您现在正在阅读2012年12个趋势中的一部分。 点击阅读全部12个趋势 »


5. CASH-LESS

无现金化
一个无现金化的未来几乎已经形成,这将是一个融合了支付、奖励和折扣机制的生态系统。

无现金化社会的主题自2005年以来已经在各个趋势简报中被多次提及。在2012年,虽然全体消费者放弃硬币和纸币,转而通过智能手机付费的情况还不会出现,但谷歌和MasterCard(万事达卡)将在这一年作为主要的推动者在世界各地积极推出各项无现金化的方案*。对于消费者来说,最初尝试的动机是使用的便捷性,但移动支付终将创造一个全新的、以数据为基础的、融合了奖励、购买历史记录、折扣机制等环节的生态系统。

*许多的无现金化方案使用了NFC(近场通信技术),该技术允许两个接近的设备("近场")互相交换加密的数据。例如:零售收银机上安装了读取器后,那些预先将信用卡信息存储在NFC智能手机中的购物者可以使用手机靠近或轻敲读取器进行付款,而不再需要使用实体的信用卡进行支付。

一些2012年需要关注的CASH-LESS方案:


  • 2011年10月,谷歌的NFC(近场通信)移动支付系统Google Wallet(谷歌钱包)开始在美国各地的零售连锁店进行免费推广。授权使用万事达卡PayPass技术的购物者只需在销售点的特殊终端上轻敲移动设备就可即时支付。在参与该项活动的商店,选择使用谷歌钱包支付的消费者可以兑换特殊的优惠券,参加促销活动或获得会员卡积分。

  • 2011年6月,​​美国在线支付处理系统PayPal演示了一个Android设备的移动支付应用。安装了应用程序的用户在激活PayPal组件后可以请求向其它个人PayPal帐户发送或接收资金,通过NFC技术,用户之间可以通过移动设备间的接触实现资金的转移。

  • 电子支付服务Square使用户通过一个可连接到iPhone、iPad或Android设备的便携式读卡器接受信用卡付款。Square读写器和应用程序都是免费的,但是每次付款将产生2.75%的手续费。一旦安装好该系统,用户可以立即接受付款。2011年11月,Richard Branson (著名的英国商人、维珍集团董事长)和 Visa成为了该企业的投资者。同样也是在11月,Square发布了该应用程序的更新版本,用户可以通过说出自己的姓名完成支付,整个过程甚至不需要用到输入等操作。
  • 2011年6月在瑞典推出的iZettle是一个使消费者能够移动接收信用卡付款的装置。便携式的芯片和密码识别器可以连接到使用iZettle应用程序的iPhone 或 iPad设备,即时完成刷卡交易。该设备还可用于账单支付或转账交易,其中的一项功能可以标记消费的图像、票据和位置信息,以方便用户张贴到Facebook和Twitter上与朋友分享自己的购买信息。

图片来源:antimega

  • 2011年11月,德国铁路的主要运营商Deutsche Bahn将Touch&Travel服务推广到了所有的320个车站中。乘客可以使用NFC或通过摄像头提取条形码以支付车票。

You are reading one of the 12 TRENDS FOR 2012. Read all 12 trends here »


5. CASH-LESS

Why a cashless future is (almost) here, and why it will be about convenience and an entire new eco-system of payments, rewards and offers.


Sure, the cashless society has been popping-up in every trend list since 2005. And while 2012 (again) is not going to be the year that consumers en masse will forego coins and notes and just swipe their smartphones, it is going to be the year that major players like Google and MasterCard will actively roll out their cashless initiatives* around the world. For consumers, the initial lure will be convenience, but eventually mobile payments will create an entirely new data-driven eco-system of rewards, purchase history, deals and so on.

* Many of these initiatives incorporate NFC (Near Field Communication), which allows for encrypted data exchange between two devices in close proximity ("near field") to each other. For instance: a reader located next to a retail cash register. Shoppers who have their credit card information stored in their NFC smartphones can pay for purchases by waving their smartphones near or tapping them on the reader, rather than using an actual credit card.

Just a few of the CASH-LESS initiatives to keep an eye on in 2012:


  • In October 2011, Google's free, NFC-enabled mobile payment system Google Wallet became operational at a selection of retail chains across the US. Licensing MasterCard’s PayPass technology, shoppers simply tap their mobile device on special terminals at points-of-sale to pay instantly. In participating stores, they can also redeem special coupons, participate in sales promotions or gain loyalty points, simply by choosing to pay with Google Wallet.

  • In June 2011, US online payments processor PayPal demonstrated a mobile payments application for Android devices. Users install the app and activate the PayPal widget, and can then request to send or receive funds from another individual with a smartphone and PayPal account. Using NFC, the two users can then hold their devices together in order to instantly transfer funds.

  • Square is an electronic payments service which enables users to accept credit card payments by using a card-reading portable device connected to their iPhone, iPad or Android device. Both the Square card-reader and app are free, although there is a 2.75% charge for each payment made. Once the system has been set up, users can accept payments immediately. In November 2011, Richard Branson and Visa became investors in the venture. In the same month, Square updated the app, allowing for a completely hands-free payment experience by simply saying your name.
  • Launched in Sweden in June 2011, iZettle is a device that enables consumers to accept credit card payments while on the go. The portable chip and pin reader plugs into iPhones or iPads and uses an iZettle app, meaning that card transactions can take place instantly. Bills can also be paid or money transferred using the device. There's a facility to tag transactions with images, notes or location data, which users can post to Facebook and Twitter to share their purchases with friends.

Image courtesy of antimega

  • In November 2011 Deutsche Bahn, Germany’s main rail operator, extended its Touch&Travel service to all its 320 stations. Passengers can either use NFC to pay, or take a photo of a barcode as they enter and exit stations.