2013年3月Trend Briefing:
LOCALIZASIAN
在亚洲创新、由亚洲人创新、为亚洲人创新带来2013年及之后的高速发展。
LOCALIZASIAN

左上角顺时针方向:2012 ChinaJoy Cosplay嘉年华;韩国流行音乐真人秀;穿着韩服的印尼女孩;LG在印度海得拉巴市的专柜。

定义:

当品牌在亚洲越来越多的生产和提供一流的产品和服务,亚洲消费者的期望值达到了前所未有的高度。区域品牌由于真正了解当地消费者从而能为他们提供量身打造的产品和服务,在亚洲地区,对于这类产品和服务的需求将显著增长。

我们将会看到“在亚洲制造、为亚洲人制造、由亚洲人制造”的产品大受欢迎*:

  • 品牌针对亚洲消费者的竞赛导致了区域消费者的期望越来越高,苛刻的消费者需要恰到好处的产品和服务。
  • 亚洲消费者渴望本地区的成功,对于一流的亚洲品牌,当地消费者的接受程度也日益增加
  • 针对本地消费者需求和期望**的亚洲品牌具有很自然的具有更强的亲和力。

*还有一些重要的经济和政治因素推动这一趋势的发展,比如区域贸易联盟的加强、为防止全球经济冲击的地方经济保护。但是在本篇Trend Briefing中,我们将专注于探讨消费趋势。

**当然,正如我们知道的,“亚洲”并不是一个单一的概念,从首尔长久以来就有的江南区社会名流到柬埔寨的新兴消费阶层,“亚洲消费者”的概念包括了财富、成熟度、生活方式和期望等各个方面。这里我们想要指出的是与外来品牌相比,当地品牌在理解和剖析这些细微处方面有着天然的优势。

以上驱动因素的详细介绍:

1. 走向成熟的市场

亚洲的富裕消费者越来越多,这意味着针对人民币、印度卢比、韩元、泰铢及印尼盾的商业竞争将比以往任何时候都更加激烈

亚洲地区的经济和消费力将继续迅速发展。2011年,亚洲占全球消费总量的14%,到2020年,其份额将达到25%,而到2030年将达到40%(安永会计师事务所,2012年)。

无数的迹象表明亚洲将在未来的消费领域占据统治地位。我们看到全球知名品牌如雅诗兰黛在网站中放上了MADE FOR CHINA (IF NOT BRIC)(为中国或金砖四国制造)的产品; 名为“DAMN! I Love Indonesia”的亚洲品牌以CELEBRATION NATION(对地域文化的颂扬)炫耀自己的国家文化;中国联想引领A2A(亚洲对亚洲)贸易的增长。在我们即将发布的独家亚太地区消费趋势报告中,还将有更多的相关例子。

上图:雅诗兰黛针对中国女性肤色开发的Osiao护肤系列产品、服装品牌“DAMN! I Love Indonesia”、中国联想在印尼推出该品牌的智能手机

所有这一切来自品牌的关注和由此带来的更多选择意味着亚洲消费者将变得更为苛刻:他们所寻求的是那些能够明确满足消费者需要、希望和欲望的一流的产品和服务。



2. 对本地的热爱

传统的说法是当亚洲消费者变得更加富裕,他们通过购买“西方”市场的成熟品牌炫耀自己新获得的社会地位。看看法国和意大利的奢侈品牌在该地区的成功就知道这样的说法不假。然而与之相对的是,亚洲消费者对于亚洲成功的根深蒂固的期望(尽管亚洲地区的政治纷争不断,但像林书豪和Psy这样在2012年享誉全球的明星则获得了整个亚洲的支持)。

所有这一切意味着,当今的亚洲品牌正在全球舞台上与世界一流的品牌竞争甚至是超越这些竞争对手,亚洲消费者对于本土品牌的接受度达到了前所未有的高度,在趋势报告MADE BETTER IN CHINA(更高水准的中国制造)中我们就列举了许多在本地占据主导地位的中国品牌。而贸易统计数据也能说明一些问题:2000年以来,全球贸易和亚洲对外贸易增长了一倍,而同期的亚洲内贸易额增长了两倍(IMF,2012年5月)。

3. 本土优势

共同的价值观、掌握细微的地方差异而获得的天然亲和力、在快速增长经济体中学习到的企业运作经验,所有这些优势都使亚洲品牌更了解当地消费者的心态、期望和需要,而在这些方面外来品牌常常感到吃力

在下文中您可以看到中国啤酒品牌青岛如何根据中国传统的饮酒习惯改变了自己的产品,而我们还没有看到任何的比利时啤酒品牌能做到相同的水平;-)

例子

一些最近出现的LOCALIZASIAN的例子供您参考学习:

青岛啤酒:“为成都消费者”做出改进

图片来源:Dhannphotography

中国品牌青岛啤酒针对成都消费者的饮酒习惯改变了产品所用的酒瓶,这使我们从中看到了真正区域化的LOCALIZASIAN。新的酒瓶容量更大,能装两三个品脱的酒,这是因为当地消费者在聚餐享用四川菜肴的时候常常将啤酒倒入小杯进行分享,这与传统中国白酒在分享饮用时的习惯相近。

LG:在印度被评为最值得信赖的耐用消费品品牌

自2010年以来,韩国LG电子一直在印度推行一项专门的“微本土化”战略。该公司目前推出了27个为印度市场量身定制的产品,包括碳丝加热式微波炉,这款微波炉的预设菜单中有超过130种印度菜肴(包括印度烤饼、印度馅饼以及印式烧烤坦都里烤鸡和泥炉烤印式芝士等)。2012年,该品牌在印度被评为最值得信赖的耐用消费品品牌。

显而易见的是,我们所提供的内容
不仅限于每月的免费趋势简报……

介绍我们的2014年
Premium Service
(高级付费服务)

为您提供完整的趋势及创新解决方案


WeChat:迎合亚洲地区需求的中国信息服务应用程序

中国品牌腾讯的WeChat是一款提供语音、文字和图片信息服务的应用程序,该程序附带的许多功能比如能随机找到附近同样使用该程序的用户备受亚洲消费者青睐。产品放弃了曾经使用的名称“Weixin”以使其形象更为国际化。2012年9月,在添加了泰语、越南语、印尼语等语言选项之后,该应用中又新添加了印度语。2012年12月,为了满足东南亚用户的需求,该应用程序甚至推出了黑莓平台的应用版本。

HTC:带有缅甸语键盘的智能手机

2013年1月,台湾的电子产品公司HTC在缅甸仰光开设了第一家专卖店,6个型号的智能手机在这里首次亮相。这些手机都配备了专门设计的、本地化的缅甸语字体键盘。在亚洲的众多国家中,缅甸的移动电话普及率是最低的。

Wangz:为旅游团和大家庭设计的可变式精品公寓

2012年,新加坡的Wangz开设了服务式公寓王泽森林酒店。公寓的设计针对在该地区常常看到的大型家庭旅游团。每间公寓都设有一个小厨房和公共用餐区,使旅游团成员可以一起做饭吃饭。而公寓的走廊上也额外设有房门,这样几个房间就可以被隔离成一个更大的房间供大家庭或团体使用。公寓的费用大概在每晚250新币(204美元)左右。

 

诚品书店:台湾书店将24小时服务带到香港

2012年8月,台湾诚品书店在香港开设了第一家海外分店,尝试从周四到周六24小时开放以服务于有着“夜猫子”购物习惯和生活方式的香港消费者。在台湾,诚品书店7天24小时营业,店内同时销售许多种类的生活用品,包括文具、儿童玩具和音乐等。该品牌计划于2014年在苏州开设第一家位于中国内地的分店。



下一步:

想要在您的产品和服务上应用LOCALIZASIAN趋势吗?如果您是亚洲品牌,请记住:

  • 充分利用您的地域优势(在心理和实体层面更接近当地消费者),为当地的消费群体或细分群体量身定制产品和服务。您可以参Wangz的例子,从尺寸、生活方式、习俗等方面进行思考。
  • 本地消费者欣赏并尊重那些颂扬地域文化、根据既有传统或使用习惯对产品进行重塑或整合的品牌。比如青岛啤酒就针对传统的饮酒习惯对自己的啤酒产品进行了改进。
  • LOCALIZASIAN也可以是简单的对现有的产品或服务做出调整以迎合另外的亚洲消费群体(特别是那些非常符合亚洲消费者喜好的产品)。比如有着明显区域化特点的WeChat,该产品就成功的通过添加当地语言选项扩大了品牌的受众范围。

对于在亚洲开展业务或是计划将业务扩展到亚洲的外来品牌而言,当产品的质量差距正在迅速消失,传统的标榜“高品质”的品牌描述方式将不具优势,这时候您也需要积极响应LOCALIZASIAN的趋势,通过加强品牌独有的“差异性”以区别于其它品牌。当然您也可以与当地品牌合作或是收购当地品牌以进行自己品牌的LOCALIZASIAN创新。

最后,即使您是在亚洲以外地区开展业务的外来品牌且没有进入亚洲市场的打算,也请不要忽视LOCALIZASIAN的趋势。请记住:许多成功运用LOCALIZASIAN趋势的亚洲品牌将在本土市场获得成功,迅速成长并击败其竞争对手。您需要关注这些品牌的动向,或许不久之后它们就将进入到您所在的市场与您展开竞争。

2013年,LOCALIZASIAN趋势正在世界上最具活力的消费领域里大行其道。因此,无论您在亚洲内还是在亚洲之外,要么加入这一趋势,要么走向灭亡!

我们将在下个月为您送上最新的Trend Briefing,请确保您已经订阅,在这之前,祝你好运!trendwatching.com logo

韩国流行歌手鸟叔亮相东方卫视春晚,教台湾女星林志玲和内地影星黄渤大跳他的江南Style。

Read more Mi Casa es Tu Casa



现在就注册!

1.我们每月免费版Trend Briefing(趋势简报)

2.我们的Premium Trend Service(高级付费服务)

查看您如何从Premium服务中获益

March 2013 Trend Briefing:
LOCALIZASIAN
Innovation in Asia, by Asia, for Asia set for rapid growth in 2013 and beyond.
LOCALIZASIAN

Clockwise from top left: Chinese youth in Japanese Cosplay at Chinajoy; the Korean reality show K-Pop Star Hunt cherry-picked and auditioned talent from the Asian region; Indonesian girls clad in hanbok, the Korean traditional dress; and a LG showroom in India.

Definition:

Asian consumers have never had higher expectations, while brands across Asia are producing ever more best-in-class products and services. No wonder the thirst among Asian consumers for products and services tailored to their needs – by regional brands who really understand them – is set to grow spectacularly.

Expect to see a boom in products ‘Made in Asia, for Asia, by Asia’ fueled* by:

  • The race for the Asian consumer, which has resulted in ever higher regional expectations, and therefore demand for products and services that get it ‘just right’.
  • The desire among Asian consumers for regional success, and the increased receptiveness of Asian consumers to increasingly best-in-class Asian brands.
  • The greater natural affinity that Asian brands have for regional consumer needs and wants.**

* There are key economic and political currents driving this trend too, such as the strengthening of regional trade blocs and the desire to decouple the region and protect against global economic shocks. But in this Trend Briefing we’ll keep focused on the consumer drivers.

** Yes, we know, there is of course no one ‘Asia’. From longtime Gangnam socialites in Seoul to emerging consumer classes in Cambodia, the ‘Asian consumer’ encompasses the whole spectrum of wealth, sophistication, lifestyles and expectations. But the point remains that brands from the region are better placed to understand and dissect these nuances than those outside.

Those drivers in more detail:

1. MATURING MARKETS

Rising numbers of affluent Asian consumers means that competition for their yuan, rupee, won, baht and rupiah is fiercer than ever.

The boom that has made Asia an economic and consumer powerhouse continues apace. In 2011, Asia accounted for just 14% of global consumer spending; by 2020 its share will be 25%, and by 2030 it will reach 40% (Ernst & Young, 2012).

Already, there are countless signs of Asia’s coming domination of the consumer arena. From global brands such as Estée Lauder paying homage with special MADE FOR CHINA (IF NOT BRIC) products and services, to Asian brands such as 'DAMN! I Love Indonesia' flaunting their culture in an orgy of CELEBRATION NATION, and brands like Lenovo driving growth in A2A (Asia-to-Asia) trade. Plenty more on these and more in our forthcoming exclusive Asia-Pacific Consumer Trend Report.

Pictured above:  Estée Lauder's Osiao skincare range, tailored to Chinese complexions; Apparel brand ‘DAMN! I Love Indonesia’; China-based Lenovo launching their smartphones in Indonesia

All this attention and subsequent choice means Asian consumers can, are, and will continue to become more demanding: seeking out best-in-class products and services that cater explicitly to their needs, wants and desires.



2. LOCAL LOVE

The traditional narrative runs that as Asian consumers become more affluent, they flaunt their new-found status by turning to established brands from ‘western’ markets. And this is true: just look at the success that luxury brands from the 'old world' of France and Italy have had in the region. But running counter to this is the deep-rooted desire for consumers in the region to see Asia succeed (alongside the ongoing political squabbles in the region, just witness the support for Jeremy Lin and Psy throughout Asia as they saw global fame in 2012).

All of which means that now Asian brands are competing with (if not exceeding), the best of the best on the global stage, Asian consumers are more eager to embrace Asian brands than ever before (see MADE BETTER IN CHINA for endless examples of leading Chinese brands). A glance at the trade statistics tells the story: while both global trade and Asia’s trade with outside economies has doubled since 2000, Asia-to-Asia trade has tripled (IMF, May 2012).

3. HOME ADVANTAGE

Whether as a result of shared values, operational experience in fast-growth economies, or a natural affinity for local nuances, Asian brands and businesses simply ‘get’ Asian consumers – their mindset, wants and needs – in ways that outside brands sometimes still struggle to.

Just see the way Chinese beer brand Tsingtao adapted their product around a traditional Chinese drinking practice (below): we haven't spotted any Belgian beer brands doing the same ;-)

Examples

Some recent examples of LOCALIZASIAN to learn from or run with:

Tsingtao: ‘Made for Chengdu’ adaptation

Credit: Dhannphotography

Chinese brewery Tsingtao has adapted its beer bottle for Chengdu consumers (how's that for truly regional LOCALIZASIAN?). The new bottle is larger – holding two or three pints – allowing for the beer to be poured into small cups and shared over Sichuan food. This mimics the traditional way that baijiu (a Chinese spirit) is communally drunk.

LG: India’s most trusted consumer durable brand

Korean LG Electronics has been pursing a dedicated ‘micro-localization’ strategy in India since 2010. The company now has 27 products tailored to the Indian market, including the Charcoal Lighting Heater Microwave, which includes an autocook menu with settings for over 130 Indian dishes (including naans, parathas, and tandoori items like murg tandoori and paneer tikkas). The brand was voted the most trusted consumer durable brand in India in 2012.

If you like our Trend Briefings, you’ll love our 2014 Premium Service

Your complete trend and innovation solution.


WeChat: Chinese messaging app caters to the region

Tencent’s WeChat, the Chinese voice, text and photo messaging service packed with features that resonate with Asian consumers (such as the ability to connect with nearby strangers at random) changed its name from 'Weixin', to have broader global appeal. In September 2012, the service added Hindi support for its Indian users, to add to its language add-ons for Thai, Vietnamese and Indonesian users. In December 2012 it was even made available on Blackberry's platform, catering to its Southeast Asian users.

HTC: Smartphones with Burmese language keyboards

In January 2013, Taiwan-based electronics firm HTC debuted six models of its smartphones in its first store in Yangon, Myanmar (Burma). All the phones were equipped with specially designed, localized font keyboards in the Burmese language. Myanmar has the lowest rate of mobile penetration in Asia.

Wangz: Adaptable boutique apartments for large groups and families

Singapore-based Wangz opened The Forest by Wangz serviced apartments in 2012. The apartments are designed to cater to the large family travel groups often found in the region. Each apartment has a kitchenette and communal dining area, allowing groups to cook or eat together. The building has also been designed with extra doors fitted in the corridors, so that several rooms can be privately sectioned off for large groups. One night at The Forest by Wangz costs from around SGD 250 (USD 204).

Eslite: Taiwanese bookstore brings 24-hour services to Hong Kong

In August 2012, Taiwanese bookstore Eslite opened its first overseas branch in Hong Kong, featuring experimental 24-hour opening times from Thursday through Saturday that are suited to the ‘night owl’ shopping habits and lifestyles of Hongkongers. In Taiwan, Eslite is famed for its 24/7 opening hours and the wide range of lifestyle goods that accompany its bookshelves, including stationery, children’s toys and music. It will open its first Mainland Chinese branch in Suzhou in 2014.



NEXT:

Want to get going on LOCALIZASIAN of your product or service? If you’re an Asian brand, remember:

  • Take advantage of your position (both the psychological and physical closeness) to tailor your products and services for (sub-)populations. Learn from the Wangz example above, and think about sizes, lifestyles, practices etc.
  • Local consumers will appreciate Asian brands that celebrate regional culture by re-shaping or integrating their products into established traditions or practices, and so honoring them; as Tsingtao did when they reimagined their beer bottle around a traditional Chinese drinking custom.
  • LOCALIZASIAN can be also as simple as tweaking an existing product or service (especially one that strongly appeals to Asian consumer desires) to cater to a new group of Asian consumers. Witness how WeChat have successfully expanded across the region by adding local language options to their already strongly ‘regionalized’ offering.

But if you’re a non-Asian brand doing business in Asiaor planning to – you also need to respond to the LOCALIZASIAN trend. That might mean creating a point of difference by explicitly stressing your ‘otherness’ (though think further than the traditional ‘higher quality’ narrative, as the quality gap is disappearing fast). Or seize the opportunity to partner with (if not buy) a local brand and engage in some true LOCALIZASIAN of your own.

Finally, even if you’re a non-Asian brand, operating outside Asia, with no plans to enter: don’t ignore LOCALIZASIAN. Remember: many of the Asian brands doing an expert job of LOCALIZASIAN will succeed, grow and beat out the competition in their local markets. So keep an eye on them: how long will it be before they start competing in your neighborhood, too?

LOCALIZASIAN is sweeping across the world’s most dynamic consumer arena in 2013. So whether you’re in Asia or outside: partake or perish!

Next? A new Trend Briefing next month, so make sure you're subscribed. Until then, good luck and enjoy! trendwatching.com logo

Korean popstar Psy shares his Gangnam Style moves with Taiwanese model-actress Lin Chi-Ling during the Shanghai Spring Festival TV Gala.


Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU