您现在正在阅读2012年12个趋势中的一部分。 点击阅读全部12个趋势 »


6. BOTTOM OF THE URBAN PYRAMID

城市金字塔的底部
2012年,在迎合数百万计低收入城市消费者的市场有着前所未有的机会。

全球高度城市化的趋势在2012年不会有所减缓,在此因素的影响下,处在城市金字塔底部(BOUP)的消费者(也就是数百万计薪金未达到中产阶级水平的CITYSUMERS)将比以往任何时候都更加期待那些为其量身定制的创新:比如针对健康问题、空间利用以及产品耐久性的创新。与此同时,BOUP消费者同样有对物质的崇尚和美学需求。

一些例子:


  • NCR公司开发的Pillar ATM利用生物识别技术,使文盲和半文盲用户也能完成操作。该设备由非接触式智能卡读卡器、生物指纹扫描仪​​、快速现金按钮、自动给钞机和收据打印机组成。用户可以通过在传感器上扫描拇指指纹,点击选择不同颜色的按钮以取出不同数额的现金。2011年第三季度,NCR开始在美国测试五台原型机,并计划今后能在发展中国家市场进行推广。

  • 于印度海得拉巴制造的Aakash是一台基于Android、具有WiFi功能的平板电脑,该设备成本低廉但却功能齐全,预计的零售价格为60美元,而针对学生的优惠价格为35美元左右(差价由印度政府资助)。

  • PepsiCo(百事)印度 正在对两种产品进行市场测试:Lehar Gluco Plus(一款含电解质和葡萄糖的饮料)以及Lehar Iron Chusti(一款强化食品)。这两种产品都以那些城市中和乡村中处在金字塔底部的消费者为目标群体 (资料来源:经济日报,2011年6月)。

You are reading one of the 12 TRENDS FOR 2012. Read all 12 trends here »


6. BOTTOM OF THE URBAN PYRAMID

In 2012, the opportunities to cater to hundreds of millions of low-income urban consumers will be unprecedented.


Driven by extreme urbanization on a global scale that will not slow down in 2012, expect more BOTTOM OF THE URBAN PYRAMID (BOUP) consumers than ever (the hundreds of millions of CITYSUMERS who don’t have middle-class salaries to spend) to demand innovation tailored to their unique circumstances, from health issues to lack of space to the need for durability. And remember, BOUP consumers have materialistic and aesthetic desires too.

Some examples:

  • Developed by NCR, the Pillar ATM harnesses biometric technologies, making it suitable for use by illiterate and semi-literate populations. The device features a contactless card reader, a biometric fingerprint scanner, fast cash buttons, a dispenser and a receipt printer. Users of the free-standing device can simply place their thumb on the sensor and push the color-coded button for the amount of cash they want to take out. In Q3 2011, NCR began testing five prototype Pillar ATMs in the US, with the aim of launching the device in developing markets.

  • Aakash is an Android-based, wifi-enabled tablet computer, manufactured in Hyderabad, India as a low-cost but full functioning device. It is expected to be sold for USD 60 in retail stores, and (subsidized by the Government of India) to students for around USD 35.

  • PepsiCo India is test-marketing two products: Lehar Gluco Plus, a beverage with electrolytes and glucose, and Lehar Iron Chusti, a fortified iron snack. Both are aimed at consumers at the bottom of the pyramid — in urban (and rural) areas (Source: Economic Times, June 2011).