2012年7月/8月Trend Briefing:
NEWISM
为什么消费者对新事物的热情比以往任何时候都更为高涨。
NEWISM

定义:

“新”这一概念从来没有像现在这样炙手可热。对于那些在EXPECTATION ECONOMY(期望经济)中成长起来的、总是要求最好的消费者而言,“新”已成为一个积极的概念。更好的新产品和新服务不断在世界各地涌现出来。人们可以在风险极低的情况下轻松地尝试新产品(特别是通过网络)。就消费者的社会地位而言:新意味着有趣、酷、更丰富的体验以及第一次……新意味着“新”!;-) 对于品牌而言,是时候开始行动以满足消费者对于NEWISM的热情了。



以下的几个驱动因素使NEWISM更为显著:



1. CREATIVE > DESTRUCTION

创造性破坏可能有其令人担忧的一方面,但它仍然是值得鼓励的(尽管当下经济衰退、银行挤兑和货币崩溃)。当创新的数量和步伐比以往任何时候都更多更快,“创造”所带来的价值超过了“破坏”所带来的影响。实际上在全球范围内,在所有的B2C行业内,不论是新兴经济体*还是成熟经济体,新的产品、服务和体验每天甚至是每个小时都在不断涌现。和以往那些“老”品牌令人厌烦的营销宣传(“新一代的、改进的!”)所不同的是,这里所提到的“新”的概念是一个真正令消费者感到兴奋的命题。

每一天,我们都看到不断有未曾听闻过的品牌或个体出现,他们带来的是更新、更好、更方便、更令人惊喜、新颖的和改良过的体验。这实际上是世界范围内对于创新和新事物的鼓励和欢迎。

*相关内容请您阅读我们之前发布的Trend Briefing,其主题为MADE BETTER IN CHINA;当然您也可以参考由我们的姐妹网站Springwise为您送上的全新商业理念和观点(内容丰富且完全免费!)。

2010年的专利申请数从2000年的140万件上升到了200万件。
(资料来源:世界知识产权组织,2011年12月)

2. FSTR

网络世界由于其对信息、兴奋度和关注度的不断加速和放大使其成为推动NEWISM趋势发展的主要因素之一。

我们可以看到如Instagram(一年内拥有1000万用户)或是Draw Something(在短短6个星期中拥有3500万用户!)一类的例子。而同时需要注意的是NEWISM往往稍纵即逝,就Draw Something而言,目前它的许多用户已经不再热衷于该应用程序,毫无疑问,他们正在寻求更新的产品;-)。

对于产品也是如此:我们看到Pebble在37天内通过Kickstarter*获得了超过1000万美元的集资。事实上,任何产品,只要能够释放被压抑的用户需求就能迅速爆发并以前所未有的速度蔓延。比如Taco Bell就在10周内售出了1亿份新产品“立体脆”玉米饼,使其成为该品牌有史以来最快推出的产品。

* Kickstarter对“新”的创新生态系统起到了极大的推动作用:现在,不论你是谁,不论你有什么样的新想法,都可以通过这个平台进行测试、集资和启动。

“兴奋度和关注度都在被放大和加速。”

3. EXPERIENCE CRAMMING

能够讲述有趣的STATUS STORIES (能够提升个人社会地位的故事)对于消费者而言充满了吸引力,而这也进一步加剧了消费者对于新体验永无止境的渴望,而这种情况在当下这个通过网络表达许多个人身份的世界里更是如此。

那些很少有其他人能够获得或是曾经获得的经历和体验对于消费者而言是一个可靠的身份象征。然而,随着越来越多的人比以往任何时候都渴望“独特”的体验,真正独特的体验变得越来越难以获得或是因此价格昂贵。在这样的情况下,对于那些渴望身份象征的消费者而言,另外一种更为便宜和实际的途径则是借助于EXPERIENCE CRAMMING:尽可能多和广泛的积累并混合各种新的体验

“消费者希望尽可能多的积累和混合各种新的体验。”



4. STATUS STREAM

在积累体验之外,在这样一个所有事物都转瞬即逝的世界里,把握全球范围内新产品和新服务的发展(见驱动因素1)、个人与外界的连通度以及保持消息灵通都将帮助你提升个人社会地位(特别是对于那些SOCIAL-LITE类的消费者而言)。是的,“新”也意味着建立新的个人声望;-)

事实上,如何帮助消费者找到最新的产品和体验或是在搜寻、了解、行动和获取的过程中保持领先已经是一个不小的市场机会。比如来自耐克的创新:2012年4月耐克公司通过Twitter进行了针对一些具收藏价值的限量版运动鞋的购买预定。在产品发布当天,商店随机发布带有特定标签的tweet,而第一批回复带有该标签消息的关注者将可以成功预订一双限量版运动鞋。

“保持消息灵通、成为“新”概念的一部分将能够带来社会地位的提升。”






5. TRYSUMERS

上文中所描述的这个刺激创新的生态系统同时也是完全透明的,在任何事物创立之初,相关评论和评分也随之而来,这意味着消费者尝试新事物的风险越来越小

此外,新的商业模式(比如LIFE: SUBSCRIBEDTRYVERTISINGOWNER-LESS 以及下面将会提到的 RECOMMERCE)正使消费者能够以较低的风险和成本获得“新”的体验。

“尝试新事物的风险几近于零。”



6. TO HAVE IS TO (H)OLD

消费者所拥有的许多物品都不再(也不必)变得过时。对于那些已经接受了OWNER-LESS方案的消费者而言,租借或分享所有的物品(从汽车、衣物到电子产品),不断的产品升级和“新”的体验只需要一个预定就可以实现。

此外,由于RECOMMERCE的趋势,即使是那些已经购买了产品的消费者也可以比任何时候都更加容易的释放过去购买物品的价值。新型的品牌回购、交换计划、在线平台和移动交易市场为那些热衷于“以旧换新”的消费者带来了巧妙和方便的选择。

当然,网络上的一切都在不断自动升级和更新(不论是使用者所“拥有”的还是访问到的内容)。

“消费者所拥有的产品不再(也不必)变得过时。”



关于NEWISM的局限(以及不可避免的逆向趋势)


现在,NEWISM已经不“只”是传统产品创新。昔日“新一代、改进”的概念已经被世界范围内真正的创新和创造的爆发所取代。

“新”的概念也并不只是那些让人喘不过气、不环保的、疯狂的产品换代(见驱动因素6)。

写在最后但同样重要的是,这并不意味着所有消费者的注意力都将集中于新产品和新体验。那些质量稳定、值得信赖、坚持原产地生产的传统品牌仍然会有无尽的价值。引人入胜的品牌故事、产品的舒适性、传统性、地方性、针对现有产品的精挑细选、产品定制以及所有我们过去的Trend Briefing中曾经探讨过的元素都能继续产生价值。请记住,没有一个趋势能够在任何时期适用于所有消费者,而“新”也并不总是意味着旧事物的消亡。



影响

NEWISM是创造性破坏、过度竞争、全球化、消费主义和鼓励创新等所有因素共同促成的趋势。对于品牌而言,不论是新的还是既有的,归结下来都是要想方设法获得消费者的关注。虽然消费者的关注可能只能保持很短的时间,但由此带来的回报却可能是即时和丰厚的。而且,除此之外品牌似乎也没有其他的选择;-)

需要更多的想法?我们最近发布的Trend Briefing和来自我们的姊妹网站Springwise的最新信息涵盖了不少的新概念、新产品、新服务以及新的推广形式,您不妨参考借鉴。

在您利用NEWISM趋势的同时,我们也已经开始为发布新的Trend Briefing做好准备;-) 请确保您已经订阅
IMPLICATIONS

July / August Trend Briefing:
NEWISM
Why more than ever, consumers lust after the new. And why that spells heaven or hell for brands.
NEWISM

Definition:

The ‘new’ has never been hotter, as the entire world, from emerging to mature economies, is now creating new products, services and experiences on a daily, if not hourly basis, in every B2C industry. Which moves 'new' from being a tired marketing ploy by ‘old’ brands ('new and improved!'), to a genuine, exciting proposition for consumers.



Here are half a dozen forces propelling NEWISM into even more prominence:



1. CREATIVE > DESTRUCTION

Creative destruction may have an alarming ring to it, but it's something to be celebrated (despite recessions, bank runs and collapsing currencies). With the volume and pace of innovation faster than ever, the 'creation' is outweighing the 'destruction'. In fact the entire world, from emerging* to mature economies, is now creating new products, services and experiences on a daily, if not hourly basis, in every B2C industry. Which moves 'new' from being a tired marketing ploy by ‘old’ brands ('new and improved!'), to a genuine, exciting proposition for consumers.

Show us a day in which a previously unheard of brand, or even individual, doesn't release a new – and better and more convenient and more surprising – offering that promises a novel or improved experience. A global celebration of innovation, of the new, indeed.

* Do re-read our previous Trend Briefing covering MADE BETTER IN CHINA or dive into the never-ending (free!) avalanche of new business ideas and concepts on Springwise (our sister-company).

2 million patents were applied for in 2010, up from 1.4 million in 2000
(Source: World Intellectual Property Organization,
December 2011)

2. FSTR

Everything is getting faster and FSTR ;-). The online world, with its relentless acceleration and amplification – of information, of excitement, of attention – is of course a major contributor to NEWISM.

Witness phenomena such as Instagram (10 million users in under a year) or Draw Something (35 million users in just 6 weeks!). And just to highlight NEWISM’s often-fleeting nature, many Draw Something users have now abandoned the app, no doubt off to seek something new ;-).

Products too: witness Pebble raising over USD 10 million in 37 days on Kickstarter*. Indeed, any new innovation that taps pent-up demand will erupt and spread faster than ever. Taco Bell sold 100 million of its new Doritos Locos Tacos in 10 weeks, making it the chain’s fastest ever product launch.

* Kickstarter is a great enabler of the ‘new’ innovation ecosystem: anyone can now test, fund and launch almost any new idea.

“Excitement and attention are being amplified and accelerated.”

3. EXPERIENCE CRAMMING

The desire to tell interesting STATUS STORIES is further fuelling consumers’ never-ending lust for new experiences, especially acute in a world where so much of identity is expressed online.

Any experience that few others can or have had is a sure-fire status symbol. However, with more people than ever searching for ‘unique’ experiences, they are becoming harder-to-find and thus often expensive. The (cheaper, more practical) alternative therefore is for status-hungry consumers to resort to EXPERIENCE CRAMMING: collecting and mixing-and-matching as many, and as wide a variety, of new experiences as possible.

“Consumers want to collect and mix-and-match as many new and varied experiences as possible.”

Image: Diesel's 'School of Island Life'



4. STATUS STREAM

On top of collecting experiences, in a world where everything is transient keeping one's finger firmly on the pulse of the endless global torrent of new products and services (see driver 1), showing one's connectedness and being in the know, will be an ever-richer source of social status (especially for SOCIAL-LITE consumers). Yes, 'new' is the new prestige ;-)

In fact, supporting consumers in their pursuit of the newest of the new, or to be first in finding, knowing, doing or owning something is an opportunity in itself. Just one innovative example: in April 2012 Nike launched a number of highly collectible limited edition sneakers using a Twitter reservation system. Stores would randomly tweet specific product hashtags during the day of release, and the first followers to include this in a direct message to the store would reserve a pair of the sneakers.

“Social status will come from being in-the-know, and from being part of the 'new'.”





If you like our Trend Briefings, you’ll love our 2014 Premium Service

Your complete trend and innovation solution.


5. TRYSUMERS

The innovation-spurring eco-system described above is also totally transparent, with everything now reviewed and rated the moment it’s created, meaning the risk for consumers of trying out something new is approaching zilch.

Furthermore, new business models (from LIFE: SUBSCRIBED and TRYVERTISING, to OWNER-LESS and RECOMMERCE described below) are enabling consumers to experience the ‘new’ with less commitment, and at lower cost.

“The risk of trying out something new is approaching zilch.”



6. TO HAVE IS TO (H)OLD

Many possessions don’t (need to) get old anymore. For consumers who’ve embraced OWNER-LESS solutions, renting or sharing everything (from cars to clothes to electronics), perpetual upgrades and ‘new’ experiences are but a booking away.

And, thanks to the RECOMMERCE trend, even for those consumers who have bought items, it’s never been easier to unlock the value in past purchases. Novel brand buy-backs, exchange schemes, online platforms and mobile marketplaces, offer smart and convenient options for consumers keen to ‘trade in to trade up’ to the new.

Oh, and online, everything is of course endlessly if not automatically renewed and refreshed (whether ‘owned’ or just accessed).

“Possessions don't (need to) get old anymore.”



What NEWISM is NOT (and the inevitable counter-trend)


Now, NEWISM is not ‘just’ traditional product innovation. The 'new and improved' from yesteryear has been surpassed by a genuinely innovative and creative explosion, taking place worldwide.

It is also not just breathless, eco-unfriendly, product-replacing madness (see also driver 6): in fact, there's an absolute avalanche of new eco-friendly products and services out there as well.

Last but not least, it does not mean all consumer attention will be focused on the new. There will still be endless value in heritage brands, known to deliver constant, trusted quality and provenance. There will be value in well-told, compelling stories. In comfort. In tradition. In the local. In curation of existing products. In tailoring. In any of the dimensions that we’ve looked at in previous Trend Briefings. Remember, no trend applies to all consumers, all of the time, and the ‘new’ doesn’t always kill the old.



IMPLICATIONS

NEWISM is creative destruction, hyper-competition, globalism, consumerism on steroids and a celebration of innovation, all in one. For brands, new and established, it boils down to capturing and holding consumers’ attention. While consumers' attention spans might be shorter and shorter, the rewards can be instant and massive. And it's not like you have any choice anyway ;-)

Need (even more) ideas? Kick off a brainstorming session with a few of our recent Trend Briefings or spottings from our sister-site Springwise and see what new concepts, products, services and campaigns emerge that you can run with.

Meanwhile, while you embrace NEWISM, we’re already working on our NEW Trend Briefing ;-) Make sure you’re subscribed! trendwatching.com logo
IMPLICATIONS

Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU