2011年10月 | 精明的消费者开始更加充分的利用自己的财物,不论是已经拥有的还是将要拥有的。对于那些希望为未来快速发展做好准备的人而言,这是一个发人深思的现象。

RECOMMERCE

为什么对于精明的消费者而言,“交换”成为了新的购买方式。

现在的消费领域已经逐渐超越了品牌生产消费者购买的“老式”消费模式,与此相关的各种例子在我们以前的Trend Briefings(趋势简报)如GENERATION C(ASH)C(ONTENT)SELLSUMERS 以及 OWNER-LESS 中常常被提及。

在这里,我们要提到另一个新的发展是关于消费者如何最大程度的利用自己的已有资产和所有物:

RECOMMERCE | 消费者可以更容易地重新获得已购买物品的价值*。新型的品牌回购、交换的方式、网络平台和移动交易平台给那些希望“以旧换新”的消费者带来了更多巧妙和方便的选择,帮助他们减轻经济压力(比如双底衰退的影响)、缓和环境问题和对社会道德的考虑。

事实上,RECOMMERCE甚至越来越多的影响到了消费者最初的购买决定。正如购买汽车或住房那样,消费者在计算购买成本的时候开始更多的考虑商品的转售价值。

让我们来看看RECOMMERCE现象背后的三大要素:

  1. NEXTISM: 消费者永远渴望 “下一代”产品和服务所承诺的令人兴奋的新体验。
  2. STATUSPHERE: 精明购物和环保购物有利于帮助消费者建立自身的社会地位。
  3. EXCUSUMPTION:缺乏现金的消费者乐于接受创造性的解决方案。

*者一直以来都习惯于售大件的耐用商品,如汽和房屋。但在几乎所有的西都可以售,无论是品、衣服还是经验。请看以下详情。

1. NEXTISM

现在的EXPECTATION ECONOMY(期望经济)创造了一群要求苛刻的消费者,他们在每次购买时都期待“最好中的最好”,他们追求当下、渴望获得尽可能多的体验。

这也解释了新的产品、货物和服务为什么具有诱惑力:改进的功能、更高的质量或更新的设计带来新的或更棒的体验,从而带来更好或更有趣的生活。

2. STATUSPHERE

我们早就说过,对于社会地位的追求是很多消费趋势的核心所在。而STATUSPHERE的趋势表明地位的象征变得越来越多元化,这意味着除了拥有的最大、最快的最闪耀的物件,掌握的技能、慷慨、人际关系或是环保的立场也是新的地位象征。

事实上,越来越多的消费者开始推崇精明的消费方式而非炫耀性消费。

请注意,这里要讲的并不是反消费(反消费仍然与绝大多数消费者的行为背道而驰),而是经过深思熟虑的消费方式:消费者巧妙的利用旧物或是闲置物品换取现金和折扣;在丢弃物品的时候抱有更加负责的态度*。

 *我们看到的很多具有创新性的资源再利用项目将在今后的Trend Briefing ECO-CYCOLOGY中发布!

3. EXCUSUMPTION

在“西方”经济持续不稳定的情况下,越来越多的消费者不得不设法节约。尽管如此,消费者仍然渴望新的体验。这使得销售、交易或是交换旧物和闲置物品成为了聪明的、新的、不带来内疚感的购买借口。成熟经济体中的(大多数)消费者在很长的一段时间里都是过度消费,因此也不会存在闲置物品短缺的问题。

不论是否是受到经济衰退的影响,一些精明的消费者在意识到RECOMMERCE所能带来的好处后开始积极的提升自己的消费档次,在当下购买甚至是“投资”质量好的优质品牌商品,因为他们知道这些商品在将来可以很容易的出售或是转卖。


2012 Premium Service

例子

接下来,让我们看看RECOMMERCE的三个主要表现:品牌主导的以旧换新、在线平台、移动交易平台。

TRADE IN TO TRADE UP

以旧换新

与以往相比,消费者开始意识到旧物也有价值,但是由于loss aversion(损失规避心理:相同的一样东西,人们失去它所经历的痛苦要大于得到它所带来的快乐)、endowment effect(禀赋效应:同样一件商品,一旦人们拥有这件商品,相对于还未拥有这件商品的人而言,会对此商品估计一个更高的价格)以及销售的不便,消费者经常不愿意转售闲置的物品。

然而品牌主导的TRADE IN TO TRADE UP方案克服了许多类似的障碍:消费者可以方便快捷地释放出旧物的价值,同时立即获得改进后的新一代产品。

在时装和消费电子等快速换代的行业,产品的生命周期越来越短。以旧换新能够帮助消费者减少拥有最新产品所带来的过高成本并且确保过时产品被有效的回收再利用。

一些相关的例子:Gazelle是一家美国的电子产品回收网站,在史蒂夫乔布斯宣布iPad2发布后的一个小时内,该网站收购了近2000台上一代的iPad。而2011年7月的调查发现,有35%的人计划购买iPhone5,尽管还没有人知道它长什么样子!

事实上,几乎所有电子产品的品牌都提供以旧换新的计划,这一现象也开始逐渐蔓延到实体零售商:

  • 2011年8月至10月,Hewlett-Packard(惠普)在巴西给用旧打印机抵价购买新打印机的消费者提供高达200巴西里尔的优惠。
  • 为了庆祝GT5赛车游戏的推出,澳大利亚的电子游戏零售商EB Games宣布,他们将以50澳分一辆的价格收购顾客的旧玩具车,最高限额10澳元。零售商之后会将回购的玩具汽车捐赠给当地慈善机构。

购买时装的消费者同样也乐于接受以旧换新的活动:

  • 法国品牌A.P.C.推出了Butler Worn-Out系列牛仔裤,在该活动中客户可以用一条旧的牛仔裤获取半价购买新牛仔裤的优惠。收集起来的旧牛仔裤将被修复、标记以原来主人的姓名缩写并再次出售。该活动的名称来源于19世纪英国贵族的习惯,他们通常让自己的仆人将新衣服穿一段时间以使其柔软。
  • 西班牙时装零售商Mango在2011年5月推出了Mango for Mango计划。持有商店会员卡的消费者可以在购买后的12个月内退回购买的时装以获得购买新商品时20%的折扣。
  • 新加坡Levi's(里维斯)的客户可以用旧牛仔裤换取100新元的折扣:价值50新元的购买折扣以及价值50新元的抵用券。
  • 一个标志性的例子:2011年5月,香港二手奢侈品零售商Milan Station(米兰站)首次公开招股就获得了超过2,000倍的超额认购(来自WSJ(华尔街日报))。

品牌与慈善机构的合作能够确保捐赠的衣物能够被适当的再利用,同时也体现了品牌的 EMBEDDED GENEROSITY(嵌入式慷慨):

  • 英国百货公司Marks and Spencer(马莎)与Oxfam(乐施会)合作,于2011年9月举办了为期一天的活动。客户每捐赠一件衣服就可以获得价值5英镑的优惠券,该优惠券在消费满35英镑时即可使用。活动结束后,客户仍然可以通过向乐施会捐赠马莎品牌的衣服而获得优惠券。
  • 2011年5月,美国和加拿大的GAP分店举办了为期10天的活动,活动中收集的旧衣物捐赠给了慈善机构Goodwill。为了鼓励捐赠,GAP为捐赠的消费者提供高达30%的消费折扣。鞋类品牌Puma(彪马)在2010年6月至7月间也曾举办过一个类似的活动Soles4Souls。并且在一些指定的商店里,捐赠者可以赢得更多的奖品。
  • 在菲律宾,Adidas’ (阿迪达斯)于2010年10月发起了Refresh Your Gear活动。捐出旧鞋的消费者可以获得最高1,000菲律宾比索的消费折扣。收集的旧鞋之后被捐赠给慈善机构HOPE Worldwide。
  • 同样也是在菲律宾,百货商场SM在2011年8月推出了Surrender Your Jeans。该活动给捐赠牛仔裤的消费者提供相应的购物优惠券。
  • Totto是智利的一家背包零售商,他们在发布2011年新款产品的同时发起了一场促销,活动中消费者可以用旧的背包换取4,000智利比素的消费折扣。Totto之后向一家青年慈善教育机构捐赠了回收的背包以及和回收数量相当的新背包。

当然,TRADE IN TO TRADE UP同样适用于任何高价值、长寿命的产品:

  • 经营体育服装和器材的商店Decathlon(迪卡龙)将于2011年10月推出Trocathlon活动。消费者可以用二手体育器材换取有效期半年的优惠券。
  • Callaway(卡拉威),全球知名的高尔夫球具制造商推出的Trade In! Trade Up!计划回购消费者手中的二手球杆,该活动同时也回收其他品牌的二手高尔夫球杆。
  • 在Toys"R"Us(玩具“反”斗城)2011年8月至9月期间推广的Great Trade-In活动中,家长可以用旧的婴儿用品换取25%的购买折扣。开展活动的起因是新的婴儿安全床标准发布,活动的目的在于避免家长将旧的婴儿床连同潜在的不安全因素一起传承下去。
  • 2011年5月,在摩托车头盔制造商AGV推出的活动中,车手可以用旧的安全头盔换取20%的购物折扣。品牌表示该计划强调了安全的重要性,并且允许车手以任何品牌的旧头盔或损坏的头盔换取购物折扣。
  • 美国的Guitar Center(吉他中心)给用旧乐器折价购买新乐器的消费者提供10%的购物折扣,最高可达500美元。

当然,我们还看到了不少专门的RECOMMERCE实体商店零售概念,而且其中的许多概念已经存在好几年了:

事实上,几乎所有的东西都可以以旧换新:

  • 2011年8月,Mission: Comics & Art在旧金山推出了漫画书出租服务。读者既可以用现金支付租金,也可以用旧的漫画书换取出租积点。这个例子将RECOMMERCE与之前谈到的趋势OWNER-LESS(无主化)结合在了一起。

插画作者:Rio Safari

  • 2011年1月,波特兰Microcosm Publishing书店的顾客可以用旧的Kindle电子阅读器换取等值的商店购物卡。

在谈到本期Trend Briefing的时候,还有两个有关汽车的RECOMMERCE创新案例是我们不得不提及的:

  • 在西班牙的穆尔西亚,于2011年6月之前注册活动的公民可以用自己的旧车折换终身有效的公共有轨交通通行证。
  • 2011年5月,Hyundai(现代汽车)推出了名为Assurance Trade-In Value Guarantee的计划,该计划向顾客保障汽车4年内的转售价值,但是该活动只针对经由Hyundai(现代)经销商获取汽车服务的用户。
2012 Premium Service

CASHING IN

变现

eBay,Amazon 以及 Craigslist等网站已经连续多年在传统的RECOMMERCE模式中占据主导地位,而点对点的在线交易市场也在不断创新以吸引新的用户:

  • 在线时尚品牌ASOS于2010年11月推出Marketplace,让来自世界各地的时尚达人在该网站销售自己的衣服。该网站鼓励卖家拍摄并发布出售服饰的“街拍风格”照片。
  • 法国网站Instant Luxe出售二手高档名牌商品。然而,与其它直接连接买家和卖家的网站所不同的是,该网站要求卖家发送物品给网站的管理员,由他们对货品进行评估和验证。
  • Vestiaire de Copines是另外一家提供类似服务的法国网站。用户可以关注那些常常销售自己喜爱风格的服装的卖家,并通过网站就所售商品向他们提问。
  • 作为Common Threads Initiative活动的一部分,美国户外用品品牌Patagonia与eBay合作,在2011年9月推出了一个正式的二手货交易市场,消费者可以在这里买卖二手户外用品。
  • 父母常常转售或是转赠小孩子不再使用的衣服或是物品,因此儿童衣物和用品自然而然的成为了RECOMMERCE的热门对象,就像RecribStorkBrokers向我们展示的那样。
  • 2010年8月,IKEA(宜家)瑞典公司开始在网上销售二手家具,如果试点项目成功,他们还计划将这个项目推广到其他市场。在这个项目中宜家的会员可以免费登记购买二手商品。
  • Gazelle for Good是一个由电器回收公司Gazelle发起的活动,该活动的支持者向该公司捐出自己的旧电子产品以帮助慈善机构筹集资金。

RECOMMERCE的商业机会不仅仅限于实体商品:服务同样可以被转售。相关案例分析:在每天的交易中,有超过20%的优惠从来没有被使用过(来源:Rice University,2011年6月),一些聪明的新公司已经开始帮助消费者转售他们的优惠券。

  • 美国的DealsGoRound使用户可以转售和购买Groupon、LivingSocial、和BuyWithMe的交易券。该网站在2011年3月还推出了一个iPhone应用,用户在移动过程中也可以进行交易。

MOBILE MARKETPLACES

移动交易平台

网上平台一直以来都在RECOMMERCE中扮演着重要的角色,而移动交易平台则给那些追求方便的消费者带来了快速、自由性和即时满足感。通过移动交易进行购买和销售符合消费者活跃的生活方式。同时,超本地化市场避免了邮资的问题,使买家和卖家可以很容易的会面。

  • eBay的Instant Sale移动应用程序允许用户将旧的电子产品出售给品牌商。2011年8月发布的iOS版本能够自动检测到电子产品的情况并生成一个价格。自2010年10月推出以来,该网站已经出价近430万次。
  • 2011年8月发布的Amazon Student使学生能够通过扫描自己的书籍、DVD、或游戏的条形码获得转售的价格。如果用户接受该价格,系统会自动生成运输单,而转售的金额则会以亚马逊购物卡的方式发放。
  • 2011年6月推出的Taap.it使美国的消费者可以通过该程序看到自己周围的交易广告,联系本地的其它用户进行二手商品的买卖。
  • StubHub是一个二手票务交易市场, 2011年8月该市场的应用程序中增加了移动票务功能,这意味着用户不再需要提前用打印机打印门票,可以在活动或演出的现场转售或是购买门票。
  • 瑞士开发商Boom Mobile在2011年7月推出的WatchMarket是一个名贵二手手表交易的应用程序。

启示与机遇

图片由Patekwatch.blogspot.com友情提供

RECOMMERCE将会是一个彻底改造企业的“新兴”大趋势吗? 我们认为不是的。但关于如何将本期的Trend Briefing转换为企业以后的商机(当然也包括即将到来的节假日商机),想必机灵的读者已经有了不少的点子。通过帮助人们意识到旧物的价值不仅能使品牌受到消费者的感激(RECOMMERCE能够使消费者感觉良好,同时也符合消费者对于“人性化”品牌的追求),还能带来销售和利润。我们认为这对于所有的商业人士而言都是求之不得的机会。

RECOMMERCE同时也给那些希望避免进入价格战的品牌提供了更多的机会,推广产品的长期价值将使消费者愿意支付更高的价格。这也是奢侈品牌早就了解到的一点,正如上图Patek Philippe(百达翡丽)的广告语:一个来自1949年的约会!

真正的企业家当然已经开始着手准备他们自己的RECOMMERCE服务(包含从认证、估值到平台服务的各个环节),以便于进一步扩大已经快速增长的RECOMMERCE生态系统。

下一步?我们的下一份免费Trend Briefing将于11月送到您的收件箱,请确保您已经订阅。在这之前,祝您好运!

English not your preferred language? Read this Trend Briefing in:
Français   中文   Nederlands   Türkçe  
Español   Português   Deutsch   한국어


October 2011 | Savvy consumers have never had more opportunities to make the most of their past and future possessions. Food for thought as you gear up for the busy times ahead.

RECOMMERCE

Looking at the myriad ways in which the consumer arena has moved beyond the ‘old’ model of consumption (brands produce, consumers buy), has been a regular feature in past Trend Briefings from GENERATION C(ASH) and C(ONTENT), to SELLSUMERS and OWNER-LESS.

Now, here’s yet another twist on consumers making the most of their assets and possessions:

RECOMMERCE | It’s never been easier for consumers to unlock the value in past purchases*. Novel brand buy-backs, exchange schemes, online platforms and mobile marketplaces offer smart and convenient options for consumers keen to ‘trade in to trade up’, alleviate financial strains (double dips, anyone?), and/or quell environmental and ethical concerns.

Indeed, RECOMMERCE is now increasingly affecting even consumers’ initial purchase decisions. Just as they do when buying a car or a home, consumers are factoring an item's resale value into the cost of ownership for an ever-wider range of purchases.

Check out three drivers behind the RECOMMERCE phenomenon:

  1. NEXTISM: Consumers will forever crave the new and exciting experiences promised by the ‘next’.
  2. STATUSPHERE: The growing status boost that comes from being savvy and shopping (environmentally) responsibly.
  3. EXCUSUMPTION: Cash-strapped consumers embracing creative solutions. 

* Consumers have always resold large, durable goods like cars and houses. But now almost anything is ripe for resale, from electronics to clothes, and even experiences. More on that below.

1. NEXTISM

Today’s EXPECTATION ECONOMY has created a consumer class that expect the ‘best of the best’ in every purchase, and these same demanding consumers are also increasingly driven by the here-and-now and a lust to collect as many experiences as possible.

All of which explains the lure of new products, goods and services: improved features, higher quality or updated design promise a novel or enhanced experience, and therefore ultimately a better or more interesting life.

2. STATUSPHERE

We've long said the search for social status is at the heart of all consumer trends. But the diversification of the STATUSPHERE means that many consumers derive status from more than just ownership of the biggest, fastest or shiniest objects, with ‘new’ status being defined by: acquired skills, generosity, connectedness or eco-credentials.

In fact, growing numbers of consumers get their status fix from being shrewd and savvy, rather than through conspicuous consumption.

Please note however, that this isn’t about complete unconsumption (which will remain alien to the vast majority of consumers), but about a more considered consumerism; where it’s smart to get cash or discounts for old or (un)used items, or to dispose of things responsibly*.

 * There are of course a whole host of innovative recycling schemes, but more on them in our upcoming Trend Briefing on ECO-CYCOLOGY!

3. EXCUSUMPTION

The continued economic instability in the ‘West’, means more and more consumers make do with less and less. Despite this, consumers remain hungry for new experiences, which makes selling, trading, or exchanging old/unused items a perfect excuse for a smart, new, guilt-free purchase. And with (most) consumers in mature economies having had a lifetime of hyperconsumption, there is no shortage of under-used previous purchases.

Then there are also savvy RECOMMERCE-aware consumers (whether hit by the recession or not), who are actively upgrading their consumption: encouraged to purchase or even 'invest' in higher quality or premium brands now, knowing that they can be easily and lucratively (re)sold anyway.

EXAMPLES

So, time to look at three key RECOMMERCE manifestations: brand-led trade-in initiatives, online platforms and mobile marketplaces.

TRADE IN TO TRADE UP

Consumers are more aware than ever that their old products have value, yet loss aversion, the endowment effect (overvaluing one’s own possessions), and the inconvenience of selling mean that consumers are frequently reluctant to sell even seldom-used items.

Which is why brand-led TRADE IN TO TRADE UP initiatives overcome many of these barriers: consumers can quickly and conveniently unlock the value in their old products, while instantly laying their hands on new, improved versions.

Shoppers in fast-moving sectors such as fashion and consumer electronics welcome trade-in programs, as they help offset the prohibitive expense of staying up-to-date with always-desirable new products with ever-shorter life spans, and often ensure that outdated items get reused or recycled.

Just a couple of signs of the times: Gazelle, a US-based electronics trade-in site, bought 2,000 iPads in the hour after Steve Jobs announced the iPad 2. While in July 2011 an Experian survey found that 35% of people were planning to buy an iPhone 5, despite having not even seen it!  

 

Indeed, almost all electronics brands offer trade-in schemes, and this is increasingly spreading to bricks and mortar retailers too:

  • Between August and October 2011, Hewlett-Packard in Brazil offered consumers discounts of up to BRL 200 for customers trading in used printers.
  • To celebrate the launch of Gran Turismo 5, Australian videogame retailer EB Games announced they would give customers 50 cents for each toy car brought in, up to a maximum of AUD 10. The retailer then donated the cars to a local charity.

Fashion consumers and brands are also embracing TRADE IN TO TRADE UP programs:

  • French label A.P.C. launched the Butler Worn-Out series, where customers who brought in used jeans could trade them for a new pair at half price. The used jeans were repaired, stitched with the initials of the previous owner and resold. The range is so-called because 19th century English aristocrats would have their butlers wear their clothes first, to break them in.
  • Spanish fashion retailer Mango launched Mango for Mango in May 2011. Consumers who sign up for the store’s loyalty card, can return items within 12 months of purchase for a 20% discount on new purchases.
  • Levi's Singapore offered customers SGD 100 when they brought in their old jeans and bought a new pair: a SGD 50 discount and a further SGD 50 in vouchers.
  • A sign of the times: May 2011 saw the IPO for Milan Station, the Hong Kong second-hand luxury retailer, more than 2,000 times oversubscribed (via WSJ).

Charity partnerships ensure that donated clothes are appropriately reused, while also displaying some EMBEDDED GENEROSITY:

  • Marks and Spencer, the UK department store, partnered with Oxfam to host a one day event in September 2011. Customers were given a GBP 5 voucher for every donation of used M&S clothing, redeemable when spending more than GBP 35 in store. After the event, customers could still receive vouchers when donating M&S clothes at Oxfam stores.
  • For 10 days during May 2011, GAP stores in the US and Canada collected clothes for donation to Goodwill. To encourage donations, people who brought in old clothes got vouchers entitling them to 30% off GAP purchases. Shoe brand Puma ran a similar initiative with Soles4Souls from June to July 2010. And at selected stores, donors could win additional prizes.
  • In the Philippines, Adidas’ Refresh Your Gear campaign ran during October 2010. Customers could get up to PHP 1,000 off a new pair of shoes after trading in their old ones. Traded-in shoes were donated to HOPE Worldwide.
  • Also in the Philippines, leading department store SM launched Surrender Your Jeans in August 2011, offering consumers discount vouchers in return for donated jeans.
  • Totto, a Colombian backpack retailer, launched their 2011 range in Chile with a promotion offering customers a CLP 4,000 discount when they traded in their old bags. Totto matched the donated bags and gave them to charity.

Never miss a Trend Briefing again

 

And of course, TRADE IN TO TRADE UP is perfectly suited to any industries with high-value, long-lasting products:

  • Decathlon, the French sports apparel and equipment store, is launching Trocathlon for a week in October 2011. Stores will buy used equipment in return for coupons valid for six months.
  • Callaway, the golf equipment manufacturer’s Trade In! Trade Up! program accepts used clubs, included those from other brands.
  • Toys"R"Us held a Great Trade-In event in August and September 2011. Parents could bring in old baby equipment and receive a 25% discount on new purchases. The event was triggered in part by new crib safety standards, and aimed to avoid parents handing down potentially unsafe items.
  • In May 2011, motorcycle helmet manufacturer AGV launched a program where riders could trade in an old helmet for a 20% discount. The brand said that the program was an opportunity to emphasize the importance of safety, and that riders could bring in old or damaged helmets from any brand.
  • US-based Guitar Center offer a 10% discount of up to USD 500 for customers bringing in used instruments.

There are, of course, a number of specialist RECOMMERCE bricks and mortar retail concepts, many of which have been around for years:

Indeed, almost anything be traded in:

  • RECOMMERCE met OWNER-LESS when Mission: Comics & Art in San Francisco, launched a graphic novel rental library in August 2011. Readers could either pay for their rentals in cash, or trade-in their old novels for rental points.

Illustration by Rio Safari

  • Since January 2011, Portland’s Microcosm Publishing bookstore has offered customers store credit equal to the full retail value of any Kindle they bring in.

And of course, we couldn’t let this Trend Briefing pass without looking at least two recent innovations in auto RECOMMERCE:

  • Citizens of Murcia in Spain who signed up before June 2011 were given lifetime passes for its tram system in exchange for turning over their cars.
  • In May 2011, Hyundai rolled out an Assurance Trade-In Value Guarantee scheme, guaranteeing the trade-in value of the vehicle for up to four years; although the program was limited to customers who had had their cars serviced at a Hyundai dealership.

CASHING IN

Of course eBay, Amazon and Craigslist have dominated traditional RECOMMERCE for years, yet online P2P marketplaces continue to innovate and attract new audiences:

  • Online fashion brand ASOS launched Marketplace in November 2010, allowing fashionistas from around the world to sell their clothes. The site encourages users to photograph their item's ‘street style’.
  • French site Instant Luxe sells pre-owned luxury designer goods. However, rather than connecting buyers and sellers directly, the site requires sellers to send items to their moderators, who appraise and authenticate them.
  • Vestiaire de Copines, another French site, offers a similar service. Users can follow people who regularly sell clothes they like, and ask them questions about items via the site.
  • As part of their Common Threads Initiative, Patagonia the US outdoor gear brand, partnered with eBay in September 2011 to launch an official marketplace where customers can buy and sell used goods.
  • Children’s clothes and goods are a natural RECOMMERCE winner, as Recrib and StorkBrokers show.
  • IKEA started selling second-hand furniture online in Sweden in August 2010, with plans to roll out to other markets if successful. IKEA Family members can list and buy items for free.
  • Gazelle for Good is an initiative from gadget recycler Gazelle that helps non-profits raise funds, by asking supporters to donate their old electronics.

RECOMMERCE opportunities aren't restricted to physical goods: services are game too. Case in point: the daily deal phenomenon. As over 20% of offers are never redeemed (Source: Rice University, June 2011), smart start-ups are already enabling consumers to resell their coupons.

  • US-based DealsGoRound allows users to resell and buy past Groupon, LivingSocial, and BuyWithMe deals. The site also launched an iPhone app during March 2011, to enable users to trade on the go.

MOBILE MARKETPLACES

While online platforms will forever have a place in the RECOMMERCE landscape, convenience-loving consumers will embrace the speed, spontaneity and instant gratification of mobile marketplaces. Buying and selling via mobile fits in with consumers’ active lifestyles. Whilst hyperlocal marketplaces remove the hassle of postage, as buyers and sellers can easily meet up.

  • eBay’s Instant Sale mobile app allows users to sell old gadgets back to the company. The iOS version released in August 2011, automatically detects the device and generates a price. The site has had more than 4.3 million offers since launching the initiative in October 2010.  
  • Amazon Student released in August 2011, enables students to scan the barcodes of books, DVDs, games or electronics they own, and see the trade-in price. If accepted, a shipping label is generated, and the funds awarded as an Amazon gift card.
  • Launched in June 2011, Taap.it is an app available in the US which shows users classified ads around their location, connecting local users looking to buy or sell items.
  • StubHub, the secondary ticket marketplace, added mobile ticket functionality to their app in August 2011, meaning that users can resell and buy tickets right at the event, even without access to a printer.
  • Swiss based developer Boom Mobile launched WatchMarket in July 2011, a luxury watch trading app.

IMPLICATIONS & OPPORTUNITIES

Courtesy via Patekwatch.blogspot.com

Is RECOMMERCE a ‘new’ mega trend that’s going to transform your business completely? No. But on-the-ball readers will already be brimming with ideas about how they can apply the insights in this Trend Briefing to their businesses tomorrow (and certainly in the run up to the holiday season). By helping people realize the value in past purchases in such a way that is not only gratefully appreciated (there's a big feel-good factor to RECOMMERCE that fits well with the call for more 'human' brands), but also generates sales and profits. Which, we imagine, should be music to all business people’s ears right now.

And RECOMMERCE also offers opportunities for brands that want to escape the race to the bottom, where promoting items' long-term value will help consumers stomach paying higher prices. Something that luxury brands have long understood, witness the Patek Philippe advert above, which dates from 1949(!).

Oh, and true entrepreneurs will of course already be setting up their very own RECOMMERCE service (everything from authentication to valuation to platform services), further expanding the already fast growing RECOMMERCE eco-system.

Next? Our next free Trend Briefing will hit your inbox on 31 October, so make sure you’re subscribed. Until then, good luck and enjoy!