2013年10月Trend Briefing:
消费趋势图表
想理解并应用任何消费趋势?现在就开始吧。
消费趋势图表
下载可以打印的PDF版本

消费趋势的核心在于发现创新机会。否则这些趋势只是知识份子的意淫,消遣、令人愉悦、娱乐却没有多少真正的目的 ;)

我们常常听到有读者说“趋势”让人感觉神秘和难懂,因此这个月我们为您带来的是消费趋势图表而不是另一个大的消费趋势。

消费趋势图表:

这个易于遵循的构架不仅能帮助您解析理解任何的消费趋势,更帮助您基于该趋势加以利用,成功推出面向消费者的创新。

何时以及如何使用消费趋势图表:

  1. 下载可打印的空白图表
  2. 选择一项您想要进一步探索的趋势(可以是来自我们或是其他来源的趋势!)。
  3. 当您分析这一趋势,请在左边的“理解”一栏填上针对趋势的深入见解、数据和例子,然后使用右边的“应用”栏记录您的灵感和点子。
  4. 来回审视各部分之间的联系。某个部分的深入见解可能突显出趋势的其他元素并帮助您发现真正的新概念。
  5. 同时,请尝试用消费趋势图表来组织您与团队或是与客户间的创新讨论。当参与讨论的人都了解趋势的内涵以及如何最大化的利用这一趋势,相信您会收获令人惊喜的成果 ;)

趋势图表 - 消费趋势PRETAIL


请看下面的例子,使用我们之前发表过的趋势 PRETAIL

“PRETAIL:为什么消费者将众筹平台当作新的购物中心?现在的消费者需要更多创新的、激动人心的、独特的产品和服务,而在这个平台上有许多的创业者和初创公司为消费者提供比其他地方更好的选择。”

1. 理解

基本需求

这一趋势反映了消费者的哪些深入需求和渴望?

消费趋势以及更广泛意义上的消费行为最终是由那些基本的、最基础的、几乎不变的人类需求所驱动的。认识到这些潜在的需求是了解任何消费趋势的根本。

从哪里开始呢?请看下面的列表:

  • 社会地位
  • 自我提升
  • 娱乐
  • 兴奋感
  • 连接
  • 安全
  • 身份
  • 相关性
  • 社交互动
  • 创造力
  • 公平


趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

成为产品最早期的试用者所带来的地位兴奋感、与产品及其背后故事的连接性以及特殊的、小众的产品所带来的相关性是PRESUMERS趋势背后的驱动因素。

引起变化的因素

这一趋势目前为什么兴起?有哪些方面在改变?

没有一个消费趋势是一成不变的。机智和敏锐的商业精英不断的自问“消费趋势的哪些方面在改变?”他们关注那些能够以新颖的、激动人心的和更好的方式满足消费者基本需求和欲望的改变。

在分析趋势改变时,请考虑转变和触发两种情形:

  • 转变指的是那些长期的、宏观的变化,它不是消费趋势本身,但将在几年或是十几年的时间里塑造特定趋势的方向和特性。Euromonitor的未来五年全球10大宏观趋势对于目前正在影响世界的宏观转变作出了很好的总结归纳(比如城市转型、老龄化以及气候变化所带来的挑战)。
  • 触发是更加直接的变化,这种变化刺激某个消费趋势的兴起。包括特定科技的发展、政治事件、经济冲击、环境事故等等。例如,视觉化搜索技术的发展直接刺激了POINT-KNOW-BUY(指向即知)趋势的发展。

关注趋势背后的数据。快速增长或是突然的改变,即使这些变化的绝对数值可能很小也不要忽视。比如销量、消费者行为和态度、社交媒体的热议话题等等。

贴士:策略性的框架是分析外部变化的有用工具。比如PESTLE模型(政治、经济、社会、科技、法律和环境)以及该模型的多种形式的变形。

趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

转变

全球市场扁平化、创业壁垒降低以及创客文化的兴盛促使满足消费者各种需求的初创公司及创新者在数量和种类上都大为增加。

成熟的消费者越来越厌倦那些充斥各处的平淡无奇、大批量生产的产品和品牌。

触发

类似于Kickstarter的平台使生产者与消费者之间建立直接关系成为可能。

在网络和社交网站上越来越多使用的信息透明化和“真实”身份以公共问责制的方式降低了预先订购产品的感知风险。

数据点

  • 众筹平台的数量从2007年的100个增长到2012年的452 个( Massolution/The Economist,2012年5月)。
  • 2012年,通过捐赠获得回馈的众筹模式同比增长85% ,达到了14亿美元( Massolution , 2013年4月)。
  • Kickstarter宣称其美元集资量增长了238%,集资人数在2012年增长了134%。

新兴的消费者预期

上述变化创造了哪些新的消费者需求、欲望和期待?这一趋势是在何种环境下以何种方式满足这些需求的?

当外部变化作用于基本的人类需求,创造或是释放了新的需求、希望和欲望,新的消费趋势由此兴起。在识别这些新近兴起的需求、希望和欲望时,我们可以观察期望差距,即消费者所希望的和目前他们所拥有的之间的差距。

例如,严格形式主义的逐渐远去是具有历史意义的社会变化,这使得消费者热衷于那些更加“人性化”和放肆的品牌,比如Zappos、Ben & Jerry’s等一系列的品牌。社会环境中那些大型的、不道德的、恶劣的企业令消费者失望,也使他们热情拥抱那些透明的、诚实的 CLEAN SLATE BRANDS(拥有清白历史的品牌),比如Toms、Tesla等。

另一个例子:在音乐行业,数字技术使消费者期望能够以自己的方式获得无限的选择和即时访问的功能。ACCESSHIP的趋势正是对于这种期望的自然回应,如Spotify一类的服务则是该趋势的例证。

问问自己,那些热衷于某些品牌、产品和服务并且印证了某个趋势的消费者现在想要和期望*的是什么?

将您想到的答案写下来,使用如下这些提示(或是其他您能想到的提示)组织你的句子:

“……的能力/改进了获取……的方式/可以自由的……/获得来自……的自由/……的体验
……的服务/更实惠的……/质量更好的……/更加愉快的……/更加社交化的……”

*关注其他的行业。消费者不会将不同的行业区别对待。一旦某个行业内的质量和服务标准被建立起来,消费者不会在意为什么行业之间有所不同,相反的,他们会热衷于那些能够首先达到这一标准的品牌,不论这品牌来自您的竞争对手还是其他的初创企业。

趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

消费领域的丰富选择使我们可以预期,在不久的将来,不论多么的个人化和奇特,每一个小众市场和消费者口味都能被相应的(优秀)产品和服务所满足。

消费者很高兴有机会能够参与塑造他们所热衷的产品,而众筹平台使他们可以给出自己的反馈并有可能影响最终的产品,相比简单的购买传统型产品,这样的方式更好的满足了参与的欲望。

启发

其他的企业是如何应用这一趋势的?

相信读者们都知道我们总是用真实的例子来说明趋势。为什么?因为实际上通过观察其他的企业、创业者、非营利组织、甚至是政府就某个趋势已经采取的行动,我们能够很好的了解趋势并获得启发 ;)。

事实上,只有极少数的“创新”是过去没有过的全新产物。大多数(成功的)创新来自于将看似没有关联的元素进行组合或是将已有的事物放置到新的环境中。

因此请尝试观察现有的商业创新,了解* 他们而后将其应用于您的企业。为了获取尽可能广泛的视角,您可以特别关注其他的行业、地区、文化或是其他类型的商业(比如成熟企业对比初创公司)。

* 了解那些亲历趋势的人们的看法,即便这可能与您的个人喜好及愿望并不一致。

趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

目前的众筹平台丰富多样。Kickstarter是最大和最成熟的平台,而同时还有许多其他类型的网站存在,比如针对非营利项目的Razoo、针对应用程序的AppStori、针对电子游戏的Gambitious和针对超本地化的实体商业的Lucky Ant等!

2. 应用

如果说“理解”部分是为了帮助你分析“为什么”这一趋势能与特定的消费者产生共鸣以及该趋势可能的发展方向,那么“应用”部分则完全是为了发现这一趋势能为您的企业带来什么样的机会。

创新潜力

您能在何种环境下以何种方式将这一趋势应用于您的企业?

我们在很早之前就已经阐述过,在分析某个消费趋势时,可以从以下四个方面出发考虑该趋势将在何种环境下以何种方式影响您的企业:

  • 企业愿景
    该趋势潜在的深层次的转变将如何影响企业的长期愿景?
  • 商业模式
    您是否可以应用这一趋势开创新的企业和品牌?
  • 产品/服务/体验
    这一趋势是否能启迪您创造新的产品和服务?您将如何改进您目前的产品和服务?
  • 营销推广
    您如何将这一趋势用于市场营销及推广,并让消费者看到您了解他们并和他们站在同一阵营?

消费趋势能够触发的创新可大可小。
如果您是企业的CEO,您更感兴趣的可能是目前正在分析的消费趋势是否会对品牌造成毁灭性的破坏或是帮助创立新的品牌。如果您是品牌经理,您可能更多考虑的是如何将这一趋势应用于支持和改善市场营销活动。

并非所有的趋势都能同样适用于所有的企业或是地区
在何种环境下以何种方式应用趋势取决于您所在的企业。奢侈品牌可能会主动选择忽略 DEALER-CHIC的趋势。在亚洲,承认错误往往是一件丢脸面的事,因此FLAWSOME的趋势也相对的不那么适宜。

贴士:围绕您的品牌/目前的商业模式/产品范围和服务设计/营销列出20项设想。然后想象这一趋势可能将如何颠覆这些设想。您能在这一过程中发现些什么呢?

趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

  • 企业愿景
    • 亲自参与到生产过程将如何改变和塑造消费者的期望?
  • 商业模式
    • 您是否可以通过预售新产品使消费者感到兴奋并获得宝贵的用户反馈从而降低推出新产品的风险?
    • 您的品牌是否可以发布一个自有的PRETAIL平台?
    • 为何不借助于众筹平台并为那些愿意支付更多的消费者提供专属服务?
  • 产品/服务/体验
    • 你是否可以通过众筹开发今后的新产品?
    • 零售品牌为什么不拥抱这一趋势,与PRETAILER合作并给予成功的项目以展示的空间?
  • 营销推广
    • 你是否可以邀请消费者来参与产品众筹?对于成功完成集资的项目,市场推广可以宣传该产品通过众筹获得了多少资金。

对象

您可以面向哪些现有的或是新的消费群体应用这一趋势?有哪些方面是需要做出改变的?

当谈到“趋势”,许多人的第一反应就会想到人口统计学。当然,具有相同特征的消费者(比如年龄、收入、生活方式、社交圈子、地域等)常常有相似的品味和偏好。

然而在应用消费趋势时,不要将思路局限于目前正生活在这一趋势中的人。实际上,思考什么样的改动能使其他现存或是新的消费族群感到这一趋势与自己相关是获取创新的良好方式。

需要更多的灵感吗?那么看看边际市场中极端的用户正在做的事情。在发生进化并在大众市场中流行起来之前,新的消费行为通常是由特定的小众群体带动起来的。

趋势图表-消费趋势PRETAIL

PRETAIL目前的用户多为年轻、高文化水平、富裕的男性(即典型的网络尝鲜型消费者)。有哪些举措能够拓宽这一用户群体呢?一项保险条款可能使年龄较大的消费者也能参与预购买?发布更多针对女性消费者的产品?

或是将目标对准某个现存的或是新兴的小众市场?例如:首个针对奢侈品的PRETAIL平台?或是家居用品?食品?

消费趋势图表是一个帮助您了解并最大程度的利用那些您希望进一步探索的消费趋势的工具,但归根结底,它只是一个工具。

如果您想要很好的利用这一工具,就请立刻行动起来。下载一份可供打印的空白图表,选择一项趋势进行分析并开始填写。如果能安排一次与您的团队或是客户的讨论当然更好,看看你们能收获什么样的灵感。

最后的贴士:乐在其中。趋势观察的最终目的在于为您的顾客构想出激动人心的新产品和服务,不多不少,恰到好处。

无论您身在何处,市场中的机会数量都是多的惊人的。全球范围内数十亿的消费者不论是经验丰富的、苛刻的(有时候甚至是让人厌恶的)还是新型的、充满期待和期望的,都渴望品牌、产品和服务能使生活更精彩、更便宜、更高效、更环保、更丰富,简单说来就是比现有的生活更好。

您是否能够提供他们所需,还是由其他人占据先机呢?


决心要在趋势应用方面全力以赴吗?那么请了解我们的付费服务:在线的Premium Service(高级付费服务)(包括完整的趋势应用工具包),或者是面对面的 趋势应用工作坊。您的顾客将会感激您所做的努力 ;)

请确保您已经订阅以收到我们每月发布的免费版Trend Briefings,祝您好运! trendwatching.com logo

CONSUMER TREND CANVAS
Understand and apply any consumer trend. Today.
CONSUMER TREND CANVAS
Download as an easy-to-read PDF

Consumer trends are, at their heart, an essential part of uncovering innovation opportunities. Otherwise they’re just intellectual masturbation: diverting, pleasant and entertaining, but with little real purpose ;)

Yet we frequently hear that ‘trends’ feel mysterious and opaque. Which is where the CONSUMER TREND CANVAS* comes in.

*Generously 'inspired' by Alex Osterwalder's Business Model Canvas ;)

CONSUMER TREND CANVAS:

An easy-to-follow framework that will help you not only unpack and understand any consumer trend, but also help you apply it to launch successful consumer-facing innovations of your own.

How & when to use the CONSUMER TREND CANVAS:

  1. Download your blank Consumer Trend Canvas
  2. Take the trend that you are interested in exploring further (either from us, or elsewhere!).
  3. As you analyze the trend, fill out the left hand side of the canvas (‘Analyze’) with insights, data and examples. Then use the ‘Apply’ section on the right hand side to capture your ideas.
  4. Keep on circling back to re-examine how the segments relate to each other. Insights in one segment may highlight other elements of the trend and help you uncover truly novel concepts.
  5. Also, try using it to structure an innovation session with your team or a client. Then enjoy that ‘a-ha!’ moment as people both understand what a trend is all about, and how to make the most of it ;)

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example


Check out the worked example below, using our PRETAIL trend:

“PRETAIL: A mode of consumption that sees consumers treat crowdfunding platforms as the new shopping malls. Why? Because that's where current consumer demand for the most innovative, exciting and unique products are being served better than anywhere else, by an army of entrepreneurs and start-ups.”

Let's get started:

1. ANALYZE

Basic Needs

What deep consumer needs & desires does this trend address?

Consumer trends – and consumer behaviors more broadly – are ultimately driven by basic, fundamental, rarely-if-ever-changing human needs and desires. Identifying these underlying needs is central to understanding any consumer trend.

Where to start? How about these:

  • Social status
  • Self-improvement
  • Entertainment
  • Excitement
  • Connection
  • Security
  • Identity
  • Relevance
  • Social interaction
  • Creativity
  • Fairness
  • Honesty
  • Freedom
  • Recognition
  • Simplicity
  • Transparency

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

PRESUMERS are driven by the status and excitement of being ultra-early adopters, the connection to the product & the story, and the increased relevance that specific, niche products can offer.

Drivers of Change

Why is this trend emerging now? What’s changing?

There are no consumer trends without change. Savvy and switched-on business professionals constantly ask ‘What’s changing?’, looking for shifts that make it possible to service consumers’ basic needs and wants in novel, exciting – better – ways.

To analyze change, think Shifts and Triggers:

  • Shifts are the long-term, macro changes that are playing out across years or even decades, that while not consumer trends themselves, will shape both the direction and flavor of a specific trend. For a good summary of the macro shifts currently shaping the world, see Euromonitor’s 10 Global Macro Trends for the Next Five Years (such as urban transition, ageing world and climate challenge).
  • Triggers are the more immediate changes that drive the emergence of a consumer trend. These can include specific technologies, political events, economic shocks, environmental incidents, and more. For example, developments in visual search technologies are driving the POINT-KNOW-BUY trend.

Look at the data behind the trend. Rapid growth or sudden shifts, even if the absolute numbers might be small, are worth attention. Think sales volumes, consumer behaviors or attitudes, social media chatter, etc.

TIP: Strategic frameworks can be useful tools to analyze external change. Check out the PESTLE model (Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Legal and Environmental) and its various adaptations.

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

Shifts

The flattening of the global marketplace, falling barriers for entrepreneurs and the booming maker culture, all fuel the number and variety of startups and innovators serving every consumer need.

Experienced consumers are increasingly bored with the abundance of bland, mass-produced products and brands.

Triggers

Platforms such as Kickstarter enable direct producer-consumer relationships.

Increased use of transparent and ‘real’ identities online (on social networks) reduces the perceived risk of pre-ordering products via a sense of public accountability.

Data Points

  • Number of crowdfunding platforms grew from 100 in 2007 to 452 in 2012 (Massolution/The Economist, May 2012).
  • In 2012 donations & reward-based crowdfunding grew 85% to USD 1.4 billion (Massolution, April 2013).
  • Kickstarter reported growth rates of 238% in USD pledged, and 134% in the number of people pledging money in 2012.

Emerging Consumer Expectations

What new consumer needs, wants and expectations are created by the changes identified above? Where and how does this trend satisfy them?

New consumer trends emerge when basic human needs bump up against external change to create (or unlock) new needs, wants and desires. When identifying these newly emerging needs, wants and desires, look for expectation gaps between what consumers want, and what they currently have.

For example, the epic social shift away from strict formality has led to people embracing more ‘human’ and irreverent brands such as Zappos, Ben & Jerry’s and a whole host of others. Disillusionment with the big, bad and dirty corporate world continues to stoke consumer enthusiasm for transparent, honest CLEAN SLATE BRANDS (from Toms to Tesla).

Another example: in the music industry, digital technologies triggered consumers to expect infinite choice and instant access to music, on their terms. The ACCESSHIP trend – exemplified by services such as Spotify – was a natural response.

Ask yourself, what do the consumers embracing the brands, products and services that exemplify this trend now want and even expect*?

Write down answers, using these prompts (and others you can think of) to start your sentences:

“The ability to… / Improved access to… / Freedom to… / Freedom from… / The experience of…
A service that… / A more affordable… / A better quality… / A more enjoyable… / A more social…”

* Pay careful attention to other industries. Consumers don’t think in industry silos. Once a level of quality or service has been established in one industry, consumers won’t care about why it’s ‘different’ in your industry. Rather, they’ll enthusiastically rush to whoever gets it right first (whether that’s your competitor, or a new start-up).

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

Thanks to the abundance of choice in the consumer arena, it’s now expected that that there will be a (brilliant) product or service out there that caters to every niche or taste, no matter how individual or bizarre.

Consumers relish the chance to be involved with products they care passionately about, and crowdfunding platforms – where they can offer feedback and potentially shape the final product – satisfy this desire better than simply buying traditional products.

Inspiration

How are other businesses applying this trend?

Regular readers will know that we always turn to real-world examples to illustrate trends. Why? Because actually seeing what other businesses, entrepreneurs, non-profits, governments even, are already doing with the trend is a great way to better understand it (and gain inspiration ;).

Indeed, very few ‘innovations’ are totally new. Most (successful) innovation comes from combining seemingly unrelated elements, or taking something and deploying it in a new context.

So try this: look at existing business innovations, understand* them, then adapt them to your business. To gain as wide a perspective as possible, look specifically at other industries, other regions or cultures, or other types of business (e.g. corporate versus start-ups).

* Understand from the point of view of those people living this trend, which of course may not necessarily align with your own personal likes and aspirations.

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

Look at the diversity of crowdfunding platforms. While Kickstarter is the largest and most well-established, there are plenty of other sites that co-exist. Check out Razoo (for non-profits), AppStori (apps), Gambitious (video games), Lucky Ant (hyper-local physical businesses) and more!

If you like our Trend Briefings, you’ll love our 2014 Premium Service

Your complete trend and innovation solution.

2. APPLY

If the ‘ANALYZE’ section of the canvas helps you dissect ‘why’ this trend resonates with certain consumers, and how it might develop, the ‘APPLY’ section is all about identifying what opportunities this trend can present for your business.

Innovation Potential

How and where could you apply this trend to your business?

We’ve long said that when thinking about a consumer trend, it helps to consider how and where it could impact your business using these four areas:

  • Vision
    How will the deeper shifts underlying this trend shape your company’s long-term vision?
  • Business Model
    Can you apply this trend to launch a whole new business venture or brand?
  • Product / Service / Experience
    What new products and services could you create in light of this trend? How will you adapt your current products and services?
  • Campaign
    How can you incorporate this trend into your campaigns, and show consumers you speak their language, that you ‘get it’.

So, consumer trends can trigger both BIG and ‘small’ innovations.
If you’re the CEO, you’re probably more interested in whether the consumer trend you’re analyzing is going to lead to deep, brand-shattering (or -building!) disruption. If you’re a brand manager, you’ll be thinking more about how to use the trend to inform and improve your marketing campaigns.

Not all trends will apply equally to all businesses or regions.
How and where you apply the trend will depend on your business. A luxury brand may actively choose to ignore the DEALER-CHIC trend. In Asia, where admitting error means a loss of face, the FLAWSOME trend is less relevant. For now.

TIP: List 20 assumptions about your brand/ current business model/ product range & service design/ marketing. Then imagine how this trend might overturn them. What do you uncover?

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

  • Vision
    • How will participating in the production process change & shape consumer expectations?
  • Business Model
    • Could you de-risk your new product pipeline by pre-selling new products to build excitement and gain valuable feedback?
    • Could your brand launch a PRETAIL platform of your own?
    • Why not take a leaf from crowdfunding platforms and offer exclusive perks for those who pay more?
  • Product / Service / Experience
    • Could you crowdfund your next new product(s)?
    • Retail brands, why not embrace this trend and partner with a PRETAILER and give successful projects shelf space?
  • Campaign
    • Could you invite consumers to crowdfund products? For successfully funded projects, campaigns could promote how much money a product raised via crowdfunding.

Who

Which (new) customer groups could you apply this trend to? What would you have to change?

Say ‘trends’ and many people instantly think of demographics. And of course, consumers that share certain traits (whether in age, income, lifestyle, tribe, location etc.) will often have similar tastes and preferences.

But when it comes to applying consumer trends, try thinking beyond those who are currently living the trend. Indeed, thinking about what changes you would have to make, to make this trend relevant for other (new) demographics is a great way to come up with new innovations.

Need further inspiration? Then look to the margins and at what extreme users are currently doing. New consumer behaviors usually start with certain (niche) segments, before evolving and spreading throughout the mass market.

Trend Canvas - PRETAIL example

PRETAIL is currently the preserve of younger, more educated, wealthier, more male consumers (i.e. typical online early adopters). What changes could you make to broaden this demographic? An insurance policy that might convince older consumers to purchase items? A site that curated more female-orientated products?

What about targeting a specific (new) niche? For example: when will we see the first luxury PRETAIL platform? Homeware? Food?

Yes, the CONSUMER TREND CANVAS is a tool that will help you understand and make the most of a consumer trend you're interested in exploring further, but in reality, it's just that: a tool.

In order to make the most of it, you need to actually do something with it. Start now. Download a printable blank canvas, grab a trend, and start filling it in. Or even better, schedule a session with your team or a client and see what you come up with.

One final tip: have some fun. Trend watching is about coming up with (and launching) exciting new products and services for your customers, nothing more and nothing less.

No matter where in the world you are currently reading this, the number of opportunities out there right now is truly staggering. Around the globe, billions of consumers - from the experienced, demanding (and yes sometimes jaded), to the new, expectant and aspirational - crave brands, products and services that make life more exciting, cheaper, more efficient, more sustainable, richer and simply better than it currently is.

Will it be you that delivers, or someone else?


Want to go all out on applying trends? Then check out our paid services: either our online Premium Service (which comes with a full Apply Toolkit), or our in-person APPLY Workshops. Your customers will thank you ;)

Do make sure you're subscribed to all our free monthly Trend Briefings, and good luck in applying the trends! trendwatching.com logo



Sign up now!

1.Our free Monthly Trend Briefings

2.Our 2014 Premium Service

See how Premium will benefit YOU