enabled) device’s proximity and signs into the pre-registered programs.

Vodafone & Richard Nicoll

Vodafone UK and fashion designer Richard Nicoll created a handbag that can power a mobile phone while on the move. After the bag is charged from a mains power outlet (using a cable that magnetically attaches to the exterior), it carries up to two days worth of extra battery.

Toyota & Nintendo

Toyota has launched a facility enabling drivers in Japan to control in-vehicle Smart Navi GPS units via Nintendo DS and Bluetooth. Drivers or passengers can purchase a ‘Kuruma de DS’ utility card (costing USD 92) which is inserted into the Nintendo console to allow syncing of pre-saved routes, and navigation.

Virgin America & Rock the Vote

Virgin America and nonprofit Rock the Vote have launched a service in the US that allows passengers to register to vote for the 2012 presidential election, using the in-flight entertainment system.

Health Street's DNA Testing

Health Street, a medical testing company from New York, offers mobile paternity tests via its Who’s Your Daddy? van that cruises the streets of New York. For USD 299, passersby can have a cheek swab taken for analysis in the vehicle’s lab, with results delivered in a couple of days.

Evian's Smart Drop

The Evian Chez Vous website lets Parisians order bottled water for direct delivery to their homes and businesses. Users can order other products from the Danone group, including Badoit or Volvic water. In 2013, the service will be accompanied by the Smart Drop; a wifi-enabled fridge magnet allowing members to order water automatically by pushing a button.

Red Tomato Pizza's Fridge Magnet

The VIP Fridge Magnet from Dubai's Red Tomato Pizza allows customers to order their favorite pizza at the touch of a button. Members of the loyalty program were sent free magnets, which use a smartphone's Bluetooth functionality to connect to the Internet. Once customers have pressed the button on the magnet, the pizza is delivered to their registered address.

Turkcell's Mobile Order

Turkcell announced plans to launch an in-home contactless ecommerce solution. Customers that own the NFC-enabled Turkcell MaxiPlus5 will be able to hold their device against a fridge magnet (that comes with the smartphone) to trigger Mobile Order, an online shopping application. Burger King, Migros, and energy supplier Avgaz are some of the major brands to have partnered to be included on the Mobile Order app. Existing contract customers can upgrade to the new device from TRY 5 (USD 2.75) a month.

Ushuaïa Ibiza Beach Hotel & PayTouch

Ushuaïa Ibiza Beach Hotel teamed up with Barcelona-based biometric payment provider PayTouch so that guests (who register upon arrival) can make payments with their fingerprints. All the facilities at the destination are equipped with print scanning devices so that visitors needn't carry their wallets or cards around.

GS25's Convenience Stores

'My Refrigerator' service from GS25 (a South Korean convenience store chain) caters to customers who are keen on additional gifts with a purchase, like ‘1+1’ products (two for one or promotion package products), but find additional gifts a burden for them to carry. With 'My Refrigerator' service, customers can save additional gifts in their own virtual refrigerator instead of taking them right away, and pick them up any time during the validity period in any GS25 stores. If they want, the products can be also given to friends as a present.

Tesco's Virtual Grocery Store

UK supermarket Tesco debuted an interactive virtual grocery store at Gatwick Airport in the UK. Travelers departing for a holiday can order food supplies from digital displays with their smartphones. The purchased items are delivered to their homes in time for their return.


NEXT

First of all, not ALL brands need to be 100% servile: certain luxury brands or the Apples of this world can get away with being DOMINANT BRANDS.

Now, if you're not Gucci or Apple, how to get started? First, realize that servile brands always put themselves second. For most brands/business, this means a radical change in mindset.

Understand that the days of revered brands are over. It’s not about telling your customers that you are important, and they can have a slice of you if they pay for it. Instead, it’s about telling customers: “Whatever you need or want, we’re here to help” (or even better, “We know what you want, here, we’ve already done it for you”).

Pushed to extremes, there are huge opportunities for truly SERVILE BRANDS, that are able to transcend their current offerings and provide complete lifestyle solutions for their customers.

For marketers, SERVILE BRANDS means thinking about creating marketing that isn’t marketing. If consumers aren’t searching for, adopting, installing, or sharing your efforts (in whatever form: product, service, app, content etc), then you need to get back to the drawing board. Now ;-)

Run with the examples above, take another look at our BRAND BUTLERS Trend Briefing, and go all out in creating new concepts, services and products that are infused with servility.

Meanwhile, we’ll do our best to please, serve and satisfy you by bringing you a new, free Trend Briefing early November. Make sure you’re subscribed trendwatching.com logo

Next



Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2015 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU