您现在正在阅读2012年12个趋势中的一部分。 点击阅读全部12个趋势 »


4. ECO-CYCOLOGY

回收的下一个阶段?品牌回收其所有产品并以负责的和创新的方式进行循环再利用。

在经济衰退时期,人们往往偏重于经济利益,放弃了对生态环境的考虑,然而如何建立更加可持续发展的生活方式仍然将是未来几年内最为迫切的问题。我们在众多的“绿色”趋势中选择了一个作为2012年的关键趋势之一:品牌回收消费者手中的旧产品以建设性的方式对其进行再利用

正如我们最近发布的Trend BriefingRECOMMERCE所提到的,消费者逐渐开始意识到过去购买的物品所具有的经济价值、物质价值和生态价值。而面对许许多多种环保的方式,消费者尽可以选择其中的任何一种。 我们将这种快速增长、形成了完整闭环的回收循环模式称作ECO-CYCOLOGY。这样的循环系统有时由新的法案所带动,而有时由一些颇有远见的企业所推动。这些项目使消费者在2012年再没有理由不参与到循环再利用的环保行动中来。

* ECO-CYCOLOGY不仅仅是以品牌为主导的现象。在意识到其重要性后,美国的许多城市,如圣迭戈、西雅图和旧金山等已制定了各自的强制回收法律。同样的,欧洲议会投票通过了针对电子垃圾处理的更为严格的法规,要求在2012年各成员国电子废物回收量达到平均每个公民4公斤的水平,从而在2016年实现85%的电子废物得到妥善处理。

一些例子:


  • 美国户外品牌Patagonia推行的Common Threads Initiative计划回收卖出后已经达到既有产品寿命的服装并将其循环转化成新的纤维或织物。该公司称,迄今已回收45吨的服装用于循环再造,制成了34吨的新衣物。
  • Nike(耐克)的Reuse-A-Shoe 项目收集和回收废旧的耐克鞋和制鞋过程中产生的废料。旧鞋被切片、分离、研磨成“耐克研磨料”,该材料可被用于铺设运动场和游乐场的地面,或是再次生产成各式的耐克产品。
  • 法国美容品牌Garnier(卡尼尔)于2011年4月与美国的环保公益组织Terracycle合作,通过Personal Care Beauty Brigade(个人护理与美容巡回活动)收集和回收个人护理和美容类产品。活动团队在美国各城市之间巡回,参与者可以用美容产品的废旧包装换取相应的积点或奖金。废旧包装被循环再利用,制造成了美国各地的游乐场设施。用户也可以通过UPS邮递达到一定数量的废旧产品包装,邮费由卡尼尔公司提供。
  • Dell(戴尔)与美国慈善机构Goodwill 合作推出的Dell Reconnect计划使用户可以将任何品牌的电子产品带到Goodwill位于美国或加拿大的2200多家分店中的任何一家进行翻新或回收再利用。

You are reading one of the 12 TRENDS FOR 2012. Read all 12 trends here »


4. ECO-CYCOLOGY

Next for recycling? Brands taking back all of their products (and recycling them responsibly and innovatively).


While in times of recession, economic interests tend to overrule eco-causes, the quest for a more sustainable lifestyle will remain a most pressing issue for years to come. We picked one ‘green’ trend (out of many) for this 2012 list: the phenomenon of brands helping consumers recycle by taking back all old items from customers, and then actually doing something constructive with them.

Because, as our recent Trend Briefing on RECOMMERCE introduced, consumers are increasingly aware not only of the financial value in their past purchases, but the material and ecological value of ‘stuff’ as well. Insert your own eco or generous angle [here]. We have dubbed this all-encompassing recycling on steroids ‘ECO-CYCOLOGY’. Sometimes prompted by new legislation*, sometimes by brands seeing the light (yes, it happens), these programs leave consumers no excuse to not recycle in 2012.

* ECO-CYCOLOGY mentality is more than a just brand-led phenomenon; realizing its importance, various cities or states in US (San Diego, Seattle and San Francisco to name a few) have enacted their own mandatory recycling laws. Likewise, The European Parliament has voted for tougher regulations on the disposal of electronic trash, requiring each country to collect 4 kilos of e-waste per citizen by 2012, and to process 85% of all its electronic waste by 2016.

Examples:


  • As part of US outdoor brand Patagonia’s Common Threads Initiative, any item bought from Patagonia that has reached the end of its ‘life’ can be returned for recycling into new fiber or fabric. The company claims to have so far taken back 45 tons of clothing for recycling and made 34 tons into new clothes.
  • Nike’s trailblazing Reuse-A-Shoe scheme (first launched waaay back in1990!) has collected and recycled over 25 million pairs of worn-out Nike shoes to-date. Old shoes are sliced, separated and ground up into a material called Nike Grind, which is then used in creating athletic and playground surfaces, as well as a variety of Nike products.
  • French beauty brand Garnier began partnering with US based environmental charity Terracycle in April 2011 to host the Personal Care and Beauty Brigade program. Offering free collection and recycling of all personal care and beauty related products, the brigade traveled between US cities, where attendees could recycle beauty packaging (and be awarded points or money). The waste packaging is then used to make playground equipment across the US. Filled bags could also be sent via UPS for free, with Garnier meeting all costs.
  • Dell runs Dell Reconnect in partnership with Goodwill Industries. The scheme allows users to take their electrical equipment, from any brand, to one of Goodwill’s 2,200+ participating locations in the United States or Canada, where it will then be refurbished or recycled.