2013年4月 Trend Briefing:
CLEAN SLATE BRANDS
传统成为了新的包袱 ;-)
CLEAN SLATE BRANDS

商业规则3.0下诞生的新生代特殊品牌引发了商业领域中意义深远的力量转移。这些未经验证和不知名的品牌对消费者的吸引力丝毫不亚于过去的成熟品牌。事实上,“成熟”现在常常被认为是使人腻烦或是有污点的,商业领域的未来属于这些 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS。

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:
更新、更好、更快、更少污点、更加开放和负责的CLEAN SLATE BRANDS(拥有清白历史的品牌)受到消费者的追捧 。对于这些没有历史遗留的品牌,消费者慷慨的给予了热爱、关注和信任。


趋势背后的驱动因素:

1. 对于新事物的渴望

为什么对于当下的消费者而言,“新”真正代表着“更好”

正如我们在NEWISM中强调过的,消费者对于“新”事物的关注达到了前所未有的程度。由于创新的民主化、全球化以及对于创业精神的推崇,来自世界各地的品牌和个人昼夜不停的构想和开发更好、更激动人心的新产品和服务以取代现有的选择(产品开发进入壁垒的降低从理论变成了现实,特别是在网络上)。

在这里我们还要强调的是民主化创新所具有的消费者参与的特点。与那些负担着历史传统的品牌相比,新品牌能更加敏捷和精准的把握住消费者当下的、与过去截然不同的需求。

与过去商业推广硬塞给消费者的“新一代改良产品”相比,现在“新”的概念越来越多的受到来自消费者拉动。真正意义上“更好”的“新”体验所带来的正面效应使消费者渴望获得更多类似的体验。

 

2. INSTANT TRUST

为什么消费者容易接受甚至是更愿意选择CLEAN SLATE BRANDS

原本品牌的意义在于给予消费者可辨识、可信任、经历了时间考验的符号以帮助他们在丰富的选择中作出决定。然而,这在以INSTANT TRUST为特点的商业领域* 中不再重要。

* 这一趋势对于成熟经济体最为适用,成熟市场中消费者对于大企业的信任度达到了前所未有的低点:在英国仅有28%的人相信大企业,这一数据在日本为30%,在澳大利亚为32%,在美国为33%,在加拿大为34%。相比而言,新兴市场的消费者对于大企业的信任程度要高出许多,在中国为83%,在土耳其为72%,在巴西和印度为65%(Havas,2013年1月)。问题是,即使是在新兴市场,大企业是否可以保证消费者的信任度不下降呢?

消费者容易接受甚至是更愿意选择CLEAN SLATE BRANDS的四个原因:

即时获知:

体验被越来越多的分享,即使是最新的信息也在被即时的评估和评分。有了THE F-FACTOR的支持,消费者对于尝试新产品和服务变的越来越自信。在最被消费者所信任的广告来源排行榜中,来自朋友和家人的推荐高居榜首。

在最被消费者所信任的广告来源排行榜中,来自朋友和家人的推荐高居榜首,获得了92%的消费者的信任,这一数据自2007年以来增长了18%。网上的顾客评价排第二,获得了70%的消费者的信任,该数据自2008年以来上涨了15%。电视广告的信任率自2009年以来下降了24%,目前仅为47%。
(尼尔森,2012年4月)

天生无污点:

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS 更好的反映了时代思潮。新成立的品牌常常具有“新”的商业价值标准,更高的环境、道德和社会标准深植于其商业模式和实践。本地化、故事性、可持续发展、渐进式的新企业模式一直以来被那些挣扎着想要赶上的大企业所借用。

我们在华通明略所发布的全球100大品牌报告中可以看到,品牌的平均年龄从2006年的84岁跌至了2012年的68岁
(华通明略,2012年5月)

简单的真相:

当一波又一波的丑闻(比如金融产品和马肉风波)的责任被归咎于过渡“复杂化”,CLEAN SLATE BRANDS的简单性、精益化管理(比如公平劳工、透明供应链、绿色设计等)可以很容易的被消费者理解并获得其信任。

那些能够简化消费者决策的品牌相较而言获得推荐的可能性高出了115%。
(Corporate Executive Board,2012年5月)

对品牌未来的信任:

现在的商业活动处在完全透明的状态,而那些未公开的部分被暴露出来也仅仅只是时间问题。CLEAN SLATE BRANDS及其消费者深知这一点。刚启动的品牌自然没有任何的污点记录,消费者也相信它们能在未来表现的很好。

64%的全球消费者认为大多数的品牌负担责任只是为了美化自己的品牌形象
(Havas Media, 2011)

从另外一个角度来看,许多在工业资本主义时代成立起来的企业将保密作为竞争优势,而投资者鼓励企业不计任何代价追求利润。如今的商业环境已经改变,然而对于那些想要重新定位的老品牌而言,内部官僚制度、复杂的遗留系统和不透明的供应链使其转型之路举步维艰(相信许多我们来自大企业的读者可能有着最为直接的体会 ;-)。

 

3. 开放式操作

为什么使用和购买 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS让消费者感到更有意义

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS与消费者的沟通是双向的、具有参与性和更为平等的,因此能与消费者建立起旧品牌所难以建立的密切关系。

不论是提供经济支持、帮助塑造品牌运作还是直接对产品的创造作出贡献(参见下文中 Lockitron、Coffee Joulies、Waze等例子),CLEAN SLATE BRANDS的消费者获得了更可控的体验(控制欲属于基本的人类心理需求),也因此与品牌建立了有意义的关系*。

* 当然,我们并不是说消费者在购买任何品牌的时候都想要与之建立某种关系 ;-) 事实上有许多的购买行为仍然仅仅只是功能性的。但即使是在传统的“低参与性”的产品类别中(比如家庭清洁用品), 具有故事性和高辨识度的CLEAN SLATE BRANDS也能够脱颖而出。我们看到 Method的例子,由设计主导的、环保的小品牌产品如何击败宝洁、联合利华等大品牌。

 

引起轰动的 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS »

地道的本地饮食对于消费者的吸引力是永远都不会消失的,以下是一些最新的创新例子:

Coffee Joulies: 美国公司让消费者决定是否将生产环节转移到中国

2012年12月,Coffee Joulies(一种减慢热饮冷却速度的产品)的创始者让消费者通过投票决定品牌是否应该将产品的生产从美国工厂转移到成本更为低廉的中国工厂。消费者可以选择使用价值5美元的美国优惠码或是价值10美元的中国优惠码进行购买从而帮助品牌选择生产地点。优惠码的面值反映了生产成本对产品价格的影响。

Wewi: 巴西首创的亚马逊瓜拿纳果有机碳酸饮品

2012年9月,Wewi 是第一个将在巴西生产的有机碳酸饮料。这种低卡路里的软饮100%由亚马逊瓜拿纳果、有机糖和苏打水制作而成,不添加任何的食品香精和防腐剂。


在交通行业我们也看到了CLEAN SLATE BRANDS崭露头角:

W Motors: 中东的豪华跑车

遗憾的是,并非所有的 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS都是更为进步的。2013年1月,黎巴嫩贝鲁特的W Motors 在卡塔尔汽车展上公布了最新的车型HyperSport。这种汽车的发动机动力高达750马力,最高时速可达每小时240英里,售价为340万美元。这个来自阿拉伯地区的首个豪华汽车品牌计划仅生产七辆这样的超级跑车,然而在汽车发布后的一周内品牌收到了超过100份订单。这意味着即使是那些超级富裕的消费者也愿意在没有任何历史的CLEAN SLATE BRAND上花大价钱,即便这些品牌完全不顾可能产生的环境问题 :-(

Waze: 众包导航应用程序的用户在2012年从1000万增长到了3600万

通过以色列的智能手机交通导航应用程序Waze,我们看到消费者如何向 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS提供更多的信息。该程序通过搜集用户个人信息创建了大众编辑式的地图,而用户对于这种分享的形式并不感到反感。2012年,该应用程序的用户从1000万增长到了3600万,这种分享使产品具有了更好的特性:不断更新的地图以及通过用户信息整合的实时交通信息。Waze同时也有社交特性,用户可以与其他的驾驶者同步分享交通及油价信息。


热爱便利的消费者热衷于能使家庭生活更便利的产品和服务,他们甚至将家庭的安保也托付给CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

Lockitron: 通过智能手机应用程序实现的家庭安保

Lockitron是一个与手机程序配合使用的设备,用户可以使用手机远程开启、关闭他们的房门。由于最初的集资申请被Kickstarter拒绝,Lockitron以预售的形式启动了由品牌自己发起的众筹计划。150,000美元的集资目标在不到24小时的时间里就完成了,而在五天的众筹结束后该公司共计获得了150万美元的筹款,1,000%超额完成了集资目标。

SmartThings: 通过手机应用程序控制家庭设备

2012年9月,SmartThings在Kickstarter上获得了120万美元的集资, 该产品将实体设备链接到互联网,使用户可以通过智能手机远程控制房门、电视、空调、灯、加热器等,在有人或宠物进入了房间的时候用户还可以收到通知。 SmartThings的零售价格为299美元起。


在个人理财行业,消费者将自己的财务数据甚至是现金交给那些能比现有产品提供更好服务的CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

Simple: 关注顾客服务的初创电子银行获得了 125,000的预登记用户

Simple 向用户提供通过网络和手机应用程序操作的、简化且易使用的银行服务。尽管没有历史记录和传统银行实体,Simple在2010年宣布成立以来已经有125,000的用户登记表示愿意使用该服务,品牌在2012年7月发布了完整服务。

TransferWise: 规避了银行的众包型货币兑换

英国的TransferWise向消费者提供英镑和欧元的兑换服务(该服务于2012年11月还开放了美元兑换)。这项服务避免了银行兑换所产生的服务费、高额手续费及低兑换汇率,货币按照全球货币市场通用的中间价汇率进行兑换。对于用户而言,这一汇率通常要比银行汇率好很多。在公司自2011年1月成立以来,该服务已经兑换了超过1000万欧元的货币,共计节省了50万欧元的银行兑换费用。


在这个科技高度发达的世界里,品牌的更新换代令人目不暇接。现在还炙手可热的 CLEAN SLATE BRAND 可能会迅速的被下一个新的品牌所取代:

2go: 南非的手机信息服务在尼日利亚击败了Facebook

南非的社交信息应用程序2go在2012年的用户数量保持着强劲的增长势头。实际上在尼日利亚,该服务的用户甚至超过了Facebook(该服务拥有1000万用户,而Facebook的用户数量为500万)。相关报告显示Facebook在尼日利亚的用户于2012年11月至2013年1月期间下降了近30万,而与此同时 2go宣称每天有近5万的新注册用户。

Snapchat: 限时图片分享应用程序的爆炸式增长

通过应用程序Snapchat,用户所分享的图片在被接收者查看数秒后便会自我销毁。2012年10月,该程序的开发者声称这项服务每天处理的图片数量达到了2000万张,到12月更是增长到了5000万张。与之相比, Facebook相似的应用程序‘Poke’所取得的业绩就不值一提了。


按理说消费者在对待健康问题时会格外小心 ,然而在健康行业我们同样看到了引起轰动的CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

23andMe: 提供个人基因测试服务的公司以100万用户作为发展目标

提供“个人基因”DNA测试服务的公司23andMe在2012年12月宣称已经筹集到了5000万美元的资金将其基因分析服务的用户扩展到100万,迄今为止该服务的用户数量已经达到了18万。


非盈利组织和社会化企业当然也无可避免的受到CLEAN SLATE BRAND现象的影响,以下是其中的一个例子:

Who Gives A Crap: 卫生纸品牌将所获利润用于帮助发展中国家修建公共厕所

Who Gives a Crap是一个澳大利亚的卫生纸品牌,该公司将利润的50%用于帮助发展中国家修建公共厕所。2012年8月,该品牌在众筹网站上仅用了50个小时就筹集到了5万美元,该品牌24个一组的卫生纸售价为20美元,这说明即使是在最为保守和“成熟”的行业,CLEAN SLATE BRANDS依然有发展的空间 ;-)

“CLEAN SLATE BRANDS 通常具有'新'的商业价值观,更高的环保、道德和社会标准深植于他们的商业模式和商业实践。”



应用与机会:

我们首先要说明的一点是, CLEAN SLATE BRAND并不会彻底取代那些有历史和传统的品牌。至少在当下看来,仍然会有不少的消费者更愿意选择那些由可信的、受推崇的品牌所生产的成熟的、被验证过的产品,或是痴迷于具有几十年甚至是上百年历史的著名品牌。要知道,没有一个趋势总是用于所有消费者。

在 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS 趋势的背后,我们所看到的是消费者偏好的转变所带来的深远影响,这一点应该引起企业家的注意,而紧随趋势的商业人员也该开始反思自身品牌的态度、表达、构成和传播途径

虽然我们所看到的很多 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS都是创新的小企业和全新的初创公司,成功的 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS 所具有的特性却可以被所有品牌所借鉴,这当然包括那些老品牌和大品牌:

  • 学习 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS令人兴奋的特质,把握机会实现差异化。考虑生产全新的产品(比如耐克革命性的超环保概念跑鞋Flyknit),或者甚至是全新的商业尝试(比如肯尼亚移动通信公司 Safaricom的储蓄服务M-Shwari )。
  • 减少复杂程度:比如宝马汽车的推广语“We Only Make One Thing. The Ultimate Driving Machine.” (我们只生产一种产品,那就是终极驾驶器。)就很值得借鉴。在内部决策时做到清晰和迅速,帮助消费者更容易的理解您的品牌。
  • 肩负社会责任:我们看到,即使是象 Patagonia 这样的成熟品牌也致力于树立良好的企业形象,一直以来高调投身于环保活动(比如由该品牌主办的活动Footprint Chronicles)。
  • 将有趣的内容真实可信的表达出来,即使是大品牌也能与消费者建立有有意义的联系,比如Whole Foods的Twitter 帐号发布与健康食品相关的实用信息,如今已经有多达300万的关注者。
  • 对于那些太大的品牌而言,将自身转变为 CLEAN SLATE BRAND 可能太过困难,那么您可以尝试与现有的 CLEAN SLATE BRAND 合作,比如 Telefonica的Wayra Academy(该服务活跃于欧洲和中南美洲的13个地区)以及宝洁及通用磨坊与众筹门户网站 CircleUp 的合作。这种方式帮助大规模品牌对 CLEAN SLATE BRAND 趋势加以利用。

当您与过去说再见,我们也将努力准备下一份Trend Briefing。如果您还没有订阅,请点击这里订阅 » 切勿错过 ;-) trendwatching.com logo


现在就注册!

1.我们每月免费版Trend Briefing(趋势简报)

2.我们的Premium Trend Service(高级付费服务)

查看您如何从Premium服务中获益

April 2013 Trend Briefing:
CLEAN SLATE BRANDS
Heritage is the new baggage ;-)
CLEAN SLATE BRANDS

There's a profound shift in power taking place in the business arena. With a whole new breed of exceptional new brands living by the rules of Business 3.0, consumers are now attracted to unproven and unknown brands the way they were attracted to established brands in the past. In fact, 'established' is now often just another word for tired if not tainted. The future belongs to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS.

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:
Newer, better, faster, cleaner, more open and responsive; consumers are rushing to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS and are now lavishing love, attention and trust on brands without heritage and history.


Driving this trend:

1. LUST FOR THE NEW

Why for consumers, ‘new’ now truly means ‘better’

As we highlighted in NEWISM, the consumer arena has never been more fixated on the ‘new’. Thanks to the democratization and globalization of innovation (not to mention the celebration of entrepreneurship), brands and individuals from all corners of the world are now working around the clock to dream up and launch endless new products and services, that are truly better and more exciting than current offerings. Lower barriers to entry has gone from buzzphrase to reality, especially online.

And to underscore the 'for and by' element of the democratization of innovation, new players are by default more nimble and laser-focused on what consumers want now (as opposed to yesterday) than the bigger legacy-laden brands they compete with.

So from being something that was pushed to consumers by businesses (‘new and improved’), the ‘new’ is now subject to an increasingly strong pull from consumers. Excited by positive experiences of a ‘new’ that is genuinely ‘better’, consumers are hungry for more.

 

2. INSTANT TRUST

Why consumers are immediately comfortable with, even prefer, turning to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS

The whole concept of ‘brands’ rests on the idea that consumers need recognizable, trusted symbols, honed over many years, to help them navigate the wealth of available choices. However this idea is being swept aside in a business arena* now characterized by INSTANT TRUST.

* This trend is most relevant in mature economies, where trust in big business has never been lower: only 28% trust big business in the UK, 30% in Japan, 32% in Australia, 33% in the US and 34% in Canada. In emerging markets however, consumers' trust levels are much higher: 83% in China, 72% in Turkey, 65% in Brazil and India (Havas, January 2013). The question is: will big business maintain this trust?

Four forces are making consumers immediately comfortable with (and even prefer) turning to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

IMMEDIATELY KNOWN:

Now that experiences are increasingly shared, and even the newest of the new is instantly reviewed and rated, consumers have THE F-FACTOR, and feel more confident in being earlier and earlier adopters.

92% trust recommendations from friends and family above all other forms of advertising, up 18% since 2007. Online consumer reviews are the second most trusted source of brand information with a 70% trust rating, up 15% since 2008. Television ads were trusted by only 47%, down 24% since 2009.
(Nielsen, April 2012)

BORN CLEAN:

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS better reflect the zeitgeist. The fact that they are (by definition) newly established, means that they often have ‘new’ business values – such as higher environmental, ethical and social standards – deeply baked into their business models and practices. Just witness how the values of local, storied, sustainable, progressive new businesses have been consistently appropriated by big businesses, as they stumble to catch up here.

The average age of brands in Millward Brown’s BrandZ Top 100 Global Brands Report has fallen consistently, from 84 in 2006 to 68 in 2012.
(Millward Brown, May 2012)

SIMPLE TRUTH:

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS’ simple, lean operations (everything from fair labor practices, transparent supply chains and clean design) are easily understandable – and therefore trusted – by consumers. And with scandal after scandal (from financial products to horsemeat) being blamed on excess 'complexity', who can blame them?

Brands that simplify customer decision-making are 115% more likely to be recommended.
(Corporate Executive Board, May 2012)

FUTURE FAITH:

Business practices are now totally transparent (and if not, merely waiting to be exposed). CLEAN SLATE BRANDS know this. Consumers know that CLEAN SLATE BRANDS know this. Which explains why, on top of the fact that CLEAN SLATE BRANDS, almost by definition, cannot have sinned yet (they've just started, after all), consumers trust them to act correctly in the future too.

64% of global consumers think most companies are trying to be responsible only to improve their image.
(Havas Media, 2011)

Or, to put it another way, many ‘old’ brands were set up in the era of industrial capitalism, when secrecy was a source of competitive advantage and shareholders encouraged pursuit of profit at any cost. Now the world has changed, but even older brands that want to reposition themselves have a hard time wrestling with internal fiefdoms, convoluted legacy systems and opaque supply chains (something that many big company readers of our Trend Briefings might have first hand experience of ;-).

 

3. OPEN OPERATION

Why using or buying from CLEAN SLATE BRANDS feels more meaningful

CLEAN SLATE BRANDS are natives in a land where communication with brands is two-way, participatory and less reverential, and as such can connect with consumers in a way that older brands often struggle to.

Whether it’s through offering financial support, by helping to shape a brand’s operations, or even by contributing to the product itself (see the Lockitron, Coffee Joulies and Waze examples below), customers of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS often feel more in control – a basic human desire – and that they have a meaningful relationship with the brand*.

* Yes, we too hate the idea that all consumers want to ‘have a relationship’ with any brand they buy from ;-) There are many purchases that are, and will remain, purely functional. But even in traditionally ‘low involvement’ categories such as domestic care, CLEAN SLATE BRANDS with strong stories and identities can thrive. Witness for example how Method’s design-led, eco-friendly products succeeded against P&G’s and Unilever’s.

 

Examples of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS that are making waves »

Consumers have always been attracted to local, authentic food and beverage brands. Here are just a couple of recent innovative examples:

Coffee Joulies: US-based company lets consumers decide whether to move manufacturing to China

In December 2012, the creators of Coffee Joulies (a product which keeps hot beverages hotter for longer) asked customers to vote to determine whether or not the brand should move production from an American factory to a less costly Chinese one. Consumers could help decide on the location of manufacturing by making a purchase using either a USA or China coupon code. To reflect the lower costs of Chinese manufacturing, the discount using the China coupon was USD 10, while the one for the USA was only USD 5.

Wewi: Brazil’s first ever organic soda is made with Amazonian guarana

Launched in September 2012, Wewi is the first ever organic soda to be produced in Brazil. The low calorie soft drink is made from 100% organic Amazonian guarana, organic sugar and carbonated water, and is free of artificial flavorings and preservatives.


Transport is just one industry seeing the emergence of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

W Motors: Luxury sports car developed in the Middle East

No, CLEAN SLATE BRANDS won't always be cleaner or more progressive (unfortunately). In January 2013, Beirut-based W Motors unveiled the HyperSport at the Qatar Motor Show. With a 750 horsepower engine, the HyperSport is capable of a top speed of 240mph, and is priced at USD 3.4 million. The brand (which is the first luxury sports car brand from the Arab region), planned to produce only seven units of the ‘hypercar’, however over 100 orders were received in the week after the car was launched. A signal that ultra-wealthy consumers will spend serious money on a CLEAN SLATE BRAND with no history or heritage, even if that involves delivering a resounding 'fuck you' to any eco-concerns :-(

Waze: Crowd-sourced navigation app grows from 10 million to 36 million users during 2012

For an example of how consumers will often offer more information to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS, look no further than Israel-based Waze, a smartphone traffic & navigation app that works by users disclosing their personal information to form community edited maps. Far from causing an outcry from users, in 2012 Waze grew its user base from 10 million to 36 million. One reason is that this sharing contributes to a better product: maps are constantly updated and incorporate ‘real time’ changes through user data. Waze also has a social aspect, with users able to sync with other drivers to share information on traffic issues and gas prices.


Convenience-loving consumers are embracing products and services that make their domestic lives easier, even trusting the security of their homes to CLEAN SLATE BRANDS:

Lockitron: Home security via smartphone app

Lockitron is a device and app that allows users to lock, unlock and share access to their front door remotely through their mobile phone. Initially rejected by Kickstarter, Lockitron formed its own crowdfunding campaign to raise funds through pre-orders. The initial goal of USD 150,000 was hit within 24 hours, and five days after launching the company had raised USD 1.5 million, with reservations exceeding 1,000% of the original target.

SmartThings: Control of objects around the home via mobile app

In September 2012, SmartThings raised over USD 1.2 million on Kickstarter. SmartThings allows users to connect physical objects to the internet, enabling them to monitor and control doors, televisions, air conditioning, lights, heaters and more remotely via a smartphone app, and to receive notifications when people or pets enter or leave their home. SmartThings retail kits start at USD 299.


CLEAN SLATE BRANDS are disrupting the personal finance industry, persuading consumers to hand over their financial data (if not actual cash) to services that promise more than incumbents:

Simple: Digital banking start-up focused on customer service builds a waiting list of over 125,000

Simple offers its users simplified and accessible banking through online and mobile apps. Despite not having the heritage and physical presence of a traditional bank, Simple launched its first full release in July 2012, working through the 125,000 customer waiting list that it had built since its launch was announced in 2010.

TransferWise: Crowd-sourced currency exchange undercuts banks

UK-based TransferWise is a service that connects consumers seeking to exchange GBP and EUR (and since November 2012 USD), and avoid bank service fees, high commissions and/ or poor rates. Currencies are exchanged according to the common mid-market rate as reported by worldwide currency markets, rather than traditional retail bank rates, which are usually much worse. Since the company launched in January 2011, users have exchanged over EUR 10 million and saved more than EUR 500,000 in the process.


In the tech world, the dizzying pace of change means that one moment’s CLEAN SLATE BRAND can quickly be overtaken by the next:

2go: South African mobile messenger service beating Facebook in Nigeria

South African social messenging app 2go saw continued strong user growth in 2012. Indeed in Nigeria, the service is pushing out Facebook (with over 10 million users, while Facebook has 5 million). The number of Facebook users in Nigeria was reported to have dropped by over 300,000 between November 2012 and January 2013, while 2go claimed to be adding 50,000 new registrations a day.

Snapchat: Temporary photo sharing app sees explosive growth

Snapchat is an app that enables users to share images that can only be viewed by the recipient for a few seconds before they ‘self-destruct’. The developers announced in October 2012 that the service was processing 20 million images a day, by December this had risen to 50 million per day; in contrast to the limited success achieved by Facebook’s similar ‘Poke’ application.


Even in health, where consumers might be expected to be extra mindful about dealing with CLEAN SLATE BRANDS, upstarts are making waves:

23andMe: Personal genetics company targets 1 million customers

The ‘personal genetics’ DNA testing company 23andMe announced in December 2012 that it had raised USD 50 million and was aiming to expand its genotyping to 1 million customers, up from the 180,000 it had profiled to date.


Non-profits and social businesses are not exempt from the CLEAN SLATE BRAND phenomenon. Just one example:

Who Gives A Crap: Toilet paper brand donates profits to help build toilets in the developing world

Who Gives a Crap is a brand of toilet paper from Australia which donates 50% of its profits to help build toilets in the developing world. The brand reached its target on crowdfunding site Indiegogo in August 2012, raising USD 50,000 in 50 hours. A 24 pack of rolls is priced at USD 20. Proof that there's room for CLEAN SLATE BRANDS in even the most staid and 'mature' industries ;-)

“CLEAN SLATE BRANDS often have ‘new’ business values - such as higher environmental, ethical and social standards - deeply baked into their business models and practices.”



IMPLICATIONS and OPPORTUNITIES:

First, let's get one thing straight. The CLEAN SLATE BRAND trend won't wipe out all desire for brands with history and heritage. There will still be some consumers, at least some of the time, who will want to turn to established, proven products from trusted, well-respected brands. Or lust after illustrious brands that go back decades if not centuries. Remember, no trend ever applies to all consumers, all of the time.

But CLEAN SLATE BRANDS is a trend driven by a profound shift in consumer preferences, and as such should get entrepreneur‘s juices going, while at the same time making switched on business professionals instantly question the attitude, tone, structure and approach of their brand.

And while the ranks of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS might be filled with innovative small businesses and fresh start-ups, the characteristics behind successful CLEAN SLATE BRANDS can be adopted by any brand, including old, big ones:

  • Learn from the excitement of CLEAN SLATE BRANDS and seize the opportunity to do things differently. Think new products (such as Nike’s revolutionary super-sustainable Flyknit running shoe), or even whole new business ventures (such as Kenyan mobile operator Safaricom’s M-Shwari savings service).
  • Reduce complexity: Take a leaf from BMW’s ‘We Only Make One Thing. The Ultimate Driving Machine.’ campaign, or pare back bloated product portfolios and company structures. Bring clarity and speed to internal decision-making, and watch as consumers find it easier to understand everything about your brand. 
  • Bake in responsibility: Witness how even established brands such as Patagonia attempt to keep their slate clean with high-profile commitments to sustainability (such as the brand’s Footprint Chronicles initiative).
  • Speak with an authentic voice and have something interesting to say, and big brands too will connect meaningfully with consumers. Witness Whole Foods’ wholesome, helpful Twitter account, now followed by over 3 million people.
  • And if your brand feels too large and unwieldy to become a CLEAN SLATE BRAND, then why not partner or even nurture those that are? From Telefonica’s Wayra Academy (active in 13 territories across Europe and South & Central America), to P&G and General Mills’ recent collaboration with crowdfunding portal CircleUp, this is a great way for even the largest of companies to tap into the CLEAN SLATE BRAND trend.

While you wipe the slate clean, we’ll be hard at work on our next Trend Briefing. If you’re not subscribed yet, please do so here » Don’t mess up ;-) trendwatching.com logo


Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2015 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU