2013年3月Trend Briefing:
MI CASA ES TU CASA
为什么越来越多的拉丁美洲消费者热衷于帮助解决社会问题。
MI CASA ES TU CASA

定义:

当社会中仍然存在大量不安全和不平等的现象,许多拉丁美洲* 新崛起的消费者(这里指的崛起不仅仅只是经济层面,也包括技术层面、社会层面和政治层面)并不赞同不断蔓延的唯物主义,他们甚至认为唯物主义是自私的表现**。

这就解释了为什么该地区越来越多的消费者迎来了MI CASA ES TU CASA的趋势,他们所支持的品牌关心社会不平等问题,其中一些做得更好的品牌甚至帮助消费者参与到解决社会问题的活动中来

* 想要了解拉丁美洲地区所有主要消费趋势的读者可以点击了解我们即将发布的独家拉丁美洲消费者趋势报告

** 贫困和社会问题一直困扰着拉丁美洲地区,这些问题非常显著以至于这一地区的消费者常常被排除在传统的AB类消费者之外。该地区拥有世界上最高的基尼指数,基尼指数通常被用于衡量社会贫富差距的程度(联合国儿童基金会,2011年4月)。然而,由于中产阶级数量的增长,自2000年以来,拉丁美洲地区的基尼指数已经急剧下降,在2010年更是达到了过去30年以来的最低点(世界发展经济学研究所,2012年8月)。

趋势背后的驱动因素:

1. 消费者的崛起

在过去的十年里,拉丁美洲在政治包容性、经济、科技方面取得的显著发展使该地区的消费者感受到了自身权利前所未有的增强。这意味着这些地方的消费者对于未来和自己把握未来的能力都感到乐观。Edelman的Goodpurpose研究发现,73%的巴西人认为,与五年前相比,“像我一样的人”现在拥有更大的权力和影响力,这一数据显著高于全球平均水平44%(Edelman,2012年4月)。


2. 身份象征的转变

在2003年到2011年之间,巴西的中产阶级(C类消费者)数量增长超过4000万,而富裕阶层(AB类消费者)数量增长为900万(Fundacao Getulio Vargas,2012年3月)。财富的增长导致了STATUSPHERE的分化,消费者越来越多的赋予社会价值以各种“符号”(在某种层度上说来受到马斯洛需求层次理论中自尊和自我实现需求的影响)。创造积极的社会影响成为了“新”的身份象征

此外,科技使消费者以新的方式炫耀自身的社会影响力,人们常常将自己参与或贡献的公益事业发布到网络上,在这里这种炫耀的效力更加明显和持久(请参见下文中Techo的例子)。

3. INFORMATION IN(EQUALITY)
针对不平等现象的信息平等

面对社会问题,消费者越来越难以选择简单的忽视。

更多更好的信息,尤其是来自网络上的,使拉丁美洲的消费者对于周围人的需求更加敏感。有关社会不平等现象和社会问题的信息十分普遍,其数量多到已经无法被封锁。而事实上面对社会问题选择不作为变得更加明显,这也进一步推动了上文中讲到的STATUS SHIFT。

对于那些个人财富增加的消费者而言,这些丰富的信息时刻提醒着他们社会整体还处在贫困的水平。事实上,这些数百万计加入了消费阶层的消费者对于社会问题更为敏感,也更愿意就社会问题奉献自己的力量:一项全球性的研究发现,49%的拉丁美洲消费者更倾向于选择那些回馈社会的品牌,即使这些品牌的产品和服务相比更贵,这一数据与欧洲和北美地区的33%相比显然要高出许多(尼尔森,2012年3月)。

4. MATURIALISM

不要乏味;-)

令人兴奋的新品牌、产品和服务在数量上的爆发使拉丁美洲消费者变得比以前任何时候都更加的老练。对于这群消费者而言,直率的、高标准的企业将越来越有吸引力,这些企业并不单纯追随消费者的需求,他们更注重标明自身富有表现力且有趣的品牌态度。

当涉及到社会问题,多数品牌在过去选择了简单的忽略,而现在,品牌不仅不该忽略,更要迎头而上,与消费者一起直面社会问题,当然您也可以像下文中La Fabrica del Taco所做的一样,主动解决社会问题。

例子

以下的一些例子向我们展示了品牌和非营利组织是如何利用MI CASA ES TU CASA趋势的:

Buchanan’s:共享时刻

2012年3月至5月期间,英国Diageo旗下的苏格兰威士忌品牌Buchanan’s 在波哥大、墨西哥城和加拉加斯开展了一个名为“Tiempo Para Compartir”(共享时刻)的志愿者项目。参加者可以通过Facebook报名加入社区清洁建设类的公益项目。在项目完成之后,Buchanan’s为志愿者们举办了一场由碎南瓜乐队主演的免费音乐会。

Techo:将建造所用的 钉子“个人化”

智利非盈利组织Techo(该名称在智利语中的意思为“屋顶”)的主要事业是帮助弱势群体建设家园。2012年8月,为感谢那些为公益事业献出了自己的时间、精力和努力的人们,该组织别出心裁的将捐赠者或志愿者的名字印在了建设用的钉子上。捐赠者将收到一张印有自己名字的钉子的照片,并可以在Prego Maps网站上看到自己的钉子所在的房屋位于何处。


Satisfeito:高级餐厅提供全价的小份餐点

2012年11月,圣保罗的20家餐馆(包括高级餐厅如Jun Sakamoto、Kaa、Girarrosto)合作发起了一项活动,食客可以在就餐时选择“Satisfeito”(满足)餐点,菜品的份量少了1/3但价格仍然是全价,节省下来的部分被捐赠给了致力于解决巴西儿童营养不良问题的机构Instituto Alana。

La Fabrica Del Taco:“你吃他们也吃”的广告

La Fabrica Del Taco是位于布宜诺斯艾利斯高档社区Palermo的一家墨西哥餐厅。该餐厅将外卖订单所获利润的一部分捐赠给当地帮助无家可归者的慈善机构。2012年7月(此时阿根廷正处于冬天),餐厅推出了名为“帮助无家可归者的卖家”的广告,请来了五位当地的无家可归者谈论自己在大街上的生活。该广告旨在提醒人们,即使在冬天不想经常出门,他们的订单仍然可以帮助当地那些需要帮助的人。

Carbono Zero:当一天的自行车快递员

2012年11月22日,圣保罗的自行车快递服务Carbono Zero推出了一项名为“Pedalada Para O Bem”(为公益事业蹬车)的活动。活动邀请消费者自愿成为自行车快递员,帮助企业递送货物,由此创造的收入被捐赠给了帮助贫困儿童的社会项目“Pedala Zezinho”。为了鼓励更多的消费者参与其中,活动组织参与的志愿者相互竞争,而获胜者可以获得一辆新的自行车。

Atados:拉丁美洲的首个志愿活动门户网站

2012年6月推出的Atados是拉丁美洲的第一个志愿活动门户网站。该网站旨在通过提供志愿活动的信息促使更多的人参与其中。非营利组织在网站上注册并发布需要帮助的公益项目的详细信息,而志愿者可以在网站上建立自己的档案,详细说明自己具备的技能。在网站成立的头两个月里已经有超过4000人,100个组织进行了注册。




下一步:

即使拉丁美洲的消费者变得越来越富裕,顽固的社会问题仍可能会持续多年。随着该地区消费者对品牌的要求越来越高,品牌也将面临着更大的压力,不得不开始思考如何代表消费者或是与消费者一起推出创新的“社会”解决方案。因此,无论您是雄心勃勃的本土品牌还是该地区的全球性的品牌,请务必开始利用MI CASA ES TU CASA的趋势。然而,在应用这一趋势的时候,请记得一定要:

  • 鼓励实际行动: 信息的全面透明在推动这一趋势的同时也在塑造它。通过Buchanan’s的例子,我们看到消费者希望品牌能够在简单的、有距离感的、低影响力的活动之上有所超越,他们也希望能够通过自己的行动为社会创造真正的价值而不是让品牌全面代劳。
  • 挑战消费者: 通过Satisfeito的例子,我们看到针对于社会不平等这一越来越不能称之为禁忌的话题,消费者将越来越接受那些促使他们了解或至少是认识到这一问题的品牌。请大胆创新!

或许您的品牌所针对的区域并不包括拉丁美洲,那么为什么不针对您所在地区最为相关的社会问题利用这一趋势呢?任何地区的消费者都会因为您学习利用这一趋势而感谢您。

求发展与做公益并不冲突 ;-)

与此同时我们正在为下一份新的Trend Briefing而努力,如果您还没订阅,
请点击注册 »  trendwatching.com logo

Read more Localizasian


现在就注册!

1.我们每月免费版Trend Briefing(趋势简报)

2.我们的Premium Trend Service(高级付费服务)

查看您如何从Premium服务中获益

March 2013 Trend Briefing:
MI CASA ES TU CASA
Why more and more consumers in South & Central America will jump at the chance to help solve social issues.
MI CASA ES TU CASA

Definition:

Many of South & Central America’s (SCA*) newly empowered consumers (not just economically, but those who feel more technologically, socially and politically empowered too), see rampant materialism as somewhat unsatisfactory – if not wholly selfish – when society remains racked with insecurity and inequality**.

Which is why many more consumers in the region will embrace the MI CASA ES TU CASA trend and enthusiastically support brands that don't close their eyes to social inequality, and (better yet) offer consumers a chance to play a part in fixing social issues.

* In this Trend Briefing, we're defining South & Central America (SCA) as including Mexico. Yes, technically it's in North America, but many characteristics of the country's consumer arena more closely resemble those found in Latin American societies. For all the region's key consumer trends, check out our forthcoming exclusive SCA Consumer Trend Report.

** Poverty and social issues have long been a feature of SCA societies, so much so that consumers (traditionally those in the AB classes) simply blocked them out. The region has the world’s highest Gini index – a measure of inequality (UNICEF, April 2011). However, thanks to the growth of the region’s middle classes, this figure has fallen rapidly since 2000, and was lower in 2010 than at any time during the past 30 years (World Institute for Development Economics Research, August 2012).

Driving this trend:

1. EMPOWERMENT

The past decade has made SCA consumers feel more empowered than ever: greater political inclusion, tangible economic success and technological access, mean that the region’s consumers are optimistic about the future and their ability to shape it. For example, Edelman’s Goodpurpose study found 73% of Brazilians believe that compared to five years ago, ‘people like me’ now have more power and influence to make a difference, significantly higher than the global average of 44% (Edelman, April 2012).


2. STATUS SHIFT

Brazil’s rising middle class (C-class) grew by over 40 million people between  2003 and 2011, while the upper classes (AB classes) grew by 9 million (Fundacao Getulio Vargas, March 2012). This rising affluence is leading to a fragmentation in the STATUSPHERE, as consumers increasingly attribute social value to different ‘symbols’ (driven in part by Maslow’s theories of self esteem and actualization). Making a positive social impact is just one of these ‘new’ forms of status.

Added to this, technology has given consumers new ways to flaunt their social impact: participating or contributing to a cause is now often carried into the online world, where it can be more visible and longer lasting (see the Techo example below).

3. INFORMATION (IN)EQUALITY

It’s becoming increasingly difficult for consumers to simply ignore social issues

More (and better) information, especially online, is making SCA consumers more sensitive to the needs of others around them. Information about social inequality and issues is now so pervasive, that it can no longer be blocked out (and indeed inaction is now more visible too, which further drives the STATUS SHIFT above).

This is especially true with consumers for whom this abundant information is a near-constant reminder that while they might be experiencing an increase in personal wealth, society as a whole remains poor. Indeed, the millions joining the consuming class are often more keenly aware of social issues, and more willing to do something about them: a global study found 49% of SCA consumers are willing to pay more for products and services from companies that give back to society, significantly higher than in Europe and North America, where only 33% are willing (Nielsen, March 2012).

4. MATURIALISM

Don’t be bland ;-)

The explosion in new and more exciting brands, products and services is making SCA consumers more sophisticated than ever. Therefore, they will be more and more turned on by businesses that are more direct or demanding, that don’t simply kowtow to consumers’ needs but stake out more of an expressive (and dare we say it more interesting) brand attitude themselves.

When it comes to social issues, this means not ignoring them – as too many brands in the region have done in the past – but confronting or shocking consumers with them head-on, even ‘celebrating’ them as La Fabrica del Taco did (see below).

Examples

Here are just a handful of examples of how brands and non-profit organizations are already tapping into the MI CASA ES TU CASA trend:

Buchanan’s: Time to Share

From March to May 2012, Diageo-owned Scotch Whisky label Buchanan’s asked young people in Bogotá, Mexico City and Caracas to participate in a volunteer project called 'Tiempo Para Compartir' ('Time to Share'). Through Facebook, participants could sign up for projects such as neighborhood cleanup and construction. Once the program was finished, Buchanan’s offered a free concert to participants, featuring The Smashing Pumpkins.

Techo: Build a house with a ‘personal’ nail

In August 2012, Chilean non-profit Techo (‘Roof’) came up with an innovative reward for those who donate their time, energy and effort to the NGO’s cause, constructing homes for the underprivileged. The organization printed nails used in the construction with the name of donors or volunteers. Donors received an image of ‘their’ nail and could then see the place where the house was built on the Prego Maps website.

If you like our Trend Briefings, you’ll love our 2014 Premium Service

Your complete trend and innovation solution.

Satisfeito: High-end restaurants offer smaller portions for same price

In November 2012, 20 restaurants in São Paulo – including high end establishments such as Jun Sakamoto, Kaa and Girarrosto – launched an initiative where diners could opt for smaller portion sizes, while still being charged the full price. ‘Satisfeito’ (‘Satisfied’) dishes were 1/3 smaller than the usual menu options, with the money saved from serving these smaller dishes distributed to organizations fighting child malnutrition in Brazil by Instituto Alana.

La Fabrica Del Taco: ‘Eat so they eat’ commercials

La Fabrica Del Taco is a Mexican restaurant in the upmarket Palermo district of Buenos Aires that donates a portion of takeaway orders to local homeless charities. In July 2012 (in the middle of the Argentinean winter), the restaurant launched its ‘The Homeless Sellers’ campaign, featuring five local homeless people talking about their lives on the street. The commercials aimed to remind people that even if they didn’t want to go out as frequently during the winter, their orders would still help local people in need.

Carbono Zero: Become a bike courier for a day

On 22 November 2012, bike courier service Carbono Zero, based in São Paulo, launched its ‘Pedalada Para O Bem’ (‘Pedal for Good’) campaign. For one day, the brand asked its customers to volunteer to act as couriers and make ​deliveries on behalf of the brand. The courier fees were then donated to the social project 'Pedala Zezinho', which offers workshops and repair workshops to disadvantaged children. To encourage participation, the company also entered all the volunteers into a competition to win a new bike.

Atados: Latin America’s first volunteering portal

June 2012 saw the launch of Atados, Latin America’s first volunteering portal. The site aims to increase the number of people volunteering by helping to give people more information about the opportunities available. Non-profit organizations register on the site, and post details of projects or tasks they require assistance with, while volunteers create profiles detailing their skills. In the first two months over 4,000 people and 100 organizations signed up.




NEXT:

Even as SCA gets wealthier, stubborn social problems are likely to remain for many years to come. Alongside this, the pressure for brands to roll out innovative ‘social’ solutions (both on behalf of, or ideally with their consumers) will grow as audiences in the region get more demanding. So whether you’re an ambitious local brand, or a global brand in the region, please by all means do jump on the MI CASA ES TU CASA trend. But when applying this trend, be sure to:

  • Spur real action: Just as transparency is driving this trend, it also shapes it. Learn from the Buchanan’s example, and see how consumers want to move beyond simple, distant, low-impact campaigns and feel that their actions are making a tangible difference, not just leaving it up to brands to take those actions for them.
  • Challenge consumers: As shown by the Satisfeito example, consumers are increasingly receptive to brands jarring them into acknowledging social inequality, or at least their (im)perceptions of this fading taboo subject. Be bold!

And if you’re a brand in the rest of the world (and SCA isn’t on your radar), why not get going and start targeting the social issues that are most relevant in your market? After all, consumers everywhere will thank you for learning from the examples above.

Time to do well AND do good ;-)

In the meantime we're working hard on our new Trend Briefing. If you're not yet subscribed, then please sign up here » trendwatching.com logo

Read more Localizasian

Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU