2013年7月/8月Trend Briefing:
趋势刷新
还记得这五个趋势吗?他们将继续为您带来创新机遇。
TRENDS REFRESHED

包括我们在内的趋势观察者们总是热衷于发现新的趋势,而一些读者常常想要知道那些过去发布的趋势发生了怎样的变化,当然这也是我们一直以来认真追踪的内容。因此在这个月的简报中,我们将回顾五个过去发布的趋势(其中的一个早在2009年就已经发布! ),探讨这些趋势的发展及现状,针对那些仍然需要NEWISM的读者,我们还将讨论由这些趋势持续带来的未来创新机遇;)

*几个用于回顾的趋势均是随机选取,实际上我们几乎可以选择所有过去发布的趋势(或许只有JINGLE CASTING(手机铃声植入)不在选择范围之内;-)。因为强大的趋势植根于消费者的需求和欲望, 即使被吸收到主流消费趋势中也不会轻易的消失或失效。这些趋势继续进化,发展出次生趋势或是与其他趋势融合形成混合趋势……

1. SELLSUMERS

还会有不愿意赚取外快的消费者存在吗?

详细内容 »

2. MATURIALISM

粗旷、透明、成熟的消费环境迫使品牌成长或是放弃。

详细内容 »

3. POINT & KNOW

准备好迎接POST-POINT & KNOW(后指向即知时代)的未来。

详细内容 »

4. ECO-SUPERIOR

环保不止步于“碳中和”。

详细内容 »

5. MADE FOR BRIC

现在让我们开始为金钻11国忙碌起来。

详细内容 »

1. SELLSUMERS

还会有不愿意赚取外快的消费者存在吗?

我们在2009年对这一趋势的定义是:

SELLSUMERS(销售型消费者):
“现在的消费领域(特别是网络世界!)充斥着各种各样毫无保留、主观武断、未经修饰的内容,充分接触过甚至是参与创造过这些内容的有经验的消费者已经不满足于被当成过去那些轻易就被震惊、缺乏经验的、中庸的受众来对待。他们能够接受更为坦诚的对话、更大胆的创新、更离奇的口味、更露骨的体验,这些消费者越来越希望品牌能够挑战自身的界限。”

现状

这一趋势现在已经成为了完全和绝对的主流趋势, 从房屋到汽车到食品再到其他领域,一系列的平台涵盖了日益增长的SELLSUMER经济的方方面面。自2009年起,社交和移动的爆发使得商品、时间和专业知识的(二次)销售变的极其简单并且比以往任何时候都要便利、透明和可靠。

未来

SELLSUMER趋势实际上预示了消费领域里更大的转变。当消费者个体变成了微型的企业(或者至少是更加频繁的与其他SELLSUMERS进行交易),他们将期望“传统的”企业和品牌也能变的不同,从而使企业和消费者之间的互动能在平等的基础上更加真实、大方、“人性化”。


例子

Airbnb:2012年上线房屋数量翻倍

成立于2009年的Airbnb 近日宣布,2012年期间该网站上提供的房间数量从12万增长到了30万。同年有300万旅行者使用该网站找到了旅游地的住宿(相比之下从网站开通到2012年期间总计的使用人数为100万)。该公司在全球11个地点开设了办事处,包括新加坡、新德里和圣保罗。

RelayRides:“社交化租车”使用户可以租借Facebook好友的车

图片来自Mashable

2013年4月,点对点的汽车租赁服务RelayRides 增加了“社交租车”功能。用户可以向他们的Facebook朋友发出租赁需求,而有车的好友可以看到这一需求并通过该服务将车辆出租。该功能旨在减少与陌生的第三方进行交易的概率。

Thuisafgehaald:荷兰的网站使厨师可以销售家庭制作的膳食

2012年3月推出的网站Thuisafgehaald是一个将本地厨师和渴望美食的食客联系在一起的平台。注册用户可以在该平台上对所销售的膳食给出详细说明,包括设定的价格(也可以是免费提供)、就餐时间、就餐人数限制以及照片等。在荷兰有超过5,500名厨师在这个网站上进行了注册,网站用户已经扩展到了9个国家,包括美国、英国、德国和瑞士。

Sold.:省去所有麻烦的SELLSUMER服务

2013年4月发布的网络销售服务Sold. 为高要求的SELLSUMERS提供了无缝式的体验。用户可以使用移动应用程序拍摄想要销售的物品的照片,该服务的“智能价格分析” *功能将根据照片自动为物品设定价格并找到购买者。一旦交易达成,服务提供商将寄给销售者一个预付费、贴好标签、预付保险、可追踪且附带泡沫填充物的箱子,销售者只需将物品装入箱子并放到指定的投递点或是联系服务人员前来提取。

*这一点似乎与POINT & KNOW能产生交集?;)


2. MATURIALISM

粗旷、透明、成熟的消费环境迫使品牌成长或是放弃。

在2010年,我们对MATURIALISM作出了如下描述:

MATURIALISM(成熟主义):
“现在的消费领域(特别是网络世界!)充斥着各种各样毫无保留、主观武断、未经修饰内容,充分接触过甚至是参与创造过这些内容的有经验的消费者已经不满足于被当成过去那些轻易就被震惊、缺乏经验的、中庸的受众来对待。他们能够接受更为坦诚的对话、更大胆的创新、更离奇的口味、更露骨的体验,这些消费者越来越希望品牌能够挑战自身的界限。”

现状

由MATURIALISM趋势所带来的冲击效应正逐步减少,该趋势现在更多的是致力于建立品牌与消费者之间的成熟关系。正如下文中所提到的联合国儿童基金会和Samoa Air的例子,想要应用这一趋势的品牌首先需要是极端诚实、完全透明或是具有FLAWSOME精神的。

未来

想要提升成熟度的品牌应该考虑成为DEMANDING BRANDS(苛刻的品牌)。忘记顾客至上,对于顾客不仅仅只是礼貌的建议,更要采取积极主动的态度, 给予正确的示范,要求客户作出痛苦但却是必须的行动。当然,要记住的是,消费者必然会关心品牌所要求的内容,而这些要求背后的原因对于消费者而言更为重要。因此,在提出要求时务必慎重。


例子

联合国儿童基金会:名为“赞并不能救命”的慈善募捐

2013年4月,瑞典联合国儿童基金会发布了有影响力的“赞并不能救命”慈善募捐活动,使受众意识到社交网络上的“赞”在真实世界里的影响力非常有限,并不能为救命疫苗的普及提供资金支持。

Samoa Air:按重量收取票价的航空公司

2013年4月,Samoa Air发布了“A kilo is a kilo is a kilo”计划。乘客的机票将根据全部的运输重量进行计算(包括乘客自身重量和所携带行李的重量),一些航线的票价为每公斤0.5美元起。

南非器官捐赠基金会:要求消费者签署器官捐赠协议的流动商店

2013年5月,南非器官捐献基金会组织了名为The Exchange的流动商店以鼓励人们进行器官捐赠登记。这个商店陈列着由设计师捐赠的衣物和饰品,但这些商品并不进行销售,只有在消费者与该基金会签订了器官捐赠协议的情况下才可以从商店中带走一件喜欢的单品。

Hachikyo:海鲜餐馆对没有吃完食物的顾客进行罚款

2013年2月,日本的海鲜餐馆Hachikyo规定那些没有吃完三文鱼卵寿司的顾客必须支付相应的“罚款”,而这笔钱将被捐赠给帮助本地渔民的基金会。菜单上注明了这一举措是想让人们认识到获取鱼卵的渔民需要在危险的工作环境下工作才能获得这些食材。

July / August 2013 Trend Briefing:
TRENDS: REFRESHED
Remember these 5 trends? They keep on giving.
TRENDS: REFRESHED

Trend watchers – us included – love to obsess over the new. But regular readers often ask us what’s happened to past trends, and of course that’s something we religiously track too. Which is why this month, we take a look back at five past trends*, including one from 2009 (gasp!): the developments, the status quo, and the many future innovation opportunities they will continue to offer (for those who still need their NEWISM-fix ;)
 

* These are a random selection. We could have picked almost any of our past trends here (except for perhaps ‘JINGLE CASTING’ ;-), because powerful trends – being rooted in deep consumer needs, wants and desires – don’t just disappear, or stop being relevant once they get absorbed into the mainstream. They continue to evolve, they spawn sub-trends, they combine with other trends to form hybrid trends and so on…

1. SELLSUMERS

Will there be any consumers left NOT making some money on the side?

MORE »

2. MATURIALISM

It’s a raw, transparent, mature world out there: time for brands to grow up or give up.

MORE »

3. POINT & KNOW

Get ready for a POST-POINT & KNOW future.

MORE »

4. ECO-SUPERIOR

Why even ‘carbon-neutral’ won’t cut it.

MORE »

5. MADE FOR BRIC

And now let’s get busy with MADE FOR N11.

MORE »

1. SELLSUMERS

Will there be any consumers left NOT making some money on the side?

We defined this trend back in 2009 as:

SELLSUMERS:
“Whether it’s selling their insights to corporations, hawking their creative output to fellow consumers, or renting out unused assets, consumers will increasingly become SELLSUMERS, too. Made possible by the online revolution’s great democratization of demand and supply, and further fueled by a global recession that leaves consumers strapped for cash, the SELLSUMERS phenomenon is yet another manifestation of the mega-trend that is 'consumer participation'.”

NOW

This is now a trend that is totally and utterly mainstream, with a whole host of platforms servicing every aspect of the ever-growing SELLSUMER economy, from apartments to cars to food and beyond. And since 2009, as everything social and mobile has exploded, (re)selling one’s goods or time or expertise, is infinitely easier, more convenient, more transparent, and more reliable than ever before, as the examples below show.

NEXT

With SELLSUMER options now available in almost every sector, expect platforms to combine or integrate their offerings with other, complementary platforms: think being notified of local cars to rent when you book an apartment on Airbnb, or nearby home-cooked meals.
The SELLSUMER trend also heralds a bigger shift in the consumer arena too. As people become (mini) businesses themselves (or at the very least deal with fellow SELLSUMERS more often), they will expect ‘traditional’ businesses and brands to behave differently; for interactions to be more authentic, generous, ‘human’, and on an equal footing.


Examples

Airbnb: Doubles listings in 2012

Back in 2009, Airbnb had just launched. The site recently announced that the number of spaces listed on the site grew from 120,000 to 300,000 during 2012, and in the same year, 3 million guests traveled using the site (compared to the 1 million in the three years from launch to the start of 2012). The company also opened 11 global offices, including Singapore, Delhi and São Paulo.

RelayRides: ‘Renting Social’ enables users to request cars from their Facebook friends

Image via Mashable

In April 2013, peer-to-peer car rental service RelayRides added its ‘Renting Social’ feature. Users can advertise the fact that they want to rent a car to their Facebook friends, who can then make their vehicles available through the marketplace. The process aims to reduce the probability of dealing with unknown third parties.

Thuisafgehaald: Dutch website enables aspiring chefs to sell home-cooked meals

Thuisafgehaald is a platform which connects domestic chefs in the Netherlands to hungry diners. Launched in March 2012, users post details of the meal on offer, set a price (or offer it for free), indicate when it will be served, the number of servings available, as well as a photograph if available. The site has over 5,500 chefs registered in the Netherlands, and has expanded to cover 9 countries, including the US, UK, Germany and Sweden.

Sold.: Hassle-free SELLSUMER service

Launched in April 2013, Sold. aims to make selling online completely seamless for aspiring SELLSUMERS. Users of the mobile app take a photo of the object they wish to sell, and using “smart pricing analytics”*, the service attaches a price tag and finds a buyer. Once a sale has been agreed, sellers are sent a Sold. box, which comes “pre-paid, pre-labeled, pre-insured, tracked, and filled with bubble wrap”. They can then leave it at a designated drop-off spot, or arrange to have it picked up by the Sold. team.

* How’s that for a POINT & KNOW (see below) crossover? ;)


2. MATURIALISM

It’s a raw, transparent, mature world out there: time for brands to grow up or give up.

This is what we said about MATURIALISM back in 2010:

MATURIALISM:
“Thoroughly exposed to (if not participating in) an uncensored, opinionated and raw world (especially online!), experienced consumers no longer tolerate being treated like yesteryear’s easily shocked, inexperienced, middle-of-the-road audiences. Able to handle much more honest conversations, more daring innovations, more quirky flavors, more risqué experiences, these consumers increasingly appreciate brands that push the boundaries.”

NOW

The MATURIALISM trend is now less about shock-value, and more about entering into a mature exchange with consumers, as shown by the UNICEF and Samoa Air examples below. Start by being brutally honest, if not totally transparent (if not FLAWSOME).

NEXT

Brands that want to up their maturity levels should think about becoming DEMANDING BRANDS. Forget putting the customer first, don’t just ask nicely, it’s time to take the pro-active step of demanding customers take painful-but-much-needed actions, with you setting the right example, of course. Remember though, customers have to care about what you demand from them, and more importantly why. So make it matter.


Examples

UNICEF Sweden: ‘Likes don’t save lives’ calls out slactivists

April 2013 saw UNICEF Sweden launch its hard-hitting ‘Likes don’t save lives’ fundraising campaign, designed to spread awareness that social media ‘Likes’ have limited or no real-world impact, and don’t finance the delivery of life-saving vaccines.

Samoa Air: Airline charges passengers by weight

April 2013 saw Samoa Air launch its ‘A kilo is a kilo is a kilo’ scheme. Passengers’ ticket prices are calculated on the total weight they wish to be transported (i.e. the weight of themselves and their luggage), with rates starting from USD 0.50 per kilo on selected flights.

Organ Donor Foundation of South Africa: Pop-up shop requires customers to register as organ donors

During May 2013, the Organ Donor Foundation of South Africa hosted  The Exchange, a pop-up shop to encourage donor registration. The shop was stocked with designer-donated clothing and accessories, but items could not be purchased with cash or credit cards. Instead, only once consumers had signed up to the Foundation’s organ donor program, were they allowed to choose one item from the shop.

Hachikyo: Seafood restaurant fines diners for not finishing their meal

February 2013 saw the Hachikyo seafood restaurant in Japan introduce a scheme where diners not finishing their tsukko meshi (rice and salmon roe) dish, must pay a ‘fine’ and donate to a fund for local fishermen. The menu explains that the donation is designed to highlight the dangerous working conditions for the fishermen who harvest the roe.