您正在阅读的是2013年10大消费趋势中的一项。点击查看全部10个趋势 »

9. FULL FRONTAL

正面全裸

“不仅仅是透明,更是带着自豪的裸露;-)”

2013年,针对透明的大趋势是什么呢?品牌必须“毫无隐瞒”发展到积极展示和证明自己对消费者没有任何的隐瞒;抛弃那些所谓“价值”或“文化”的高谈阔论,将直白和明确的证据、直接的结果展示给消费者。

当然不是所有的消费者都如此苛刻,但当企业的完全透明涉及到公共卫生安全,即使是那些宽容的消费者也将会期望品牌能够在社会道德和环保责任方面向那些确实关心这些问题的人证明自己。

一些数据:

  • 2012年,全球消费者中信任企业会跟随正确社会价值观的百分比从2011年的56%下降到了53%(来源:Edelman,2012年1月)。
  • 在欧洲,仅有8%左右的人认为品牌对自己的生活做出了积极的贡献,这一数字在美国为5%。有趣的是,在中国和拉丁美洲,这一数字分别为57%和30%(资料来源:Havas,2012年2月)。
  • 69%的美国消费者表示,他们更倾向于购买那些公布企业社会责任成果的品牌,与之对比的是,有31%的消费者会选择购买那些谈论企业社会责任愿景和目的的品牌(来源:Cone Communications,2012年10月)。
  • 只有44%的美国人相信企业的环保主张(来源:Cone Inc.,2012年3月)。

虽然下面的例子大部分都与食物有关,但其我们想要传达的道理是明确的:只有那些对自己的品牌和产品拥有极大信心的企业才能够做到FULL FRONTAL*

还在担心如果企业走向FULL FRONTAL顾客将会如何反应吗?或许在2013年您应该担心的是如果品牌这样做消费者会怎么想。

*如果您仍然觉得这一策略具有风险,请试着重新阅读我们的趋势简报FLAWSOME,相信该文能让您意识到即使不能做到完美也并不意味着世界末日的来临,品牌的动机才是最重要的。




麦当劳:菜单上的卡路里数据

2012年9月,麦当劳开始在美国的所有常规餐厅和得来速餐厅内的菜单上公布食物的热量数值。该品牌同时也开始推广“低于400卡路里套餐系列”,其中包括热量较低的麦香鱼、麦满分等产品。

Natura:在年度报告中公布未达成的社会环保目标

去年年末,巴西的环保化妆品品牌Natura在发布的年度报告中公布了企业所有的环保任务列表,而其中的一些项目如耗水量、员工培训时间、减少固体废物被标记为“未达成”,报告中同时针对这些未达成项目调整了2012年的指标。

一亩田:中国有机农场

考虑到中国消费者对于食品安全的关注,有机农场一亩田在其高科技农场中采用了数字跟踪系统,利用计算机控制温度调节、照明和浇水。产品使用的可溯性条码系统使消费者可以跟踪食品的生长过程,消费者还可以通过摄像头查看蔬菜的生长情况。截至2012年10月,该农场已经获得了来自上海6万多个家庭的订单。

Kimitachi:网络摄像头监控寿司制作

2012年9月,在巴西城市弗洛里亚诺波利斯获得试点成功之后,日本餐厅Kimitachi在库里提巴开设了另一家加盟店。订购外卖食物的顾客可以通过安装在餐厅厨房的视频系统看到食物的制作过程,Kimitachi希望通过这一系统提供“人性化的寿司外卖体验”并在食物制作上更为透明。

You are reading one of the 10 TRENDS FOR 2013. Go back to the main summary page »

9. FULL FRONTAL

“Not just transparent, but naked and proud ;-)”

So what’s next for the mega-trend of transparency? Brands must move from ‘having nothing to hide’, to pro-actively showing and proving they have nothing to hide, and go beyond uttering lofty statements on 'values' or 'culture' to real, unambiguous and clear evidence, or statements about actual results.

No, not all consumers will be this demanding, but as total transparency becomes a hygiene factor, even those that aren’t will expect brands to prove their ethical and environmental credentials to those that do care.

Some stats:

  • The percentage of global consumers who trust business to do what is right fell from 56% in 2011 to 53% in 2012 (Source: Edelman, January 2012).
  • The proportion of people saying brands making a notable positive contribution to their lives is around 8% in European markets, and 5% in the US. Interestingly, the comparable figures in in China and Latin America are 57% and 30% respectively (Source: Havas, February 2012).
  • 69% of US consumers said they are more likely to buy from a brand that talks publicly about its CSR results, versus the 31% who would purchase from a brand that talks about its CSR mission and purpose (Source: Cone Communications, October 2012).
  • Only 44% of Americans trust companies’ green claims (Source: Cone Inc., March 2012).

While the bulk of the examples below might be food-related, the takeaway is clear... Only brands that have the utmost confidence in their product (and themselves) will be able to go FULL FRONTAL*.


If you’re wondering what will your customers say if you go FULL FRONTAL, the real question for 2013 will be what they will think if you don’t?

* For those that find this scary, then re-reading our FLAWSOME Trend Briefing should help convince you that it won’t be the end of the world if things aren’t perfect. It’s the intent that matters.




McDonald’s: Calorie information on menus

September 2012 saw McDonald’s begin publishing calorie information on all its restaurant menus and drive-thru windows in the US, while the company also began promoting its ‘Favorites Under 400 Calories’ menu, which includes lighter dishes such as the Filet-O-Fish sandwich and the Egg McMuffin.

Natura: Socio-environmental targets and failures revealed in annual report

Eco-friendly Brazilian cosmetics brand Natura provides a comprehensive list of all of its socio-environmental targets in its annual report. End of last year, targets such as water consumption, employee training time and reducing solid waste were labeled as ‘Not Achieved’, and followed by an adjusted target for 2012.

Yi Mu Tian: Chinese organic farm

Mindful of Chinese consumers’ concerns over food safetly, organic farm Yi Mu Tian uses digital food tracking system. The high-tech farm, which uses computers for temperature regulation, lighting and watering, operates a Traceability Code System that allows consumers to track any food item back to the field in which it was grown. Customers can also track the growth of vegetables by camera. As of October 2012, the farm had fulfilled home delivery orders to over 60,000 families in Shanghai.

Kimitachi: Sushi monitoring via webcam

In September 2012, Japanese restaurant Kimitachi opened a franchise in Curitiba, Brazil after a successful pilot in Florianópolis. Customers ordering takeout can follow their food preparation via a video system installed in the restaurant’s kitchen. Kimitachi created the system to “humanize sushi delivery” and give consumers more transparency on the dish preparation.