2013年5月/6月Trend Briefing:
PRETAIL
为什么消费者现在喜欢购买概念阶段的产品和服务。
PRETAIL

在我们之前的Trend Briefing PRESUMERS中,我们强调了许多消费者热烈的支持、参与、资助产品和服务的预发行,促成了众筹活动的迅速发展。

而在预发行的领域,较少的消费者参与和更直接的消费行为造就了PRETAIL

PRETAIL:为什么消费者将众筹平台当作新的购物中心?现在的消费者需要更多创新的、激动人心的、独特的产品和服务,而在这个平台上有许多的创业者和初创公司为消费者提供比其他地方更好的选择。

2012年,全球由捐赠为基础和奖励为基础的众筹平台(PRETAIL为其一部分)融资总额达14亿美元,同比增长85%(Massolution,2013年4月)。

来自行业领导者Kickstarter的数据显示了众筹的惊人发展和全球规模:

PRETAIL背后驱动因素的详细说明:

1. 扩展中的全球智囊

众筹平台使全球智囊在消费主义上释放出巨大的能量(全球智囊由全球成千上万的个人和初创公司的集体创造力、智慧以及创业精神所构成)。

而且众筹平台的机制允许消费者资助预先可见的结果,这意味着任何人都可以向消费者展示自己的创意并供消费者预购买。

长久以来,消费领域里可供购买的创新产品和服务的多样性、创造性和数量第一次达到了与消费者的想象相匹配的水平。这种新式的供求平等十分重要,当消费行为发生在传统的线上或线下商店,这种平等是不存在的。

接下来呢?消费者将会积极的告诉全球智囊哪些产品和服务是他们希望看到被引进或生产的。一部分消费者甚至可能想要自己动手参与创造,这使得产品和服务的开发将最终趋向于由消费者创造并服务于消费者。您可以参见下文中的例子MakeThatThing.com,这可能会使您想起共同创造或是CUSTOMER-MADE(消费者创造)的趋势。但请记住消费者参与的共同创造更多的是品牌向消费者寻求创意和帮助,而本文所述的趋势则是消费者向企业或全球智囊要求自己想要的产品和服务。

2. 完美的市场适应

图为:魔法烹饪手套,于2013年1月成功完成资金筹集。

早期接触产品的兴奋感以及找到令人激动的、有用的、相关的产品的兴奋感使消费者沉迷于PRETAIL,特别是对于那些小众的、奇特的、通常不存在于传统品牌产品线的产品和服务。

而上文提及的全球智囊以零成本和零风险为消费者带来无穷的创新,这使得PRETAIL的市场空间近乎于无穷。

此外,由于消费者只会预先购买那些他们想要的创新并确保这些创意被最终实现*,而那些消费者不想要的创意则被忽略掉了,这几乎就是经济学家所想象的完美市场。

* 同时,来自热心的PRESUMERS的即时反馈帮助创新者快速的看到他们的产品概念是否满足消费者的需求。这些反馈帮助他们调整产品概念,使那些最初看起来甚至是十分离谱的产品在最终实现时也能完全吻合消费者的需求。

3. 即时信任

图为:来自法国品牌Overade的折叠式自行车头盔,于2013年2月通过Ulule成功完成资金筹集。

曾经妨碍消费者接受PRETAIL的信任障碍正在迅速消失的无影无踪。

网络联通性造就了消费领域的高度透明化,不能兑现诺言的产品创造者在这样的环境里无所遁形。消费者深知这一点,他们也知道创造者们同样也明白这一点。

这意味着消费者们愿意预支信任*,相信绝大多数的创造者将会兑现他们所承诺的产品和服务。是的,这可能会有些风险,但消费者将会愿意作为PRETAIL的一部分而承担很少的风险。即使是某个创新者卷款逃逸,这群被抛弃的PRETAILERS将会发现自己从属于致力于资助某个特定产品的已经生成的团体。他们可以很容易的找到另外一个企业帮助实现预先建立的需求。(当然这个团体必然也会追究最初以创新者名义进行欺骗的个人或企业的责任 ;-)

* 更多关于预支信任的内容请参见我们的Trend Briefing CLEAN SLATE BRANDS(拥有清白历史的品牌)

4. 从 PRETAIL(预零售)到电子商务到零售

成功的PRETAIL下一步也是最终的阶段:被传统的主流零售所吸收。

事实上,通过使消费者很容易的购买到成功的众筹项目和那些早已达成了筹款目标的项目, 新型的PRETAIL网站(比如下文中提到的Christie StreetCrowd Supply)正在逐渐模糊PRETAIL和传统零售之间的界限。相比之下Kickstarter尚未提供任何电子商务的功能,想要购买的消费者只能在其他地方搜寻产品。

同时我们看到全球范围内的一些产品借助于众筹平台的跳板直接进入到了实体的零售终端:比如在Kickstarter上发布的漫画Dim Sum Warriors目前就在新加坡的书店里销售。

因此请您对即将到来的PRETAIL真正的首次流行拭目以待,其产品将即时的被成千上万的消费者在“普通”的商店中所购买,而大多数消费者并不知道和关心这些产品背后的故事。

图为:于2011年通过Kickstarter 成功推向市场的tsaiclip,目前在美国、法国和香港销售


拉丁美洲的PRETAIL

虽然我们在拉丁美洲确实看到了一些成功的PRETAIL产品(比如下文中的Motriz自行车架),但在这一地区PRETAIL还并未成为主流趋势。究其原因有二:第一,许多消费经验较少的消费者对于以传统的方式购买新产品仍然感到兴奋,他们还没有长时间的被高度消费化所影响。第二,由于拉丁美洲地区强烈的集体社会文化,当地的众筹平台更加关注那些有利于社会的项目而尚未成为重要的PRETAIL目的地。

亚太地区的PRETAIL

许多的亚洲消费者,特别是中国的消费者,对于电子商务交易的信任程度并不高。这也是为什么中国领先的支付服务提供商支付宝最主要的创新就在于作为第三方支付平台,在买卖双方达成交易前管理资金。如何克服消费者的担心,说服习惯于怀疑的消费者预先购买那些可能还没有被生产出来的产品将会是对于所有有志于成为亚洲PRETAILER(预售者)的个人或企业的挑战。

例子

PRETAIL平台

2012年9月,Kickstarter在其博客上发布了一篇名为“Kickstarter不是一个商店”的文章,文中宣布该网站将采取严格的规则以规避消费者将资金投给那些未完成的和不切实际的项目。与此同时,其他一些网站迅速介人,将自己定位成为PRETAIL服务商或是购物中心:

Christie Street:致力于帮助发明家的众筹硬件产品平台

2012年12月发布的产品众筹平台Christie Street致力于使产品预购买无风险。网站将审查项目发起者的合法性以及其产品概念的可行性。同时,筹集到的资金将阶段性的释放给项目发起者,这确保了在项目未能实现的情况下,支持者可以收回部分资金。2013年4月,一种可以通过无线网络传输数据,将用户家门口拍摄的视频传输到智能手机或平板电脑的门铃在这个网站上获得了395,660美元的集资(远超过了其集资目标250,000美元),产品预计将于2013年7月交付。

Crowd Supply:PRETAIL平台和在线商店

2013年3月发布的Crowd Supply主动向产品创始者提供有关筹款目标和生产物流的建议,同时允许网站的用户预购买产品概念。同时,已经通过Crowd Supply或其他网站成功筹集到资金的产品创造者可以通过该网站进行预售或是普通销售。2013年4月,一种在滑雪时容易携带的轻便型靴子Pakems Foldable Boots在该网站以60美元的价格进行销售。

Outgrow.me、Wrappled和Tiny Light Bulbs:成功获得集资产品的一站式商店

Wrappled(于2013年2月发布)、Outgrow.meTiny Light Bulbs是几个针对通过众筹网站如Kickstarter、Indiegogo等成功完成了筹资的产品的网上商店。这些站点成为了这类产品的汇聚点,促成了PRETAIL与传统零售的融合。被其开发者称为世界上最节能LED灯泡的NanoLeaf在2013年3月通过Kickstarter筹集到了270,000美元的资金(其筹集目标为20,000美元)。目前该产品已经在Outgrow.me 网站上开展预定。

Quirky:社会化开发产品的商店

Quirky成立于2009年,但仍值得我们在本文中重温:产品开发者向Quirky的用户团体提交自己的创意,用户则可以针对这些创意提出建议并进行投票,Quirky的职员将根据用户投票和其他一些因素选择一系列的产品进行生产。Stem是一种使用户可以直接从青柠檬中喷出果汁的工具,该产品在Quirky网站上的零售价格为4.99美元。

Make That Thing:针对众筹项目的生产代理服务

2013年2月由网上漫画零售商TopatoCo 发布的Make That Thing致力于帮助创意人员将那些成功完成众筹的项目最终实现。他们帮助的首批项目包括广受欢迎的网络漫画The Tomorrow Girl:Dresden Codak,该项目获得了来自7,565个支持者的总计530,000美元的资助。


PRETAIL产品

目前,显然有很多的PRETAIL产品已经或是将要在网络商店或是传统商店中进行销售。以下是其中一些获得消费者青睐的代表:

WakaWaka Power:太阳能充电器和LED灯

2012年12月,WakaWaka Power获得了共计5,622名来自Kickstarter的支持者所提供的419,472美元的资金。这是一个袖珍式的太阳能充电器,在一天的阳光照射后就可以给智能手机和平板电脑进行充电。WakaWaka计划在受到地震打击的海地进行产品的生产,每销售一台充电器,该品牌就会向海地当地社会团体捐赠一个WakaWaka太阳能台灯。

Dim Sum Warriors:Kickstarter项目在新加坡的书店中进行销售

2012年11月,新加坡的网络漫画Dim Sum Warriors成功通过Kickstarter筹集到了18,600美元的资金,这笔资金使创意团队得以发布第一本印刷版的漫画小说。这本漫画书目前同时在美国和新加坡的书店和动漫商店中销售。

Breathometer:智能手机呼吸式酒精测量仪

为了在美国推广安全驾驶,一个名为Breathometer的产品将使用者的智能手机转变成了呼吸式酒精测量仪。这个便携式的设备可以插入手机的耳机孔中,使用者通过向设备吹气就可以通过配套的应用程序获知自己体内的酒精浓度。截至至2013年3月底,超过3,000名消费者在Indiegogo上预购了这产品,而产品的交付日期自2013年7月开始。

Good Night Lamp:通过无线网络连接的灯组,无论被放置在何处都一致的打开和关闭

Good Night Lamp是一组通过无线网路连接在一起的灯具,无论这组灯具被放置在任何地方,当主灯打开或关闭时候,附灯也将一致的打开或关闭。虽然Good Night Lamp没能在2013年1月通过Kickstarter 达成其筹资目标,这个产品却已经获得了足够多的关注并最终得以生产。产品预计将于2013年9月交付。

每日一词:颂扬俄文的日历

2013年1月,Календарь «Новое слово каждый день»(日历:每日一词)成功通过俄国版的Kickstarter网站Boomstarter达成了集资目标。这个日历希望对俄语进行文化保护,通过每日词汇教会购买者俄文单词的语源和意义。

SOCCKET:在游戏时收集能量的足球

SOCCKET是一个被设计成了英式足球的移动式发电装置。这个产品在2013年3月通过Kickstarter吸引到了1,094名支持者,成功超额完成了75,000美元的筹资目标。在使用这个特殊的足球进行游戏时,球体内的装置将捕捉到动能并将其转化成电能,为一个单灯泡的LED台灯供电。目前消费者可以在该品牌的网站上预购SOCCKET。

IG Guitars:定制式的设计师吉他

2013年3月,定制式的电吉他品牌IG Guitars成功通过Kickstarter完成了众筹集资。40位支持者每人至少资助了350美元以获得个性化的、带有可更换式磁接触盘的吉他(相比于市场零售价格便宜了三分之一)。支持者同时还可以获得正式的乐器证书和销售红利。这款吉他预计将于2013年7月交付。

Karma Chakhs:由具有老挝和德国双重文化背景的家具设计师所生产的道德化产品以取代匡威帆布鞋

Karma Chakhs于2013年1月通过德国的众筹网站StartNext成功完成了集资。该品牌的设计师是一个具有老挝和德国双重文化背景的家具设计师,他设计的初衷源自不满于耐克对匡威的收购,他认为匡威具有代表性的胶底运动鞋目前被大型的跨国公司以“不良”的方式进行生产。与之相反的,Karma Chakhs品牌将会委托经认证的公平贸易制造商进行生产。近400名支持者以产品的成本价预购了这个品牌的产品,产品的生产由此得以开展。这些鞋子预计将于2013年7月交付。

Project X Squared:可每日穿着的实验大褂

时装设计师同时也是Project Runway电视节目的决赛选手Alicia Hardesty与量子物理学家和神经系统科学家合作开发了一个简约通用的服装系列Project X Squared,这个系列包括一件可以在实验室之外穿着的实验大褂。在2013年4月,该项目吸引到了285个支持者,预计交付日期为2013年7月。

Motriz:既是书架同时又是壁挂式自行车架的设计产品

由两名巴西的自行车爱好者所创造的Motriz既是书架同时又是壁挂式自行车架。该产品于2013年1月通过巴西的众筹网站Catarse.me完成了集资。

家礼大成:针对现代台湾读者的传统丧葬礼节手册

在台湾,许多家庭都拥有一本名为家礼大成的书籍,书中记录了严格的传统丧葬礼节。然而,许多现行的版本有许多的错漏,台湾的徐福全教授因此想要对其进行修订,发布内容最为准确的版本。2012年6月,针对现代读者的徐福全教授增订家礼大成在台湾众筹网站ZecZec上超额完成了集资。



任何使已经感到厌倦或是烦腻的消费者感到高兴的事物都值得您关注。而PRETAIL当然触及了其中一些元素。那么, 品牌又如何能变成PRETAILER呢?

  • 放弃您的保密策略。您当然不想将所有一切公之于众并被竞争对手所掌握,但是为什么不开放您的研发过程,让消费者预购买那些还处在准备阶段的产品创意。担心您的对手会借用您的发明吗?那么就确保您由足够多的创意使他们难以追赶。
  • 当然,您也可以让消费者提出所想要预购买的创意。PRETAIL项目将同时丰富您的传统销售渠道。由热情的支持者所建立的团体也将帮助激起其他主流消费者的兴奋感。
  • 与激动人心的创造者/发明者/初创公司进行合作开发可供预购买的产品概念。您也可以建立自主品牌的平台,令创造者可以在小众市场发布自己的创意(注意:这个小众市场必须与您的品牌和用户相关)。
  • 参考传统的零售环境,试想如何将其复制到PRETAIL的领域:今后将可能出现类似沃尔玛或是亚马逊模式的大型购物中心(汇聚了所有那些在全球众筹平台上兜售的创意)或是精品商店(第一家奢侈品 PRETAILER、第一家家居产品精选PRETAILER等?)。

当您深入研究PRETAIL主题并借助于全球智囊获得更多的概念, 我们正在预先为您准备下一份Trend Briefing。如果您还没有订阅,请点击获取 » trendwatching.com logo

June 2013 Trend Briefing:
PRETAIL
Why consumers now love to SHOP for products and services at concept stage.
PRETAIL

In our Trend Briefing on PRESUMERS, we highlighted how many consumers are clamoring to support, be involved with, and fund products and services pre-launch, fueling a burgeoning crowdfunding movement.

Now make way for a little less consumer involvement, and more straightforward shopping in the pre-launch arena, i.e. PRETAIL*.

PRETAIL: A mode of consumption that sees consumers treat crowdfunding platforms as the new shopping malls. Why? Because that's where current consumer demand for the most innovative, exciting and unique products and being served better than anywhere else, by an army of entrepreneurs and start-ups.

* PRE-TAIL is a registered trademark of The Integer Group. Used with kind permission.

 

In 2012, donations & reward-based crowdfunding (of which PRETAIL is a part), grew 85% to USD 1.4 billion (Massolution, April 2013).

Data from market-leader Kickstarter shows the incredible growth and global scale of crowdfunding:

Here’s what is fueling PRETAIL, in more detail:

1. THE EXPANDING GLOBAL BRAIN

Crowdfunding has unleashed the GLOBAL BRAIN (the collective creativity, entrepreneurialism and intelligence of thousands of individuals and start-ups around the world) on consumerism.

And via the mechanism of funding pre-realization, those platforms mean that anyone with an idea can present that idea to consumers, who can then PREchase it.

For the first time ever, then, the diversity, inventiveness, and sheer number of innovations on offer in the consumer arena can actually match the imaginings of consumers. That’s a crucial new equality of supply and demand: one that did not exist when consumption happened in traditional offline/online stores.

Next? That would of course be consumers pro-actively suggesting to the GLOBAL BRAIN what it is they would like to see introduced/built. And then some of them may try to do it themselves, resulting in the ultimate convergence of by and for. Just look at MakeThatThing.com below. And if that reminds you of co-creation, or CUSTOMER-MADE, you’re right, but keep in mind co-creation was always more about brands seeking ideas/help from consumers, while this time it will truly be about consumers demanding what they want from entrepreneurs/ the GLOBAL BRAIN.

2. PERFECT MARKET FIT

Pictured: Magic Cooking Gloves, successfully funded in January 2013.

Consumers indulging in PRETAIL are driven by the thrill of being early, mixed with the thrill of finding a truly exciting or useful or relevant product, especially if it’s something quirky or so niche that it would have never made it down a traditional brand’s production line.

And because the aforementioned GLOBAL BRAIN can present an endless array of innovations to consumers, at near zero cost and zero risk, the PRETAIL market is near infinite.

Furthermore, as consumers will only PREchase the innovations they want – and so ensure those ideas are realized* – and ignore those they don’t want, it’s as close to a perfect market as economists can imagine.

* Also, the instant feedback from eager PRESUMERS helps innovators see very rapidly whether or not their product idea is serving the desires of consumers. This feedback helps them tweak their product idea, and can help ensure that even initially-wide-of-the-mark products are a perfect fit when they are realized.

3. INSTANT TRUST

Pictured: France-based Overade's folding bicycle helmet, successfully funded in February 2013 on Ulule.

The trust barriers that would once have stopped consumers from embracing PRETAIL are fast being eroded to nothing.

In a consumer arena made transparent by online connectivity, there is no hiding place for creators who fail to meet their promises. Consumers know this, and they know that creators know.

That means consumers can have FUTURE FAITH* that most creators will deliver the products/services they are promising. Yes, that leaves room for some risk. But consumers will accept the tiny risk of all-out loss as a part of PRETAIL. Even if an innovator does disappear with their money, the abandoned PRETAILERS find themselves part of a ready-made community committed to the funding of a particular product: they can simply find another entrepreneur to serve their pre-built demand. (And the community is bound to go after the original (non)-creator, too ;-)

* See our Trend Briefing on CLEAN SLATE BRANDS for more on FUTURE FAITH.

4. FROM PRETAIL TO ETAIL TO RETAIL

The next (and final) step for successful PRETAIL products: becoming absorbed by traditional, mainstream retail.

In fact, the new breed of PRETAIL sites (such as Christie Street and Crowd Supply featured below) are already blurring the boundaries between PRETAIL and retail by making it easy for customers to buy successful projects, even long after they’ve reached their funding targets (by comparison Kickstarter doesn’t offer any e-commerce facilities, requiring customers to track the products down elsewhere).

And we’re already seeing products make the leap from crowdfunding platforms all the way to physical retail, on a global scale too: witness the Dim Sum Warriors comic book below, launched on Kickstarter, now available in Singaporean book stores.

So watch out for the first true PRETAIL smash hit, bought (instantly) by millions of consumers, from ‘normal’ stores, with most not knowing, or indeed even caring about its backstory.

Pictured: The tsaiclip, which following a successful Kickstarter campaign in 2011, is now stocked by retailers in the US, France and Hong Kong.


PRETAIL in South & Central America (SCA)

While there are PRETAIL products succeeding in SCA (witness the Motriz bike shelf example below), this remains a niche trend in the region for two main reasons. First, many (less-experienced) consumers still find thrills in buying new products the traditional way, as they haven’t been deeply immersed in years of hyperconsumption. Second, thanks to SCA’s strong collective social culture, the crowdfunding arena is more focused on projects that benefit society, rather than being a significant PRETAIL destination. Yet ;-)

PRETAIL in Asia Pacific

Many Asian consumers, especially in China, don’t have high levels of confidence in e-commerce transactions. Which is why one of leading Chinese payment provider Alipay’s key innovations was the practice of holding funds in escrow until both parties are satisfied. Overcoming these fears, and convincing often-skeptical customers to PREchase products – that haven’t even perhaps been manufactured yet – will be key for any aspiring Asian PRETAILER.

Examples

PRETAIL PLATFORMS

When in September 2012 Kickstarter tried to move away from becoming a PRETAIL destination with its ‘Kickstarter is not a store’ blog post (which announced tightening listing rules to protect buyers from unfinished and unrealistic projects), other sites quickly stepped in and positioned themselves as PRETAIL facilitators and shopping destinations:

Christie Street: Crowdfunded hardware platform that aims to help inventors

Launched in December 2012, Christie Street is a product-focused crowdfunding platform which aims to make PREchasing near risk-free. Creators who submit an idea to the site are audited to ensure they are legitimate, and their idea feasible. Meanwhile, funds are released to creators in stages, ensuring project supporters can receive a partial refund if a funded product fails to materialize. As of April 2013 the DoorBot, a wifi-enabled doorbell that streams video to a smartphone or tablet, had received funding of USD 395,660 (against a target of USD 250,000), and is due for delivery in July 2013.

Crowd Supply: A PRETAIL platform and an etail store

Launched in March 2013, Crowd Supply partners with product creators, offering advice on a suitable funding target and production logistics, and allowing site users to PREchase ideas. Meanwhile, creators who have already crowdfunded their products – on Crowd Supply or elsewhere – can make their product available for pre-order or conventional purchase. In April 2013, Pakems Foldable Boots, a lightweight boot designed to be easy to carry while skiing, were available to buy from USD 60.

Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU

Outgrow.me, Wrappled & Tiny Light Bulbs: One-stop shops for successfully crowdfunded products

Wrappled (launched February 2013), Outgrow.me, and Tiny Light Bulbs are online storefronts for products that have reached their funding target on crowdfunding sites such as Kickstarter, Indiegogo and others. By aggregating successfully funded products, these sites inhabit the space where PRETAIL merges with conventional etail. The NanoLeaf LED lightbulb – which makers claim is the most energy efficient lightbulb in the world – had raised over USD 270,000 on Kickstarter by March 2013 (against a target of USD 20,000), and is now available to pre-order via Outgrow.me.

Quirky: Store for “socially developed products”

Founded in 2009, but worth revisiting for this briefing, Quirky was a pioneer of what it terms ‘socially developed products’. Product creators submit their idea to the Quirky user community, who can suggest changes. Next, users vote on the best product ideas, and – based on these votes and other factors – Quirky staff choose a number of products to go into production. Stem, a device that allows the user to spay juice straight out of a citrus fruit, retails on Quirky for USD 4.99.

Make That Thing: Production agency for crowdfunded projects

Make That Thing, launched in February 2013 by TopatoCo, a web comic merchandise etailer, aims to help creatives handle the fulfillment side of successful crowdfunding initiatives. One of the first service’s projects was a print version of The Tomorrow Girl: Dresden Codak (a popular web comic) that raised over USD 530,000 from 7,565 backers.

We obviously offer much more than just monthly free Trend Briefings.

Check out our 2014 PREMIUM SERVICE and become an instant Trend Expert.

Premium Service
FIND OUT MORE

PRETAIL PRODUCTS

Now, clearly there are many thousands of PRETAIL products currently (or soon to be) available to buy online if not in stores. So here’s just a small selection of some that have been delighting customers:

WakaWaka Power: Solar powered charger and LED light

During December 2012, a total of 5,622 Kickstarter backers pledged USD 419,472 – far surpassing the initial goal of USD 50,000 – for a WakaWaka Power, a pocket-sized solar powered station capable of charging smart phones and tablet devices after one day of sunlight. WakaWaka plan to manufacture the charger parts in earthquake-hit Haiti, donating one WakaWaka solar powered lamp to the local community for every power station purchased.

Dim Sum Warriors: Kickstarter project available in Singapore bookstores

In November 2012, Singapore-based digital comic book Dim Sum Warriors successfully raised over USD 18,600 on Kickstarter, allowing the team to publish its first print graphic novel. The books are now available in both US and Singaporean bookstores and comic shops.

Breathometer: A smartphone breathalyzer

Developed to promote responsible drink driving in the US, the Breathometer transforms smartphones into breathalyzers. The portable plug-in device fits into any smartphone’s headphone socket and, when blown into, alerts the user to their blood alcohol concentration through the app. To the end of March 2013 over 3,000 consumers had pre-ordered the Breathometer on Indiegogo, with shipping due to begin in July 2013.

Good Night Lamp: Wifi-connected lamp turns on and off companion lamps in unison, no matter where they are located

The Good Night Lamp is a family of wifi-connected lamps where, when the larger model is turned on and off, the companion lights also turn on and off in unison, wherever in the world they are located. Despite the Good Night Lamp failing to reach its financial target on Kickstarter in January 2013, the product attracted enough attention to proceed to production. Orders are scheduled to ship in September 2013.

A New Word Every Day: Calendar celebrates Russian language

January 2013 saw Календарь «Новое слово каждый день» (Calendar: A New Word Every Day) successfully achieve its funding goal on Boomstarter, a Russian version of Kickstarter. Created to help preserve the Russian language, the calendar aims to educate buyers on the etymology and meaning of Russian words.

SOCCKET: Soccer ball generates power as it’s played with

SOCCKET, a portable generator that doubles up as a soccer ball, attracted over 1,094 backers and exceeded its USD 75,000 funding goal on Kickstarter during March 2013. During play, the ball captures and stores kinetic energy, that can be used to power the included single-bulb LED lamp. SOCCKET is currently available for pre-order through the brand’s website.

We obviously offer much more than just monthly free Trend Briefings.

Check out our 2014 PREMIUM SERVICE and become an instant Trend Expert.

Premium Service
FIND OUT MORE

IG guitars: Customizable designer guitars

During March 2013, customizable electronic guitar brand IG Guitars was successfully crowdfunded via Kickstarter. 40 backers pledged more than USD 350 each to create personalized instruments with interchangeable magnetic panels (saving a third on the retail price) and receive official certificates and bonus merchandise. The guitars are scheduled to ship in July 2013.

Karma Chakhs: Ethical 'alternative' to Converse produced by Laotian-German furniture designer

Karma Chakhs were successfully funded on German crowdfunding platform StartNext in January 2013. Le Van Bo-Mentzel, a Laotian-German furniture designer, started the project as a result of his disappointment at Nike's purchase of Converse, as now the brand's iconic Chuck Tailor sneakers are produced by a large multinational with 'bad karma'. Instead, Karma Chakhs will be produced by Fair Trade-certified manufacturers. Nearly 400 people PREchased the shoes (at cost price only), enabling production to start. The shoes are due for delivery in July 2013.

Project X Squared: Project X designs lab coats for everyday wear

Fashion designer and Project Runway finalist Alicia Hardesty collaborated with a quantum physicist and a neuroscientist on Project X Squared, a versatile capsule clothing collection that includes a lightweight lab coat designed to be worn outside the laboratory. As of mid April 2013 the project had attracted over 285 backers, with shipping estimated for July 2013.

Motriz: Design-inspired shelf that doubles as a bike display

Two Brazilian cycling enthusiasts created Motriz, a shelf that doubles as a wall-mounted bike rack, that successfully reached its funding goal on Brazilian crowdfunding site Catarse.me in January 2013.

Family Rituals: a traditional funeral ritual manual, updated for modern Taiwanese families

In Taiwan, many families own a traditional funeral ritual book, which documents and records the highly ritualistic practice of mourning the deceased. Many current versions do not follow the traditions accurately, which inspired Taiwanese professor Xu Fu Quan to create a correct version. In June 2012, his project – an updated edition of Taiwanese customary funeral rites, written for modern audiences – was successfully funded on ZecZec (a Taiwanese crowdfunding site).



Anything that delights (jaded, saturated, blasé) consumers needs to be on your radar. And PRETAIL definitely touches a few buttons. So how can any (your?) brand become a PRETAILER?

  • Give up on secrecy. No, you don’t want to share everything with the world and thus your competitors, but why not open up your R&D, and let consumers PREchase ideas that are in the pipeline. Worried about competitors running with your inventions? Then just make sure you have so many of them that they will never be able to keep up.
  • And yes, get consumers to present you with the ideas they want to be able to PREchase. PRETAIL initiatives will also support your traditional sales channels. Building a community of enthusiastic supporters will only help whip up excitement among other, more mainstream consumers too.
  • Partner with an existing creator/inventor/start-up to co-present a concept for PREchase. Or set up your own branded platform, where creators can post their own ideas in a particular niche (read: you and your customers’ niche).
  • Look at the traditional retail landscape, and think how this will be mimicked in the PRETAIL arena: there’s likely to be a Walmart or Amazon-style mega-mall (that aggregates all the ideas being peddled on the hundreds of crowdfunding platforms worldwide), as well as destination stores (who’s going to create the first luxury PRETAILER, the first curated homeware PRETAILER, and on and on?).

Oh, and while you dive into PRETAIL and embrace the GLOBAL BRAIN and concepting and more, we’ll be hard at work PREparing our next Trend Briefing. If you’re not subscribed yet, please do so here » trendwatching.com logo



Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU