您现在正在阅读2012年12个趋势中的一部分。 点击阅读全部12个趋势 »


11. EMERGING MATURIALISM

新兴成熟化
在2012年,那些直率的、甚至是露骨的产品和市场推广活动将受到传统意义上“保守”的新兴市场的消费者的欢迎。

正如我们很早之前对于MATURIALISM的阐述:“许多消费者曾充分的接触过甚至是创造过许多毫无约束、主观武断、未经修饰的内容(特别是来自网络世界的!),这些有经验的消费者已经不满足于被当成是过去那些轻易就被震惊、缺乏经验的、中庸的受众来对待。他们能够接受更为坦诚的对话、更大胆的创新、更离奇的口味、更露骨的体验,这些消费者越来越希望品牌能够挑战自身的界限。”

这个趋势主要适用于成熟消费市场的消费者,但在2012年我们将更多的看到MATURIALISTIC在新兴市场的表现。

为什么呢?尽管许多文化差异可能仍然存在,全球消费阶层在需求层面却有着显著的一致性,此外,进一步的城市化也推动着这种一致性向着联系更紧密、自发性更强、更倾向于尝试的方向发展。因此,那些来自中国、印度或是土耳其的企业,或是那些希望向新兴市场销售的西方品牌可以在2012年尝试这一趋势。

例子:


  • 2011年,印度Diesel在店内打出的促销标语写到:“性当然是卖点,但不幸的是,我们只出售牛仔裤”。消费150美元以上的客户将获得一个包装的像情趣玩具的人造革护膝,包装上印刷着露骨的复古漫画,写着“条件反应护具”。
  • 印度的个人护理品牌Cardiograph Corporation于2011年3月发布的 Sanitol洗手液的广告中,一个男人正在接触他人的私密部位,而另一个人正在掏同事的鼻孔。广告暗示消费者可能接触到的各种细菌,以证明消费者为什么要使用洗手液消毒以保持清洁。

  • 为了提高消费者对妇科健康的认识,美国制药品牌Johnson & Johnson(强生)公司于2011年9月期间在中国进行了广告推广。网站上名为“小V日记”的商业宣传片包含有一个精致的微型网站的链接,消费者在该站点可以看到一篇虚构的,30页的有关妇女性健康的日记,这本虚拟小册子里的文章包含了有关人际关系、性生活、时尚和友谊的各种信息。

You are reading one of the 12 TRENDS FOR 2012. Read all 12 trends here »


11. EMERGING MATURIALISM

Why in 2012, experienced, open-minded consumers in traditionally ‘conservative’ emerging markets will embrace campaigns and products that are frank if not risqué.


This is what we said about MATURIALISM a while ago: “Thoroughly exposed to (if not participating in) an uncensored, opinionated and raw world (especially online!), experienced consumers no longer tolerate being treated like yesteryear’s easily shocked, inexperienced, middle-of-the-road audiences. Able to handle much more honest conversations, more daring innovations, more quirky flavors, more risqué experiences, these consumers increasingly appreciate brands that push the boundaries.”

This mainly applied to consumers in mature consumer societies, but in 2012 we will see more and more MATURIALISTIC manifestations in emerging markets too.

Why? For all the many cultural differences that may exist, the global consumer class is remarkably alike in its needs and wants, not to mention more urban too (read: more connected, more spontaneous and more try-out-prone). So if you’re a Chinese or Indian or Turkish brand, or you’re a Western brand selling to emerging markets, 2012 is the year that you can push things a bit further.

Examples:


  • In 2011, Diesel India ran an in-store promotion headlined with the phrase 'Sex sells. Unfortunately we sell jeans' that offered a spoof sex toy to customers spending over USD 150. The leatherette 'Knee J' knee pads came boxed in packaging featuring risqué retro cartoons and the tagline "Knee Jerk Reactions Guaranteed."
  • Released in March 2011, Indian personal care brand Cardiograph Corporation's hand sanitizer Sanitol's ad campaign shows one man touching another's intimate area and another picking his colleague's nose. The ads hint at the kind of germs that consumers might have on their hands, and proving why they should use sanitizer to keep clean.

  • US pharmaceutical brand Johnson & Johnson created an advertising campaign in China during September 2011 to raise awareness about gynecological health. A video commercial advertising a diary purportedly written by “V” (vagina, “小V日记” in Chinese) took internet users to a dedicated microsite where users could view a fictional online diary written about women's sexual health. The 30-page virtual booklet had articles and information on relationships and sex as well as fashion and friendship.