您正在阅读的是2013年10大消费趋势中的一项。点击查看全部10个趋势 »

8. AGAIN MADE HERE

本土制造的回归

“本土制造引领新的服务经济”

2013年,当本土市场成长成为成熟市场,制造业将重新变得本土化

消费者对于NEWISM越来越大的期望,希望即时获得适合的产品、对环保关注以及渴望更有趣的STATUS STORIES(地位故事)。这些期望和新的本地制造技术比如3D打印和按需制造结合,触发了本地制造的复兴。

当然,对于那些担心中国的劳动力成本上涨、较长的交货时间、脆弱的全球供应链等因素的企业管理者而言,消费者对于AGAIN MADE HERE趋势的接受将是个好消息。

在此列举一项数据作为引子:

  • 每五个美国消费者中就有四个(比例为76%)会注意到“美国制造”的标签并更倾向于购买本土制造的产品(来源:Perception Research,2012年7月)。

细心的读者会注意到PRESUMERS的趋势与AGAIN MADE HERE的趋势将在未来几个月内相互补足。在2013年,“本地化”的概念将远不止仅限于手工食品和工艺品,机械和制造业商业模式的重塑将会把这一概念扩散到更广的范围。




Shapeways:纽约州长岛市开设的“未来工厂”

来源:NYCMayorsOffice

领先的3D打印技术平台Shapeways一直致力于为品牌旗下网络社区中的设计师和PRESUMERS提供3D打印服务。该平台于2012年10月在纽约州长岛市开设了“未来工厂”。这个工厂占地25,000平方英尺,拥有30到50台3D打印机,每年可以制作300至500万个产品。

Tesla Model S:加州制造

2012年6月,首批Tesla Model S在加州弗里蒙特完成了生产。这款车由锂离子电池供电,其0到60公里加速时间为4.5秒,为驾驶者提供了高性能的运动驾驶体验。Model S配备的触摸式控制面板可以与各种智能手机同步并连接到无线网络,用户可以通过这个控制面板控制车内系统如导航、音乐和温度调节等。

Hiut Denim:“我们的小镇又开始生产牛仔裤了”

十多年前,牛仔裤制造是英国威尔士西南部小城卡迪根的主要产业,当老的牛仔裤工厂被关闭,小城中的居民失去了最主要的工作机会。英国的初创公司Hiut Denim期望可以将牛仔裤制造业重新带回到卡迪根。2012年9月,该品牌发布了第一批产自卡迪根工厂的牛仔裤。通过一个名为“History Tag”的应用程序,购买者可以看到牛仔裤制造的全过程。

Véloscoot:将生产迁回法国拉罗谢尔

2012年3月,法国电动自行车公司Véloscoot将产品的生产从中国迁回到了法国城市拉罗谢尔。品牌声称将生产第一台真正的“法国制造”电动自行车并期望能够通过更接近产品的主要市场而获得更强的竞争力。

谷歌Nexus Q:美国设计、美国制造

2012年6月,谷歌推出了无线家庭流媒体娱乐系统Nexus Q,产品上带有激光蚀刻的“美国设计、美国制造”字样。 Nexus Q 的金属底座在美国中西部地区完成制造,塑料部件来自加州,而产品最后的组装地点距谷歌总部所在地加州山景城只有很短的距离。

You are reading one of the 10 TRENDS FOR 2013. Go back to the main summary page »

8. AGAIN MADE HERE

“Local manufacturing is the new Service Economy.”

In 2013, manufacturing is coming home, that is, if ‘home’ is a mature market.

Driving this trend: the perfect storm of consumers’ ever-greater NEWISM, the expectation of getting just the right product (and NOW!), eco-concerns and the desire for more interesting STATUS STORIES, all combined with the spread of new local manufacturing technologies such as 3D-printing and make-on-demand.

And of course, consumer embrace of AGAIN MADE HERE will be welcome news for executives concerned by rising labor costs in China, long lead times and fragile global supply chains.

Just one stat to kick-start the discussion:  

  • Four out of five US shoppers (76%) notice "Made in the USA" claims and labels, and are more likely to purchase that product (Source: Perception Research, July 2012).

Observant readers will have by now noted how PRESUMERS and AGAIN MADE HERE will feed off each other in the coming months. Get ready, as the reshaping of the mechanics and business models of manufacturing will make ‘local’ in 2013 about much more than just artisan food and craft ;-)




Shapeways : Factory of the Future opened in Long Island City, New York

Source: NYCMayorsOffice

In October 2012, leading 3D printing platform Shapeways – which provides 3D printing services to its community of designers and PRESUMERS – opened its Factory of the Future in Long Island City, New York. The 25,000 square foot site will host 30 to 50 3D printers, and will have capacity to print 3 to 5 million objects annually.

Tesla Model S: Made in California

June 2012 saw the first deliveries of the Tesla Model S, manufactured in Fremont, California. The car is powered by a lithium-ion battery and has a 0-60 mph time of 4.5 seconds, providing a high performance sports driving experience. The Model S also has a touchscreen dashboard with wireless Internet access (which can be synced with various smartphones), allowing users to control systems such as navigation, music and temperature.

Hiut Denim: “Our town is making jeans again”

September 2012 saw Hiut Denim release their first batch of jeans from their factory in Cardigan, Wales. The UK start-up aims to bring work back to the town, which lost its major employer when the previous jeans factory was closed nearly a decade ago. The jeans also come with a ‘History Tag’ app, which enables customers to see images from throughout the jeans’ manufacturing.

Véloscoot: Moving production back to La Rochelle

In March 2012, French electric bicycle company Véloscoot moved production from China back to La Rochelle, France. Véloscoot say they will now manufacture the first “Made in France” electric bicycle, and aim to become more competitive by being closer to their primary market.

Google Nexus Q: Designed and made in the US

In June 2012, Google unveiled the Nexus Q home media-streaming entertainment player, and the wireless system is laser-etched with "Designed and Manufactured in the U.S.A.". The Nexus Q's metal base is made in the Midwest, moulded plastic components are manufactured in California, and the device is then assembled a short distance from Google's headquarters in Mountain View, California.